We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit, still love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #180 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2nd visit, still love this place!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit. We stayed here overnight whilst visiting the Opera. Wonderful hotel. Staff are pleasant and friendly and the concierge chap very helpful. The suite room we was in was very good. I have come to expect he high standards at this hotel We will be back i'm sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansa3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear dansa3151,
I was so glad to read that you, once again, enjoyed your stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was delighted that you enjoyed the room you stayed in and the brilliant service my team provided you with .
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    835
    201
    66
    33
See reviews for
599
849
101
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of days in Aug 2013. The staff is lovely and multilingual. The location is very close to St Paul's Cathedral and other city sightseeings, like Millenium Bridge. The staff helped us to buy tickets for Big Bus tours. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and tidy. Received complimentary chocolate and water as an IHG rewards member. Fully satisfied.

P.S. The breakfast is lovely

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Elmar S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities in the hotel. I have passed on your kind words to my great team. Please do come and stay with us again in the near future where I am sure we will once again meet your expectations.
My kindest regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We planned a short break in London to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is situated within a stones throw of Blackfriars tube station and well within walking distance of Covent Garden and Leicester square. Hotel reception was very sophisticated, well decorated and spacious exactly what you would expect with a four star establishment. Our room was immaculate the only reservation I have was when I moved the sofa in the room (slightly) and found dirt underneath. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was just right on the lowest setting. Checking in was a breeze, we even arrived early and we were able to leave our bags with the concierge with no issues staff were very helpful and eloquent. Our friend had arranged for a bottle of wine to be placed in our room (with a birthday message) which was chilled on ice for us when we arrived. A little later a member of staff brought a chocolate cake with happy birthday written in icing on the plate, this was not expected and shows how the staff had gone the extra mile. Mini bar prices are high but in line with other hotels of similar stature. The time frame for breakfast was generous (7 till11) and selection was very good, we arrived at around 9 and it was quite busy, staff were quite keen to clear tables including ours while we were up getting our breakfast, staff quickly set out our table again, no big deal. After we checked out we were able to leave our bags while we explored the sites. Overall I would recommend this hotel and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: We booked through laterooms.com to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Neil B,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was absolutely delighted that you felt that the hotel was one of the best you had stayed in. I have passed on your words to my fantastic team and I do hope we get the chance to meet your expectations once again in the near future.
My kindest regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here this weekend for my father in laws 80th birthday., Phoned before hand to see if we could request a room with a view for my father in law (we as a party had two rooms), lady on phone was very polite but said that in our category of room view was not available and that I would need to upgrade, disappointing but understandable.

When we arrived we had to go back to reception three times as we were given wrong room keys, on the second occasion the keys worked but it was my in laws room and my mother in law was in the shower! They saw funny side but would not have been had it been someone we did not know!

The room was very clean and hotel itself if lovely, very modern and clean. All staff we encountered were very friendly and polite but the main attraction of the hotel is its location, just off the river and minutes away from St Pauls and Tate Modern added bonus is the city it quiet at weekends.

We would definitely return, very pleasant experience especially given that it was our 2 and 5 year olds sons first trip to a hotel, we usually self cater on trips and was expecting a lot less pleasurable experience!

Room Tip: Need to upgrade to club room to get view of St Pauls, all rooms are quiet at weekend as hotel is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini-chippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear mini-chippers,
Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to learn that overall your stay with us was enjoyable, my apologies for the issues experienced. I have addressed the matter with the relevant departments for immediate corrective action.
I am sorry to miss you visit, but I hope to welcome you back in person in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza over a Bank Holiday weekend for Mum's 70th Birthday in a party of 9.

The hotel is a modern city centre type hotel, very comfortable and convenient.

Got a really great rate online and overall had a fantastic stay, couple of issues (wrong rate at check in and smoking room first time) but both were corrected immediately with zero fuss.

The rooms were really comfortable and good quality, great to see lots of free coffee, tea etc. Location is excellent, just over the road is the tube and easy walk to Southbank (Tate, Globe etc), St Paul's and Westminster (about 1.5 mile).

The staff were also excellent, as it was Mum's birthday, they upgraded her, brought her cake to the room signed by the staff and generally were super attentive (even sorted a table for 9 at breakfast each day). Special mention goes to the concierge team, who were first rate and one of the best I've encountered.

With business I stay in hotels about 3 times a week and have high standards, even higher on this occasion having just returned from 2 weeks in the States staying at high quality hotels. The Crowne Plaza didn't disappoint and helped make the weekend very special. For the very low rate we secured (booking direct) it was simply superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mark H,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay at crowne Plaza London - The City. I was so pleased to read that we met your expectations in terms of the facilities we provide and most importantly the service. I have passed on your words to my team. Please do come and visit us once again soon.
My best regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July. This hotel is conveniently located opposite Blackfriars tube station. The inside is spacious, clean and fresh looking. Theres a Tesco Express a few steps away.
On check out we got told that we had breakfast when we didnt and a few days later received an invoice in the post - but thats all sorted now.
Number one choice! Brill hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Raks 21,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your return stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was delighted that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. Please do come and visit us again soon.
My kindest regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here as I needed an overnight stop in Blackfriars. I must confess that for the £274 I paid for a "deluxe" room I was expecting rather more! My original room has a queen size bed (5 ft) despite being sold as a room with "large double" - foolishly I assumed that to be a king size bed but was advised by the staff that all standard rooms have 4ft 6 inch beds (which I find astonishing in a so called 4 star hotel), deluxe rooms have queen beds and only their suites have king sized beds. Anyway - with no suites available I switched to a twin room which had two 4ft 6inch beds. This room was slightly larger than my original, but both rooms were tired with badly scraped leather furniture, chipped paint and dated furniture. The bathroom was OK - but again despite the "deluxe" level only had a shower over the bath rather than a separate walk-in shower. Room service was prompt, but food was distinctly lack lustre for the price. If staying in this area again I'd rather pay the £169 the Premier Inn over the road charges for their rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear quin-i-bog,
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. At Crowne Plaza London - The City we pride ourselves on caring for all of our guests so I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations, in particular our product.
Please do feel free to contact me personally at any time should you wish to discuss your stay with me in more detail.
Kind Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,403 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,067 in London
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing