We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly service but needs a facelift!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #184 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Placitas, NM
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great, friendly service but needs a facelift!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel is nothing short of superb. They were enormously helpful and delightfully warm and friendly. They made us feel that we were home. The room itself was very clean and comfortable but could use a bit of a facelift. The Italian restaurant in the hotel had surprisingly good food and again, excellent service. The hotel's proximity to to major sight seeing locations was a major plus. We were able to walk to St. Paul's Cathedral, the Tate Modern, The Globe Theater, and over the Millenium walking bridge. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yetmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Yetma,
Thank you for sharing your comments on our Trip Advisor page and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are proud of our team and the friendly, attentive service that we provide our guests and of course the delightful property that we have.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    793
    190
    65
    33
See reviews for
563
811
100
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here 12th-14th Aug for our Anniversary weekend. Check in staff very friendly even left a note and anniversary cake in our room, which was lovely. Hotel very modern and clean. Rooms lovely and spacious. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leics29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Leics29,
How delightful to read that Crowne Plaza London - The City played a major part in making your visit to London amazing, and I am pleased that we were able to join in the celebrations for your Anniversary.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Thank you for your lovely feedback !

Warm regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is by far the best the hotel I have stayed at in London. The location was very convenient - only a 2 minute walk to Blackfriars tube station. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was fantastic. We had dinner both in the adjacent Italian restaurant and in the lobby. The staff was incredible - especially the concierge. We especially want to thank Lee for all his help with directions and getting us tickets to shows. I will definitely come back to this hotel again and recommend to my work colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lora341,

Thank you for sharing your very complimentary comments about Crowne Plaza London - The City. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us.
We do like to take great care of our guests and each and everyone on the team are dedicated to making each and every guest feel special. With such wonderful reviews we have achieved our goal and feel rewarded. our comments have been passed to our teams, in particular to Lee, who is always eager to help.
I am happy to read that you had the opportunity to experience our Diccianove (Italian restaurant). An authentic taste of Italian cuisine in the City, with great menu using the freshest regional ingredients. It’s soulful cooking at its best.
Also, that your had visited the City Lounge, were we serve a wide variety of refreshments from the famous One Pounder to the traditional Club Sandwich.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home on a future visit to London and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with a booking.

Warm regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were great, friendly and welcoming. My kids were greeted at the door and given lollipops and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were immaculate and the club lounge was one of the best I have been in with a great selection of drinks and snacks. Will definitely be staying again on our next trip to London!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaseyBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear JaseyBoi,

Thank you for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor about Crowne Plaza London - The City. We are delighted to read that you, and your family enjoyed your time here with us and particularly our service. Our team do strive to exceed all our guests expectations and to read that we have succeeded is just fantastic.

We hope to see you back again soon, with some extra lollipops for the kids!

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 nights at Crowne Plaza The city. We are a family of 4 and found the room to be spacious and well equiped.The area the hotel was in was quite pleasant and surrounded by Starbucks,Costa and Tesco Metro was also handy!
The nearest tube is just across the road at Blackfriars or St Pauls tube is a 10 minute walk away.
We arrived quite early,around 11.45am and were greated by friendly staff who allocated us a room straight away which was a great start to our break.Nothing appeared to be too much trouble and the staff were very nice to us as a family and made us all very welcome.
Although we were out most of the daytime,on return to our room it was quiet,clean and comfortable and we would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the office block rather than the main road gives a nice quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuichic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear tuichic45,
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza London - The City.

I am delighted that our reception managed to secure an early check in for you and your family. I am also happy to learn that our location was a plus to your visit to London.
Your comments have been passed to our teams, who have been working really hard to make sure we offer the best service to all guests.
We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Last time I stayed in this hotel things were not so smooth but, this time, they were as they should be.

Elegant room, professional and helpful staff, good amenities, good room service, good location.

An absolute joy to return and have such a positive experience.

Room Tip: I always try to get a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear ebookpunkie,

I was delighted that we met your expectations following your return to Crowne Plaza London - The City. I have passed on your feedback and kind words to my great team here at the hotel and I do hope we get the chance to look after you once again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint petersburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location for getting around London. After explaining to Angelo I had been "locked" in the same room with my teenagers for ten nights he found a way to get us spread out in a beautiful suite with an upgrade based on our hotel rewards membership. Lee and the other concierges could not have been more helpful with any needs. Been in the hospitality industry 30 years and these guys are some of the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Harold R,

Thank you for posting your lovely feedback following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was really glad to read that you enjoyed your spacious suite. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team at the hotel and I do hope that you can come back and stay with us again soon.
My kindest regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#232 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing