We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #178 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Not particularly impressed with the hotel. Nothing spectacularly wrong but lots of little things just made this a less than great experience. For example: room was not ready when I checked in despite a specific request for an earlier check in after a transatlantic flight; club lounge never seemed to be open; printers did not work in lobby or business centre; never got a wake up call; and they attempted to charge me for accessing the mini-bar when I had not been near it (this last point happened last time I stayed too). On the positive side, concierge could not have been more helpful; the room was nicely laid out and equipped and the location for the city is great. Just expected it to be better for the price.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Daaxs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Daaxs,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us at Crowne Plaza London – The City. Thank you very much for bringing to our attention some aspects of our service which did not meet your expectations on this and past visit.

I am sorry to learn we were unable to accommodate your early arrival request. I can assure you we do our utmost to do so, but due to high levels of occupancy on some occasions no rooms are available early morning.

The Club Lounge is available from 630am till midnight, and any guest with access to Club Lounge, can open the door with the room key programmed accordingly.

We monitor our printers regularly so it is concerning we did not notice the issues. I am unsure however which printer you refer to as being in the lobby as we don’t have any printer installed in the area.

Thank you for your kind words to our Concierge team, your compliments have been passed on.

Please do let me know of your plans to return to London and I will personally look after your stay. Meanwhile, feel free to contact me for any assistance.

Kind Regards,


Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Marli.sadzinski@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,441 - 1,447 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent option for staying or events (i have done both).
Good location, good food, good service, good rooms.
Internet service good and straight forward.
several options of activities/where to go close by, London eye, aquarium, Tate, etc

Room Tip: all rooms are good, give preference to the ones on the front entrance (watergate) that is extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPatriciaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Mrs PatriciaC

Thank you for your feedback. It was very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.


Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for a post Wimbledon stopover after checking out a number of hotels on Tripadvisor. The hotel is ideally located opposite Blackfriars underground on both District and Circle lines. We arrived late @ 11.30 pm for check in and it was pleasing to find staff were polite and friendly. The hotel lobby is elegant and spacious. The room was well furnished and of good size especially for Central London. Plenty of pillows and quality quilts all contributed to a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was typical of this type of hotel - enough choice to start the day and service was quick and efficient. We were able to leave our luggage while we spent the day shopping which was a big plus. I would say this was a good hotel at a reasonable price and would happily recommend and stay again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKSnowqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Donna T,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments. We were so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our service levels to be 'top notch'. We pride ourselves in offering superior service in a relaxed, modern and stylish environment.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked on a really good rate to celebrate a special occasion. The hotel doesn't have it's own car park but there are car parks very close by which were very reasonably priced. Check in was efficient and we were greeted with a surprise of Champagne, chocolates and a card in our room from the Guest Service Manager. This was a very special and unexpected touch from the hotel, it just started off our perfect stay, thank you!

We ate in the informal restaurant, I had the best steak I've ever tasted and my husband had the biggest burger on the menu - I like quality fresh food and this was top notch. All the staff were friendly and attentive, and the cocktails were nice too :)

This was the first time we had experienced the new Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage - aromatherapy pillow spray and oil by 'This Works'. My husband has asthma which always affects his sleep but this kit was so good we have continued to buy it since!

All in all it was the perfect break and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear aspdn,
Thank you for taking the time to post comments, and for choosing Crowne Plaza London - The City to celebrate this special occasion.
We were so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our service levels to be 'top notch'.
We pride ourselves in offering superior service in a relaxed, modern and stylish environment.
We greatly appreciate you feedback on our SLEEP ADVANTAGE THERAPIE KIT, and that the kit helped you and your husband to have a nice night sleep. You will find this kit in any of Crowne Plaza hotels worldwide.

Looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel and all the staff were all wonderful. The room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean.
I have never had such a good nights sleep. It was so very quiet, and the beds were wonderful.
I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again. I cannot wait

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacbonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Zacbonzo,

It is always great to receive positive feedback. I thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be so ideal.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is well situated hotel for all the South Bank activities and attractions being two minutes from Blackfriars Bridge as well as a five minutes walk from St Paul’s Cathedral. It is also just across the road from the recently upgraded Blackfriars Underground and Rail station (worth a look inside).
This is a modern hotel with an amazing internal atrium, two good restaurants and a large lounge bar area adjacent to reception.
Our room had every amenity and free WiFi ( I think as part of the room deal).
The staff were very welcoming, with housekeeping being excellent.

My only criticism is that the Executive Lounge is too small and cramped. It was always crowded, there was limited selection and they ran out of gin! This is a hotel - you can't run out of gin in a hotel! And when you ask is there any, the answer should always be yes, not no. However, to their credit when I gave the hotel this feedback they were very responsive and understood they had a problem which they were addressing.

Room Tip: A high room facing towards The Shard - gives you a spectacular night time view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRemy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear MrsRemy12,

Greetings to New Zealand,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.

I am happy to learn that overall your visit to Crowne Plaza London –The City was so enjoyable.

We are closely monitoring the number of people with access to our Club Lounge, to ensure a great experience to our guests. Also, the offerings available are being reviewed.

Once again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve certain areas, and deliver a great service to all guests.


I will be delighted to seeing you back in the future.

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here recently when on a trip to see Depeche Mode and Warhorse- not a combination seen in many sentences I suspect.
After the usual entertaining taxi ride, pleasant welcome on arrival. Swift check-in. Rooms clean, comfortable and well-stocked. Beds extremely comfortable. What really impressed was how quiet the rooms were. Near the elevator/lift (usually a recipe for an aural assault) and across the road from Blackfriars station. Couldn't hear a thing.
Well positioned for tube and train. Tons of cafes, coffee-shops etc in walking distance, this really was value for money at the rates we got. Only gripe- as ever- when is free wi-fi going to reappear in the big hotel chains. £16 a day is pure rip-off compared to what the intrinsic cost is. Just charge an honest rate for the room instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cook0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear cook0005,

It is always great to hear that a guest loved their stay. I am glad that you and you family enjoyed our hotel and found the facilities so great.

We hope to see you again soon.

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#337 of 1,077 in London
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $165 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing