We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #170 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed there more than 1 year ago, but feel like returning again someday. The reception people were very kind and helpful, and the room was very spacious, modern and clean. One of the best hotel I've been stayed in, and it's not far from the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethleemstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear bethleemstar,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I am very delighted to hear that you found the team here kind and helpful during your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. From beginning to end the experience was most enjoyable. A family weekend which I wanted to go well and the Crowne Plaza did not disappoint. I spoke in advance with the hotel to request quiet rooms which they sorted out no problems. And everything else went without a hitch - which led to a relaxing and enjoyable break. Very much a home from home. Some brief thoughts from my stay:

Excellent rooms - clean, well appointed with powerful showers & comfy bed. Very quiet room facing the inner courtyard, with some decent natural light. Overall a little warm but after reading the reviews beforehand, I was well prepared and a blast of the air conditioning beforehand helped no problems.

Breakfast for us was in the executive lounge - plentiful, tasty, top quality. Drinks hot and tasty. A nice place to relax, with some nice views to watch London and Blackfriars.

Staff - excellent and helpful. We managed to make a bit of a mess up with the cards, which they helped me out with minimal fuss. Polite, professional and all with a smile.

Facilities - we used the gym and it was well appointed. As much as you should expect from a high quality hotel.

Location - well you know that before you go there and it didn't disappoint! - excellent tube links and central for many of London's attractions.

For our next trip to London then I'll definitely check out this hotel first.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance for any requirements - e.g. a quiet room. Based on my experience I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mister.c.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear mister.c.,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. It is great to see you and your family enjoyed your time with us and managed to enjoy most of the facilities. I am so delighted that you found our team to be excellent and helpful and I will be sure to pass your comments to them all.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the executive room for hubby's birthday treat as had booked a restaurant on temple pier - from booking i had excellent customer service answering any questions and arranging complimentary cake in our room! Club lounge was a nice free perk - wine and candles before heading out and lovely breakfast free in the morning - scrambled eggs were divine! Bacon and continental filled the spot!
Volitaire bar was also lovely and we had a vault to ourselves whilst hubby enjoyed a cigar i enjoyed the bubbles!!!

Very nice hotel - a touch of class

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgriff80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear hgriff80,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I am so pleased you enjoyed your husband's birthday at the hotel and experienced the Club Lounge. I'm glad you enjoyed bubbles Voltaire, our new Champagne and Cigar bar.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I reccently went on a package deal with Newmarket Holidays to see The Book of Mormon and one night stay in a hotel. The whole experience was fantastic. We live just on the outskirts of London but it felt like we were miles away from home. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were a very nice size (standard room). We were able to take a short walk along the thames to Embankment to grab the tube to the theatre. The show was hilarious and great fun. We then returned to the hotel and grabbed a drink in the downstairs bar. The bar was very nice and comfortable and the drink prices were what we expected for central London. Overall we had an amazing time and booking with Newmarket Holidays could not have been easier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Olivia S,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay and that you found the whole experience fantastic.
I do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Chose to stay here as it is close to St Paul's where we were attending a concert.
I checkin in after work at about 5.30pm and needed to be quick as I was off out for a pre concert dinner. Checkin swift and efficient. Room was pleasant and although looking towards Blackfriars station and bridge it was pretty quiet. Not a vast room but ample for our over night needs. Well appointed. Decent hairdryer in a draw, phew. The bed was actually very comfy which made a nice change. Bathroom was modern and understated. Good shower pressure. We took breakfast in our room. As expected, vastly over priced, but then it always is. Our fault for having to dash off back to work in the morning rather than building in a leisurely morning. There is a "Paul" at St Pauls if you are going that way. Grab a danish and coffee there instead if you have time. Sadly as this was a crash pad for us I didn't get a chance to take a look any further but it seems a good hotel on such brief acquaintance. I'd stay again if I needed a place to stop in that part of town again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplelally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear purplelally,
I am pleased you enjoyed your recent, and brief, stay at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I am delighted that you found the bed very comfortable and hopefully next time you will be able to visit our new Champagne and Cigar bar, Voltaire.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in Nov 2012 and we really enjoyed our stay so decided to stay here again for a brief stop in London
Hotel room was great, with a side view window looking towards chuch, on The Strand, I think.
Beds very comfortable and spacious room which was well equiped and also provided complimentary drinks and internet access.
Downstairs bar has a good atmosphere - we stopped by for a night cap on our return from watching a show.
10 minute walk from Covent Garden either along The Embankment (river) to Somerset House or from the hotel up New Bridge Road and onto the Strand. If you don't feel like walking Blackfriars tube station is just across the road. Blackfriars also has trains direct to Gatwick airport if you're arriving by plane. Trains take approx 40 mins and so much cheaper that Gatwick Express

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. We had room 522
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Pambolina,
It is great to see that you returned to the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us again. I am also delighted that you experienced our new destination bar, Voltaire. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Crowne Plaza London - The City.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third time soon.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good location and reasonable room standard, let down by poor service at reception, unable to provide a simple receipt after three requests 2 while checking out and again after staying here and reconciling expenses

Excellent bar with good atmosphere

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert33150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Robert33150,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, we will be following up with the matter as a priority. I am pleased that you enjoyed our new destination bar, Voltaire.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#335 of 1,077 in London
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#136 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $184 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing