We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Nearby Hotels
$259
$183
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$129
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$160
$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$322
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$405
$337
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $404/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$196
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$263
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,656)
Filter reviews
2,656 results
Traveler rating
1,394
925
221
79
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,394
925
221
79
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackfriars stationthe club loungeblack friarspaul's cathedralchicken clubfleet streetihg membertwo double bedstesco expresssouth bankmini bargood sizelondon eyean upgradecovent gardenstandard roomborough market
Filter
Updating list...
1,634 - 1,639 of 2,656 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times but not for a year. A lot can happen in a year with a hotel but the only thing that's has change is that it just got better!
We had a view of Blackfriars for the first time which was fantastic yet still very quiet. Our room had been upgraded with new flat screen tvs and furniture. The beds were very very comfy and although next to the lifts we had a quiet and peaceful sleep. We love the position of this hotel, easy to get to everywhere yet just ourside of the madness. Now blackfriars is open there is nothing holding it back with excellent transport connects. We didnt eat her this time but it certainly smelt very nice. We are going back in April again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffices, Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear 422,
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back in April.
Kind regards,
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed Saturday night in this hotel as we were visiting the Shard. How very nice the staff were and couldnt be more helpful if they tried. The interior is beautiful with fresh fruit everywhere. We had a deluxe room upgrade which was really nice. The breakfast is to die for with everything you could possibly wish for with staff asking if there was anything else we required. It is situated 20min walk to trafalgar square and 5min to St Pauls and 20min to the Shard.

I would definitely stay again and thanks staff for a wonderful overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneAOttley, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and it will be our pleasure to look after you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at most of the big and popular 4* hotel chains before (Hilton, Ramada, Marriott etc) but this was the first time we have tried Crowne Plaza and I have to say, we were not let down. The hotel was fantastic, the rooms were spotless and it has been a long time since I have been able to say that about a UK hotel.

We booked with a promotional code, but this didn't affect how the staff treated us, they couldn't have been more helpful. We were given a huge modern corner room with big windows on two of the walls. As a member of their loyalty scheme, they offered us either free internet or movies. The bed was very comfortable and their selection of complementary toiletries was excellent.

We didn't try any food at the restaurant (due to wanting to set out to explore different places) but it always smelt nice when walking past. We did visit a nearby pub one of the days for breakfast called the Wellington (about a 10 minute walk away). They did two very tasty full cooked breakfasts for £10.

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk from covent gardens, maybe 10 minutes walk from the Tate Modern and Globe Theatre. The new and shiny Blackfriars station is just across the road. The hotel is set in "The City" so at the surrounding areas are very quiet at the weekends. It is also a great location for strolling along the Thames in the evening.

If I had to be picky, the Sauna didn't seem to work (it never went above 60 degrees), there seemed to be a problem with our shower head (there were no individual jets, just one central 'trickle') and our TV stopped working at one point (reception sent up someone to have a look at it, but nothing could be done, eventually it started working again by itself). But this is being very picky and none of these things really impacted our trip too much. For the price we paid, the hotel is unbeatable. We would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Our corner room was exceptional.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanAndMelissaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here a few weeks ago for a long weekend. We got an absolute bargain at £20.12 for the end of 2012!! Especially when you see the normal price.
The hotel is very central and directly opposite Blackfriars tube station making it extremely accessible. The staff on arrival were very friendly presentable and professional amd checked us in despite arriving early.
The room was beautiful, 2 double beds, large tv, toiletries, robes etc. (Although one thing to note is DO NOT move the drinks in the mini fridge as they are sensored and charge! - this was solved with one phone call however).
I cant comment on the restaurants as we didnt try them, but menus looked lovely.
Overall a very lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norky1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here for our first "touristy" visit to London. Our decision to book here was purely the price, they had an incredible offer on which no fool would turn down.

Because our room was so heavily discounted we were a bit apprehensive as to what it would be like - worry not it was lovely.

Our room was 131 on the first floor right near the lift, my first thoughts were great this could be noisy but it wasn't we didn't hear a peep any of the nights. Check it was simple the staff were lovely. Our room was clean, quite spacious and the bed whilst not the biggest was big enough and comfortable. The staff were helpful to all our needs very informative to our touristy need of information and always polite.

The breakfast buffet was nice - all the usual you would expect from a traditional English breakfast as well as cereal, pastries, fruit and a continental selection.

The hotel bar "nineteen below" wasn't open during our stay, think it was under renovation we weren't told of this and to be honest didn't matter too much as there's enough bars in London anyway.

The Blackfriars tube station is directly facing the hotel so your in prime position on the circle line and links to the rest of the city.

Would recommend this hotel as a quiet base to explore

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mum-rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews