We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Massive improvement on last visit - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #175 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Massive improvement on last visit - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed on the ridiculously cheap £20.13 priority club promotion rate for a weekend in January. We expected the rock bottom worst room for that price in a top notch London hotel but instead were upgraded to a smart modern Club floor room including club lounge access! wow. Very impressed with that level of customer service.

The club lounge was relaxing and friendly with good evening canapes and bar drinks for free, though fairly small for such a size of hotel and quite crowded. We therefore took breakfast in the main restaurant downstairs for just £10 per head each day, which was fabulous.

As priority gold members, we also got free newspapers and an excellent additional treat, free use of the inroom movies. We had a great night in watching a film and relaxing after a long day sightseeing

This location is excellent. You are alongside Blackfriars Bridge by the Thames, and Blackfriars tube station. It's a 3 minute walk to St Paul's Cathedral and the City of London district, and a nice 5 min walk over the river to the Southbank, Tate Modern and Globe theatre. We are suburban Londoners and loved having the central location to wander about by the river here.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, it was a real delight to stay in. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    716
    173
    57
    29
See reviews for
506
742
95
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights on a promotional rate. Check in was fast, very friendly and efficient, offered an upgrade and as a Priority Club member offered either free wifi or in room entertainment - we went for the wifi which worked excellently throughout the Hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, spotlessly clean with everything you would expect - tea,coffee making facilities, trouser press, iron and ironing board etc. Very nice toiletries from Temple Bar Spa. Plug sockets are located on the side at the end of the desk which took a bit of finding. No problems with noise even though our rooms looked over New Bridge Street at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, fresh and good quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from spending the weekend at this super hotel. The hotel is conveniently located across the road from a train station, close to St Paul's Cathederal and the City of London.

I stayed on a very cheap rate, having booked a standard room. On checking in, the delightful and very friendly Italian receptionist lady, acknowledged my Priority Club membership and upgraded my room to a large room with two double beds. I was also offered either free wifi or movies and I selected the movie option. The room itself was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had room service one evening and although I thought it was expensive, it was a good meal and was brought promptly to the room.

Did the hotel and staff exceed my expections? Absolutely. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Go for a pint to the Blackfriars Pub across the road from the hotel. It has one of the most beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldCWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

With the help of the concierge staff parking in London was easy. A member of the concierge staff drove my car to a local NCP car park and collected it the next day and all for a very reasonablecharge plus the parking charge. The hotel was very modern and reception was very efficient.

Our room was immaculate with tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and large screen T.V.
The bed linen felt like silk and came with a guarantee of a good nights sleep aided, if necessary, by free sleep inducing aroma therapy.

Breakfast was a reasonable £10 each but only if you collected vouchers from reception,without vouchers it was £23.50 each. Vouchers were not recommended on check in and so breakfast cost an eye watering £50. No refund was offered!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrcjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great 4* hotel with a great location. It has all been said before in previous reviews but I can add that the rooms are comfortable, clean and stylish.. Didn't hear any noise from the corridor or neighbours and the room stayed dark when the sun came up which is a good thing for a light sleeper like me. You can walk to most central London attractions from here or alternatively there plenty of public transport options to choose room. Paid extra for breakfast which was good quality and fresh with the usual selection of items. We were on a promotion rate which made our stay amazing value for money so thank you Crowne Plaza we had a fantastic weekend thanks to you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N7CHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldnt get a better location.

Hotel was modern and clean.

As a Priority Club Platinum member I was offered free Internet but no upgrade or room gift.

Like all hotels, plug sockets were lacking and poorly positioned.

Breakfast was fantastic, so much choice. Paid £10 each in advance.

PC in business centre wasn't working for the duration of our stay but staff bent over backwards to help us.

We paid a special promo of £20 a room hence exceptional value; I'd never pay rack rate for any hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights midweek, travelling by train to Blackfriars then walking across the road to the hotel. The room had two Queen Beds, a view across the street into offices and plenty of space. First day we found water pressure in the bath was just a trickle, mentioned it to the staff and it was fixed for the rest of our stay. Downstairs bar was closed for renovation but excellent bar service in the Lobby Lounge. Did not breakfast in the hotel but many cafes in adjacent streets offered breakfast plus a chance to watch the world go by. A point to note that there is a pedestrian entrance on New Bridge Street but if you use this it means going down steps to reception. The Main entrance for those coming by car is in a side street running parallel to New Bridg.e Street

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,782 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, St. Paul's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#297 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,707 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#80 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing