We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #177 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great 4* hotel with a great location. It has all been said before in previous reviews but I can add that the rooms are comfortable, clean and stylish.. Didn't hear any noise from the corridor or neighbours and the room stayed dark when the sun came up which is a good thing for a light sleeper like me. You can walk to most central London attractions from here or alternatively there plenty of public transport options to choose room. Paid extra for breakfast which was good quality and fresh with the usual selection of items. We were on a promotion rate which made our stay amazing value for money so thank you Crowne Plaza we had a fantastic weekend thanks to you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N7CHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    814
    196
    66
    33
See reviews for
587
827
100
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldnt get a better location.

Hotel was modern and clean.

As a Priority Club Platinum member I was offered free Internet but no upgrade or room gift.

Like all hotels, plug sockets were lacking and poorly positioned.

Breakfast was fantastic, so much choice. Paid £10 each in advance.

PC in business centre wasn't working for the duration of our stay but staff bent over backwards to help us.

We paid a special promo of £20 a room hence exceptional value; I'd never pay rack rate for any hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights midweek, travelling by train to Blackfriars then walking across the road to the hotel. The room had two Queen Beds, a view across the street into offices and plenty of space. First day we found water pressure in the bath was just a trickle, mentioned it to the staff and it was fixed for the rest of our stay. Downstairs bar was closed for renovation but excellent bar service in the Lobby Lounge. Did not breakfast in the hotel but many cafes in adjacent streets offered breakfast plus a chance to watch the world go by. A point to note that there is a pedestrian entrance on New Bridge Street but if you use this it means going down steps to reception. The Main entrance for those coming by car is in a side street running parallel to New Bridg.e Street

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for one night only. Front desk staff friendly also food and drinks staff. Large meeting rooms.I would say that hotel needs urgently new furniture, it is old. Breakfast - EXPENSIVE. 20 pounds for english breakfast? They must be kidding, standart holiday inn breakfast menu and 20 pounds. It is too much. Did not use many facilities but owerall was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tovey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Tovey M,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are so glad you found our staff to be friendly. We would like to apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of our furniture and the cost of breakfast did not live up to your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Your feedback will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

As a Platinum RA Member at Priority Club we got a great upgrade to a club room including club access even through I had booked a very cheap rate. The club is small but was not to full and quite nice, breakfast limited but ok. Only real drawbacks were the view from our room, facing a wall a few meters from our window and the food of the room service, that was really nothing special.
Location is great and I would always come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Marburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for a pre Christmas break with my wife and 8 year old niece, using Priority Club points to 'pay' for our stay. The hotel is modern, well appointed and the rooms are comfortable. We had a Superior double with 2 Queen size beds on the 6th floor and whilst some aspects of the room looked a little 'tired' (skirting and walls were marked) overall the accommodation was perfectly acceptable. The highlight was the excellent mattress and duvet - offered a really decent night's sleep.
The front desk staff were very professional and courteous and seemed genuine in their intent to look after us. In recognition of my (platinum Ambassador) Priority Club status we were given access to the Club Lounge with a decent range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages as well as freshly prepared hors d'oeuvres and snacks. The lounge is quite small and I can imagine is quite crowded during the working week; however, at the weekend, when we stayed, it was almost empty. In addition, there are a coupe of restaurant options although we did not try these.
The hotel is opposite the (newly refurbished) Blackfriars station and offers quick and convenient links around London by Underground and mainline rail. There is a bus stop outside the hotel, also, and the West End can be reached in 10 minutes.
Overall, an excellent base from which to explore the many and varied things London as to offer. Weekend rates are excellent value compared to West End equivalent hotels (say £145 per night against £200 or more in the West End); this is primarily a business hotel with high occupancy during the week. The excellent public transport options outside the hotel mean that I would choose this hotel again for a weekend break whether using Priority Club points or paying for the room with cash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a really good rate. Stayed the weekend Friday-Monday. As a Priority Club Rewards program (PCR) member, my Platinum top tier status was recognised, and I received Platinum benefits of Upgrade to Club room and free internet.
Easiest access is from District Line to Blackfriars Station, just 50metres away.

Queen Club Room on 7th Floor, external view. Plenty of light, 2 large external windows. Not unusually for London, room a little on the small side for me, staying on my owm so was ok, but room had only one small (uncomfortable for me) chair for relaxing, so if two people one person would have to relax on the bed.

Comfy King bed, lots of pillows, slept well. Internet service was easy to access and a good speed for my needs, not that I streamed any movies. Work desk, tea/coffee facilities etc all good. Bathroom was fine, with exception of no shaving power points.

Club Lounge on 6th floor was large enough, coffee machine we can use (I hate lounges where you have to find a staff person every time you need a coffee) pleaseant breakfast, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, bread, eggs/bacon. PC, Printer and 2x TV's in lounge.
Evening canapes/drinks available, non-alcoholic drinks during the day.

Nice ground floor area, reception and seating area. Checkin/Checkout easy and quick. Three to Lifts to all floors need room-card to activate. Did not use restaurant or room service this weekend stay though.

Area at weekends seems a bit dead and isolated. I guess guests are mainly City Business stayers during the week, certainly pricier nights midweek compared to the weekend. However easy tube access to westend at Blackfriars Station opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Club Rooms with external view. Club Lounge on 6th Floor, 7th is top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#78 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,622 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
The Z Hotel City
The Z Hotel City
#237 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing