We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for New Year Eve Fireworks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #171 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Venue for New Year Eve Fireworks”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for New Years Eve 2011 as its a great venue close to Blackfriars station and a good view of the London Eye and the fireworks.
Faultless book in and spotless comfortable room, the only picky points were the "visciously" fast doors on the lifts that want to close before you have a chance to enter, and we had a problem with our electronic key card although we know that this was down to our phones coming into contact with them and wiping the details on the cards.
We ate at the Chinese Cricket Club restaurant and enjoyed a quality 4 course buffet with the stand out dish being the Lobster middle course. As midnight approached we headed out to see the fireworks, from which we thought would be a good vantage point. We discovered that he majority of Londons residents also headed for the same vantage point and found the view obscured by a vast crowd. Either way everyone was in good spirits and from what we could see the fireworks were pretty spectacular.
Breakfast next morning was very busy. We went down for 10am and had a 2 minute wait to be seated, an hour later the queue was waiting for a good 5 - 6 minutes to be seated. Having stayed here on a previous occasion, we knew the drill but the waitress just let us know it was self service and to help yourself without really being too helpful and leaving us to our own devices. Breakfast was of good quality with all food fresh and hot, but I have had tastier ones in Premier Inn's
Overall a very enjoyable stay, comfortable clean rooms, well appointed, but a little more enthusiasm from the breakfast staff would have made it a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: If travelling by car, park in the underground car park in Queen Victoria Street, just across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    849
    202
    66
    33
See reviews for
614
856
103
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

stayed here for five nights as we went to see the fireworks at new year.only down side was that the blackfriars station which was a stone's throw away was still closed as we had booked it up to be near tube station but it is now opening in february. however we used temple station which was about five minutes walk away. hotel was good and room was ok but we had no safe upon arrival but this was sorted out within minutes. we did not have a window only one looking out to the atrium. only issue was the room was very hot and we could not really cool it down but we did not report it and when we did on check out the staff were very sorry and stated that we should have reported it straight away so that was our fault really. breakfasts were good and again very pleasant staff there. overall a nice hotel with friendly and professional staff who seem dedicated to their roles. enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just came back from a visit to London where we (my wife and I) stayed at the Crowne Plaza London - The City for three nights. As I have done for a number of years now, I chose this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. This was however the first time I came out of the experience slightly disappointed. Chain hotels come with certain expectations, the main one being not to be surprised by anything (possibly with the exception of the service level). The Crowne Plaza London - The City had such a surprise in store for us; and it was not a pleasant one. Check in was rather impersonal but that could just be our luck. When we entered our hotel room we were however surprised to find out that somebody seemed to have attacked the bathroom door as large bits of paint were missing. As it did not immediately have an impact on our hotel experience we decided not to address the issue but it was surprising indeed. The general sense of luxury was also absent (especially the bathroom was old and suffered from limescale) which is surprising for a four star hotel if you ask me. A possible explanation came the following morning when the cleaning lady, who we ran into in the hallway, asked us if we wanted to have our hotel room cleaned. I stayed at numerous hotels during my life (both on business and private) but was never asked such a remarkable question. I fully applaud the concept of not having towels and/or sheets cleaned every day (and participate in such schemes) but, call me old-fashioned, do expect a hotel room to be tidied up on a daily basis. The biggest disappointment however was our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. There was a substantial queue of people waiting to be seated. Although there were quite a few tables unoccupied (but dirty from earlier use), the staff did not seem to care about the queue and clean these tables. As a consequence we had to wait for over 10 minutes. The exact same thing happened again the following day. Although I am a fan of traditions, we decided to have breakfast really early on the third morning. This resulted in us being able to sit instantly but from our table we could soon see the large number of people lining up once again. One would wonder what miraculous breakfast would draw such large numbers of people. Well, I can tell you from experience, this was nothing special. It was actually quite disappointing as there was little choice, especially if you do not have a craving for sausages and beans at that hour of the day. The fact that the limited quantities of many products also meant that there was even less to choose from also added insult to injury. All in all this was most definitely our last stay at this hotel and quite possibly our last time at any Crowne Plaza (at least for the foreseeable future). This hotel is neither worth the 150 GBP we paid per night nor the four star rating it somehow has received. To end in style, the staff member on duty when we were checking out did not ask us whether we enjoyed our stay. Ordinarily I would not have been bothered by someone leaving these obligatory words out but at The Crowne Plaza London - The City it was a perfect fit with their general approach to guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aronofsky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We visited London last weekend mainly for a Christmas shopping trip and chose to stay for one night at the Crowne Plaza London-The City. The hotel is right opposite Blackfriars Tube Station which would have made our stay near perfect, however the station is currently closed for an upgrade.

We found the room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful and the bar area so relaxing we didnt want to go out. We hadnt had breakfast included so had to pay extra. If we could find something to grumble about I suppose at £22.50 per head this was expensive, having said that I do believe you get what you pay for and we found the food to be fabulous and the restaraunt more than pleasant.

Overal we would not not hesitate in reccomending this hotel, and would certainly make this our first choice when we return to London.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Service and accommodation was excellent. We stayed in a suite which was wonderful, however my father also stayed in another suite and they received a fruit platter and chocolates. We didn’t?! Perhaps it was missed by mistake. The only thing I can criticise was that the bathroom scales didn’t work but at least they made me 2 stone lighter!!

On a serious note, this is a wonder hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllenCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed a week this fall at the Crowne Plaza near Blackfriars. The bed and bathroom were certainly the highlight of the hotel. Bed was extremely comfortable, and made for good rest throughout a long week. The rest of the hotel was nothing to write home about - not bad, just not particularly special. Would consider as a future option if smaller hotels in the area were fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbwn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nice comfortable rooms. Efficient staff (but a few more smiles would not have gone astray). Gym was locked away in the basement, but useable (we preferred a morning run along the thames). Great location. across the river form the Tate Modern and South Bank Centre, 15 minute walk into covent garden and Clerkenwell (London's new hot spot for dining). Comfortable sleep (although the room was a little stuffy). appreciated the sleep essential oils and sprays offered on turn down (with turn down, why do most hotels always turn down for one when two people have checked in????)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,068 in London
3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#80 of 1,068 in London
3,747 reviews
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing