We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 'motel' but let down by the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel
Ranked #426 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Have stayed in Premier Inn's many times but this was my first stay at Beckton. I chose the hotel based on its location as I was walking around London's Jubilee Greenway over two days and it's conveniently situated in the middle.

The hotel is a very typical Premier Inn. Everything is just as you'd expect it. The friendly staff on check-in, the spacious rooms, the big TV and nice bathroom.

Internet for £3 is also something I chose Premier Inn's for (however it was a little slow here) and free parking and Beckton DLR right next door providing great communication into London.

There's not a great deal around the hotel other than an Asda opposite so you're kind of stuck with the restaurant. This was a big let down in my opinion. No table service, an overly-relaxed bar staff and pretty sub-standard food. I left half of it and walked out choosing to drive to another restaurant over a mile away.

Overall a good example of Premier Inn but choose somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 885 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Chose this property for it's location to both the DLR & London City Airport & it was perfect in that sense. The room was comfortable & clean, & reception was very accommodating letting me check in at 11am. However it was extremely noisey, I do not see how they can guarantee a great nights sleep when the property is not built to block the noise of other guests, I think there was a herd of elephants above me who were running around on & off until 3am & everyone who came down the hall was able to be heard quite clearly. Also the TV did not work, I was offered to move rooms but was shattered & had an early start so did not want to have to pack up & move (the TV should have been checked when the room was serviced).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my first stay in this Premier Inn and as with all Premier Inns I expected a comfortable nights sleep in a decent hotel. I got what I expected as the room was clean and comfortable, the double bed was nice and comfi and the flat screen TV was excellent. Only downside was the minimal tea and coffee supplies which on request where replenished without fuss. The hotel is only a short ride away from canary Wharf, the O2 and Olympic stadium and is outside the congestion zone. The attached restaurant was busy and also value for money, however the £22 meal deal wasn't worth it. Beer was good, staff friendly and helpful, overall very good.

Room Tip: None they all seem in a good position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group of 5 (3 adults, 2 kids) had 2 rooms booked and arrived at the hotel at 11am. We told in no uncertain terms that we would have to come back at 2pm to check in. Although we were early, when we arrived early at the Premier Inn on Bath Road near Heathrow Airport, they were really accomodating and prepared our rooms as a priority so we could check in - all the more impressive as they were really busy as it was during to Olympics.
We returned to the hotel at 3pm, and were disappointed to find that our rooms were still not ready. We finally managed to get checked in at around 3.30pm.
Despite being assured prior to booking our stay, and by the receptionist during check in that our 2 rooms would be next to each other, we were then told that the only rooms available were 3 doors apart. When we finally got to the rooms, they were actually 7 doors apart.
The rooms themselves were, as you expect from a Premier Inn, basic but comfortable and generally clean, although it did not look as if the carpet in our room had been vacuumed prior to us moving in.
The heating in our room was not working properly, and despite adjusting the temperature control to heat the room, it kept resetting itself resulting in the room becoming very cold. We had to get up a couple of times during the night to adjust the temperature.
Our rooms overlooked the car park, and we experienced quite a lot of noise during the night from the car park as well as the room above us.
We had paid for the breakfast during booking, but the receptionists tried to charge us again for it when we checked in.
When we went for breakfast on the first morning, we were disappointed to find that there was no cereal left, despite the fact that it was still early. In addition, our table had not been cleaned properly before we sat down to eat as there were still crumbs on the table. Also, most of the glasses for the fruit juice were not clean.
On a positive note, this hotel is right next to the DLR station, so getting in to the centre of London is quick and easy. On a negative note, this station was shut for the duration of our stay, so we had to get a bus in to London.
In summary, I would choose other Premier Inn's over this one for any future trips to London.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just stayed here for nights with the kids on a short weekend trip to london. Quiet, comfy and really clean rooms. Super beds and very friendely staff. Breakfast was very good. Secured car parc and just next door to the BECKTON DLR ( wich wasn't working due to overhauling works, but free busses to canning town). Ideal place to stay to visit LONDON for a VERY NICE PRICE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were going to the O2 and picked this as it was close to the DLR, about a minutes walk. Done to the usual Premier Inn standard, the reception was helpful, the room clean and inviting, doing the basics well if not very well. None of the trimmings, apart from a good TV but great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here for business, using it as a base to access Central and North / East London. The room is standard corporate Premier Inn- sure, you could be anywhere but you also just know it will be clean, reasonably sized and well equipped (large flat screen telly, tea and coffee making facilities, decent table / desk to work at and the over desk spot lamp was a nice and appreciated touch).

As others have said, the complex is split in two, with buildings either side of the car park- I have only stayed in the annex and found it quiet, comfortable and secure. The car park is huge, free and accessed by security barrier with pass code. The reception can be tricky to find (look out for it next to Brewers Fayre) but I have found the staff friendly and very efficient. Meals are served at the adjacent BF, and are of reasonable standard. The breakfast is also served here and is standard PL serve yourself buffet and ‘eat as much as like’- the quality is ok and the set-up is fine by me as you are left to your own devices to choose to start your day as leisurely or otherwise as you wish.

The strong plus for me is the access, it is just one roundabout from the A13, with easy access to the M25 or A406 to get to and from the area. For the City, the DLR is 200yds away from the hotel offering easy access to Canning Town for the Jubilee line, or direct into Tower Gateway / Tower Hill for the Circle or District lines . So you can be most places in London in 30/40 mins, so this PL is ideal as a base for business in and around London.

No doubt I will regret this review next time I try to make a reservation and it is fully booked!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenR300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Travelodge London Raynes Park
#491 of 1,081 in London
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#355 of 1,081 in London
904 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#279 of 1,081 in London
609 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel

Address: 1 Woolwich Manor Way | Beckton, London E6 5NT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in London
#95 Family Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#262 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $84 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location for visitors to London, close to the O2 Arena, Excel Centre & next to DLR Beckton with frequent trains to Central London (30-40mins). Free parking and free Wi-Fi in our Brewers Fayre pub restaurant serving great value pub favorites including our new ‘All you can Eat’ self service £7.99 Premier Breakfast plus our £5.99 Buffet Place Theme nights: Chinese Night (Monday), Curry Night (Tuesday & Thursday), Mexican Night (Wednesday), Chip Shop night (Friday) and Carvery 3 course for £11 (Sunday). We hope to see you soon – Jamie Southgate (General Manager). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel London
Premier Inn London Beckton Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing