We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved it !”
Review of Portobello Gold

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portobello Gold
Ranked #95 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I loved it !”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I loved everything about the place.
The welcoming staff, the good food and the location.I will be back for sure !
The Portobello Gold has its own atmosphere and spirit. It's like nowhere else!
Very genuine !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricialouisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    91
    46
    31
    26
See reviews for
38
149
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This establishment had bags of character & very friendly staff.. It was well positioned being right on Portobello Road. Food was very good & the atmosphere was lively. It was reasonably priced and offered excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

when I am unsure of the restaurant, I usually get a burger but whoaaaaaaaa! I was in for the experience of a lifetime, there is that certain smell that I enjoy, cooked well & the ambiance was fabulous.

Room Tip: once it gets busy, it is a challenge to get seat but once you started ordering and getting your food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u6ytng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ightham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is not a hotel but a pub with rooms. The staff were cheerful and helpful but the room was more like a cupboard with a bed in it. I could feel the springs coming through the mattress. The bathroom arrangement is terrible, the sink is in the shower, there are holes in the tiles and is very tired and outdated like the rest of the room. I didn't stay for breakfast as I just wanted to get out and never come back! Shame as it was supposed to be my birthday treat.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friends and I stopped here for a quick coffee and cake whilst shopping in the markets. We had to wait 20 minutes before our orders were taken another 15 minutes before the drinks were brought to the table and another 15 minutes before 3 cheesecake slices appeared!!

My friend had initially asked if the advertised cream tea's were on offer, and told that they didn't have any, however when our bill came we had been charged for it!! The "manager" was rude, loud and arrogant, declaring that as it was Saturday and they were extremely busy he couldn't see our problem!! However not all the tables were full and there was limited staff... he seemed a little bit above himself....
There are many lovely places to eat, drink and people watch on the Portobello Road, so don't bother with this one if you want good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breadsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

we arrived at the gold after a busy day in london and it was exactly what we needed! the staff are great, friendly,welcoming and a good laugh. The real ale is great and the steak was exceptional. we were expecting a tiny room after reading the website but it was perfect and had everything we needed for a couple of nights stay, very clean and a comfy bed. the area around the pub was great but after visiting a couple of pubs nearby, we much preferred the atmosphere of the gold. We also thought it was great value. For any future visits to london this is definately the place that we'll stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed in the 4 poster room which was quirky and completely in character with the area. Loved it!
The bar is a "proper" bar with loads of character and characters. The food was good in the evening and I particularly liked breakfast which was a do it yourself affair with a really rustic feel.

Room Tip: Choose the 4 Poster room if it is available
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#562 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#607 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#342 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#373 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Notting Hill
Juliette's Guest House
Juliette's Guest House
#149 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Gold

Property: Portobello Gold
Address: 95/97 Portobello Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portobello Gold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Portobello Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Gold London, England
Portobello Gold Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing