We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merlyn Court Hotel
Ranked #120 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Torino, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I've spent five nights at the Merlyn in october 2013 with my mum and we had a nice experience. Extremely close to Earl's Court station and easy to reach from the airport,
in a quiet place,
close to pubs and restaurants,
ensuite room a bit small but extremely clean and warm,
breakfast good but a bit poor,
staff always friendly and available on giving informations and booking taxis,
reasonable prices.

So, if you need a nice and quiet place to stay and enjoy London the Merlyn Court Hotel could be the right choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatrice_italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
46
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It seems that reviews on this hotel are very mixed depending on what you want from a hotel. I went for a two-day, one-night stay with my 5-year old son to visit some London museums with him and, next time I go back to London I will definitely try to stay at the Merlyn Court Hotel again. The room we had seemed like it had been re-decorated very recently and the en-suite (shower, sink, toilet) was small but in very good order.

But the most important aspect to us was, as the proprietor said we were arrived, it was her home not a hotel. The welcome was warm and very friendly and after a long day and lots of walking the owner offered to bring my son a nice hot chocolate and a pack of biccies. I can't imagine many other places in London would do that.

Yes, breakfast is toast and, if you ask, more toast. But, again, the proprietor is up front about this and you just have to accept that it is part of the deal. The location is great for the museums being only a minutes walk from Earls Court tube station. If I was to come back to this part of London again soon I would definitely try and stay here. It would be like visiting a distant relative rather than staying in a characterless hotel.

In conclusion: if you want expensive furniture in a hotel that serves a full English this is not for you but if you want a cosy, welcoming home from home then definitely consider it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews I can only concur with their opinions. The place is a beautiful old building. The double beds are small the decor from the 50's but it is very clean and close to Earls Court and London itself, so it served its purpose. No TV's so a good quiet night sleep. You can find cheaper places in London, but they are the kind normally rented by the hour. All in all it suited our purpose without any frills.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Recently stopped in this Hotel, my advice is DON'T, ok, it's in London and its priced keenly, but, if you want to stay in a Hotel that looks like it was last decorated just after the Blitz, then this is for you, bedding looked like it was from the 1930s towels would be better used to rub down rusty metal, they were that rough, and 1 issue, so use sparingly, they wanted paying upfront on arrival, i didn't think we looked that shifty, but it seems their policy, and they charge surcharge for paying with cards.the heating was on all night, no way of turning it down, phew! , at least the window opened, if you are a couple, the room we had, the double bed was a size i never have encountered, it was small, cosy!, bathroom, needed a date with a decorator, and then some, so there you have it, oh yes breakfast, we didn't bother, we went to the pub on the corner.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just needed a place to sleep for one night, so not looking for exquisite decoration - just good functionality that's CLEAN. And you get a comfy bed that's in a clean room here. Just sufficient room in the teeny bathroom. Asked for downstairs room due to bad back - got that. Nice and quiet - NO TVs, quiet, leafy street but very close to Earl's Court U/Grnd Stn. Great welcome from hostess Luciana. No time for breakfast - but it smelt good. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to get room at street level and at front - it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sensibletraveller134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel in the Earl's Court area to anyone looking for a clean, safe, convenient hotel. The owner is a fabulous woman who worked in the big hotel industry for years and is working hard at making this place everything you need, at an affordable price. 5 minute walk from the Earl's Court tube (straight shot to Heathrow); clean (and I have high standards in that area); great price. One thing I liked is that it's just a smidgen more expensive than the hostels around the area so I wasn't subjected to hordes of backpacking teens. It had good wifi and offered a basic breakfast in the morning. Very quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you want basic, clean accommodation within minutes walking distance of a Zone 1 tube station then this is the place for you.

The rooms are simply furnished with sufficient plug sockets and wardrobe space. There are no televisions, unusual nowadays but this is made clear if you read about the hotel prior to booking. The shower rooms are small but modern and our power shower was excellent. Everywhere is spotlessly clean - you will often see Lucy the owner coming in and out of rooms doing the cleaning so she takes a very hands on approach to the running of the hotel.

I didn't have breakfast but my relatives told me it consisted of tea or coffee and toast. It is referred to as a 'complimentary breakfast' which sums it up well - it's just something basic and quick to get you on your way in the morning.

I would describe the Merlyn Court as an establishment that sits somewhere between a guest house and a hotel.

If you want luxury or a range of facilities, do not stay here.

If you want somewhere clean to wash and rest your head with a great location to boot then this is your place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building can be considerably quieter than those on the front. Request an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#433 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#525 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#269 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#564 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
South Kensington
The Jade
The Jade
#76 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Property: Merlyn Court Hotel
Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court
Merlyn Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing