We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rate for good location and basic amenities”
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merlyn Court Hotel
Ranked #117 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reasonable rate for good location and basic amenities”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

You may be a bit disappointed when you fist get in. But you may later understand that this hotel indeed offers you value for money. The house is old and the ceilings are high, adding to the comfort of your stay. Despite humble interior, Merlyn Court has all basic amenities, is clean and is conveniently located. Earl’s Court underground is only 5 min away. Kensington Gardens & Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall, Victoria and Albert Museum are also within walking distance (~20 min). At least two good pubs and a few groceries are located in the Earl’s Court Road nearby. The staff is friendly and offers very simple breakfast in the lower ground floor. For me, major inconvenience was one bathroom per floor (i.e. three guest rooms).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirill_Muradov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
46
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very clean. Wifi only works on the ground floor (this was not mentioned when I booked - it only said free wifi). The ground floor single room is very noisy - right next to the main door, so you hear the door each time it is shut, forget a good night's sleep). Very basic breakfast - just toast and weak tea / coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been to this place twice. The second time was quite disappointing. Not only was the room smaller, but I found on its desk a long list of "don'ts" I hadn't seen during my first stay: one of the points included that I not leave the towel on the floor (why should that happen?) and be economical with water and light (that's also my attitude when at home, so why do I need to be told this?). It made me feel not like a 37-year-old guest in a hotel, but rather like a teenage pupil in a boarding school. Next time I won't forget my passport for registration (as a final-year research student based in the U.K., I had felt it unnecessary to bring it along with me) so that people at the hotel can address me according to my age. For £49 (standard single room) I would expect at least some tea-and-coffee-making facilities in the room and a richer and more balanced breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yi-heng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I thoroughly liked Merlyn Court hotel. My single room was spotless. It was a single twin bed with a sink. Must better than what I was expecting. The toilet & shower were just a few stairs away, but also very clean. The hotel kept everything clean which is very important to me. I'm out all day long, so I don't need the amenities. I stayed for two nights, and i only ate breakfast there once which was just tea & toast. They provided towels as long as you keep them hung when you were done. The building is very old, so you have to expect the creaking floors and noisy door locks...I really tried to be as quiet as I could, but those door locks would just make a load click. I felt very safe. They even cleaned my room the next day too. Lucy and Maddie were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying at the hotel for little amenities. They said they had internet, but I didn't use it because I couldn't find it on my floor. Again, I am pretty much there for a nice hot shower, and a bed to lay out, so it was still find with me. Always went down to a cafe with internet if I needed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPugDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

On our first trip to London for many years we were naievly hoping for value for money. Unfortunately we were disappointed with this hotel. Though the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, the beds were uncomfortable and the breakfasts were very sparse. (Tea and coffee with thin white bread toast and marmalade-no choices). Over our 7 week trip this was one of the worst places in terms of value for money. The fact that there was no TV and no wifi was also disappointing- even though this was a budget hotel these facilities should have been provided. There is also no fire escape apart from the main staircase which might put off some people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was my third trip to the Merlyn Court, and it's a reliable stand-by. My favorite part is the cleanliness: very diligent and polite cleaning staff. They are unapologetic about its being a budget hotel: no TVs or even WiFi (though a few guests were able to pick up a signal by sitting in the central staircase), but who needs these amenities when you are in central London--and the price is right? I enjoyed the rooms on the top floor for their privacy and coziness, even if hauling your bags up there is a chore. And the neighborhood is great: there's a cyber-cafe and a post office within walking distance, not to mention the Earl's Court tube station. There's really no breakfast to speak of: just toast and tea or coffee. It's worth it, though, to keep the prices down. If you go out on the main road, and turn right, you can find a couple of pubs that offer full English breakfast, including veggie versions. I like the work ethic and attitude of the owners and front desk staff, and I thought it was sweet that they called to make sure I was okay since I hadn't shown up to breakfast (I had jet lag). Will definitely be back next summer, jet lag and all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#591 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Jade
The Jade
#74 of 557 in London
279 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#125 of 557 in London
215 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#58 of 557 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Property: Merlyn Court Hotel
Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court
Merlyn Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing