We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Merlyn Court Hotel
Ranked #115 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My spouse and I stayed at Merlyn Court Hotel Nov. 9-15. We had a double room without bath located on the 2nd floor. The room was very spacious and was furnished with 2 beds, chest of drawers, wardrobe, sofa, and sink. The mattresses were firm but comfortable. The shared bathroom with shower was very small, but it worked. Be sure to bring your own bar of soap and shampoo. A bar of soap was provided in our room but it was very small. There was a bottle of shampoo in the shared bath, but we weren't sure if someone left it there or if it had been provided by the hotel. The breakfast, as others have commented, was minimal--tea or coffee (instant), toast and marmalade. It would have been nice if it had been a bit more substantial. However, we only ate the hotel one morning. The other mornings, we ate at one of the restaurants/cafes located nearby. The location, although very quiet, was extremely convenient. We were very close to the Earl's Court tube station as well as numerous good restaurants (Thai, Chinese, Indian, etc.), pubs (e.g., Court Field, Black Bird), laundromats, a post office, and convenience stores that sold fruit, sandwiches, etc. Merlyn Court Hotel offers great value, and we thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
46
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Merlyn Court is located in a highly touristy area, I had stay there for roughly 4 nights. I have mixed feelings about this place. You definitely get what you paid for, it is budget hotel that offers breakfast and staff members that are very helpful. The rooms are bare but that is to be expected. however, I was not expecting my room to be facing the busy street and directly across is the youth hostel. There is nothing they can do about the noise. but the bed I have was so uncomfortable. It felt like box springs! I truly like the location and convenience here but I cannot recommend this place other than people who are on a really tight budget.

Room Tip: ask for a room that do not face the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sakura2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Again yes this is a budget hotel and she has cut back on the breakfast with out raising the prices. Breakfast is just coffee and toast. But there are lots of places in the area to have another coffee and croisannt. There is a Starbucks and my favorite Costa Coffee right on Earls Court rd. My favorite Italian Restaurant Dino's closed but there are a number of Pubs in the area. The Merlyn Court is in a quiet location and I wouldnt stay anywhere else. If Lucy or Fred arent there. Adrianna or the other front desk girls wil take care of you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevilledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Merlyn Court is the B&B type of hotel located in the amazing area – Kensington, only few minutes walking distance from Earls Ct tube station. We stayed in a family bedroom on the 3rd floor, with one double bed and two twins. Twin bed is a bit of small for adult. The room was clean and facing the backyard so it was quite at night. There is ensuite small bathroom with a toilet, sink and a standing shower cabinet; however, there is not much space to put down the toiletries and hanging the towels. No TV and no clock in the room. Internet access was not available in this hotel. Besides the basement, there are total 4 levels in the hotel but there is no lift. Breakfast is served in the basement and it is very simple: many pieces of triangle shaped toasts, jam and butter, plus coffee or tea and milk. Nothing fancy.

The surrounding of the hotel is very nice with many residential houses and many coffee shops, restaurants, M&S Simply Food store, a Tesco, MacDonald, Burger King and ATMs are just a block away. In addition, there is bus station in front of Earls Ct tube station. There are also many hotels nearby for competition.

For us, after whole day’s activities outside with kids, this was a nice place to come back to sleep in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

There is much to like about the neighborhood of Earls Court: central, convenient, pleasant mix of shops and residential rows, lots of ATMs. There were some things to like about the accommodation: helpful and courteous staff, interesting older building with high ceilings and nice decorations, clean, good showers. However, we would not stay there again. The beds were hard, the pillows so-so, and the noise from the street quite loud both in the middle of the night and in the early morning (a room away from the street would be better). We knew that the breakfast was minimal, but it was so minimal that after the first morning we skipped it entirely and found a wonderful local breakfast place instead about 3 blocks away (Bench'O). Surely it wouldn't cost much to add some cold cereals to this hotel's spartan offering of toast, jam and butter packets, and coffee. We expected that there would be no internet access and no TV, but having those would have compensated a bit for the issues above.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBerryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egersund, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We had a great stay last weekend in October. It was easy to find.
This is hotel with no fuzzy frills, it not Hilton –but the beds is OK, it is clean and no noise at night.

The manager and staff give you the best service. Always smiling!
Ask for Lilly (she is the secret of the hotel). Our youngest daughter loved to cuddle and play with this little girl…… :o)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The attitude of the people working here was appalling, I guess some other people had better experiences. Maybe they changed owners? Anyway, my jacket was stolen one evening off the back of my chair in a bar along with the hotel key in the pocket and all the money I had that night. When I finally made it back to the hotel I had to sit ring the bell for a long time to get anyone to answer the door. When she did come to the door I explained what had happened and she treated me like a 13 who just missed her curfew and told me I was lucky anyone answered the door. Then the next day they charged me 50 pounds ( $85) for the stolen key! I just found that awful after the terrible night I had. After I complained about this they did not clean my room, not even empty my garbage! And they would not let me cancel the rest of my reservation to move to a new hotel because they said they would charge me. What kind of hell-hole is this anyway? There are lots of similar hotels in that area, I would stay at one of those if I were you to avoid being ripped off at every turn. Oh and don't even try to drink the coffee here, but maybe the woman was just trying to poison me : ) And they wont let you use the internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fern419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#524 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#291 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#565 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
South Kensington
The Jade
The Jade
#75 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Property: Merlyn Court Hotel
Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court
Merlyn Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing