We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel London ExCeL
Nearby Hotels
$251
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$174
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$171
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$1,055
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$261
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,417)
Filter reviews
2,417 results
Traveler rating
882
1,072
327
91
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
1,072
327
91
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscustom housecity airportroyal victoriathe emirates cable caremirates airlinecanning townseparate toiletflight pathdlr stationdocklands areadocklands light railwayjubilee linesofa bedtesco expresscanary wharfbath and showereasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,128 - 1,133 of 2,417 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

first class hotel indeed, everything was as always very good , kids love this hotel with the sweetie shop on road back from the tube station , and if you can keep them happy then thats half the battle


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comment and five star rating following your recent stay in our hotel.

We were thrilled to read that you found our property very good and that you received throughout your stay the excellent service we pride ourselves on delivering.

We certainly hope you will have the opportunity to return to London and stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed here for the first time in march for the Russel Howard show, was a delight, so clean offered an upgrade for £20 to the executive suite, DELICIOUS breakfast buffet with such a selection and you can even hang a sign on back of door if done by 1am and tick what you want and what time you want to be delivered for breakfast in bed! didnt realise this till saw at 2am! but will be doing this next time :) lovely powerful shower and bath complete with toiletries, such a comfy bed gurantees good night sleep, AND ITS MASSIVE amazing view of the excel, o2 and the emirates airline, 5 min walk away and 1 min walk for excel tube station. absolutely perfect to stay in can always trust novotel - and booked to stay again in October for 2 night for Lee Evans, cannot wait see you then!

Room Tip: Any room they are all amazing
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay

I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our Executive rooms and that you also found your room to be clean and comfortable.

I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed the outdoor Terrace overlooking the water and breakfast in our Upper Deck Restaurant.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback and we very much look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday. The hotel was lovely, the rooms were a great size and very nicely decorated with everything you could possibly need! The reception staff were extremely welcoming and upgraded us to an executive suite, free of charge, when they found out it was my boyfriends birthday which was really appreciated! The location was very good with good links to Central London. We will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your fantastic five star review in regards to your stay at Novotel London ExCeL. It is always such a great pleasure to receive positive feedback!

I am very glad to read that you liked our New Generation Executive bedrooms as well as the hotel facilities and that everything is up to the high standard as you would expect it.

I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions following your stay at the Novotel London ExCeL. It was a great pleasure to see that you had a good stay and would recommend our hotel to others.

Hoping to see you back very soon, I remain at your service.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed two nights with our daughter.
The hotel is very modern, clean and most importantly family friendly.
Our room was better than expected, clean, plenty of room and great views of the dock. Beds so so comfortable. No noise issues which is rare in hotels.
Competent friendly staff, and food ( especially the children's menu ) was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to us.

We were proud to read that your experience was up to your expectations and that we offered you a good quality stay.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock on another stay in London.

Kind regards,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed as this hotel as a family of 4 on 12/4/14 overnight. We booked the shopping package which included a cocktail and breakfast and we pre-booked the "internet exclusive" dinner rate of £21 per adult and £10.50 for children.

Firstly the room had beds set up for 4 but no milk and towels/cups for only 2 people. We requested more but in the end we went to the convenience store opposite for milk as we gave up waiting.

We went to the bar for our cocktail (all cocktails £9.50) and ordered our mohitos but were then told we could only have the Novotel cocktail. This was not listed on the menu and staff could not tell us what went into it as clearly they put in whatever needs to be used up. Despite the booking paperwork saying cocktails for all those on the booking, the staff would not serve non-alcoholic drinks to the children as part of the inclusive deal.

We then went to the restaurant for what proved to be an awful meal. The staff had not heard of the "internet exclusive" meal deal. We had paid £10.50 for the children's meal but their menu only cost £7.95. We had checked out the menu before arriving and thought that it looked to be a good value deal but were then offered this menu with no price on it ... It offered us pasta in a tomato sauce with Parmesan or chicken with roast potatoes and carrots for main course, fruit salad with cream or ice cream for dessert. The menu was disgusting and I would not pay more than £8 for a meal like that. After kicking up a fuss we were told that we could have whatever we wanted form the menu but would have to pay any extra over and above the £63 we had already paid. So much for the internet exclusive 3 course meal deal. If we had known this would happen we would have gone to the nice Lebanese restaurant around the corner.

The room was ok - quiet, comfy bed, kids sofa bed was apparently very comfortable, all in all though I would not go back to this hotel. The Novotel in Blackfriars was so much better. The problem seems to be with the management not doing their job ... Staff not aware of what is going on and no inspection of rooms to check they are ready for occupation. If you do go here then book the basic deal without any extras.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Workingmum757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLondonExCeL, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your feedback and for taking your time to write to us regarding your experience at our Upper Deck Bar and Restaurant.

I do apologise for the misunderstanding about your cocktail voucher. During my investigation it came to my attention that it has been a misinterpretation on our website and the information passed to us internally. We do appreciate that you highlighted this issue which we were not aware of until you mentioned to us.

Regarding your meal deal, your feedback has been sent to the Head Chef and all menus has been changed with better content for our guests in order to improve their dine experience.

For the contentment of our guests we do offer the A La Carte menu if our customer are not pleased with our set menu for the same amount you paid through the internet package (£63.00).
I was surprised to hear that our A La Carte menu was not up to your standards, as we do offer a variety of dishes and we have good reviews from our menu quality and food selection. Once again, I do apologise for the misunderstanding through your stay.

We honestly hope to welcome you and your family in a near future in order to change your impression about NOVOTEL London Excel.

Yours sincerely,

Magdalena Fratczak
Guest Relations Manager
Novotel London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews