We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the O2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel London ExCeL
Ranked #278 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location for the O2”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just back from a one night stay with a friend. We stayed in a twin room which was more than adequate and very comfortable. We had lunch on the terrace overlooking the Victoria Dock and with views to the O2 and Docklands. The food was delicious but the bar seemed understaffed and we were brought tea with no milk. In the end we had to go and fetch it ourselves while the pot of tea was going cold. The Sky Rail is a two minute walk and took us across the river to the concert. Breakfast is expensive at £15 a head but has a good choice and the restaurant has a good view over the dock. In summary I would definitely use this modern and clean hotel again when visiting the O2.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear reviewer,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Novotel London ExCeL and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. It was with great satisfaction that I read your comments regarding our comfortable rooms and delicious food.

We always strive to make sure that our departments are fully staff to provide the best service to our guests. I am sorry if the service at the bar did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I am glad to read you enjoyed our buffet breakfast in our Upper Deck restaurant. Next time you wish to stay with us, do not hesitate to visit our website novotel.com as we do offer great deal packages including breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you back on your next visit to the O2 Arena.

Kind regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    1,017
    315
    89
    41
See reviews for
701
545
131
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ideally located if visiting the O2 Arena and only a few minutes from DLR Royal Victoria Station, however make sure you leave the station via the right exit or you could make a five minute walk into a 30 minute walk. The hotel is modern and clean with great views from the Bar terrace across j will ring when out to the O2. We used the Emirates Air cablecar to get from the dock to the Arena and this again is only a few minute walk. There are a couple of "Open Late" supermarkets close by aswell.

The buffet breakfast is very good and was included in our Room rate as was the "free" wifi

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your great five star review following your stay at Novotel London ExCeL. It was a great pleasure to read that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our Terrace with a great view overlooking the docks.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the O2 Arena.

With best regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed one night in an Executive Room (817), spotlessly clean and quiet overlooking the rear of the property towards Stratford and the Olympic Park. Bathroom was modern and again, very clean. Bed was very soft with warm duvet, safe, mini bar and Nespresso coffee machine all included which is a nice touch, like the decor in the room too, very modern. Had a drink in the bar last night, very quiet for a Saturday night in Docklands, beer was a little pricey at £4.20 for a Peroni, London prices I guess, I should be use to it. Breakfast this morning, was nicely laid out, usual buffet style with everything you could wish for, service was efficient, breakfast again, a little pricey, could've gone across the road to the Airline Cafe and had a full English for £4.95 ! What sold this hotel for me was the location, slap bang next to the ExCel Arena and two minutes from the Emirate AirLine Cable Car to the O2, with a Tesco Metro and plenty of restaurants around this hotel, you won't go hungry. Check out this morning took approximately 38 seconds, very speedy, a really nice hotel and will definately check in again soon. Thanks Novotel people.

Room Tip: Dock View Room is good if you want to watch the planes go into London City, otherwise, it's a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor.

It gave me great pleasure to read that you found our hotel excellent and was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our newly refurbished executive room with modern decor.

I will pass on your kind words regarding your spotless room to our Head Housekeeper as she will be very happy to see that our very high standards of cleanliness are recognised and noticed by our guests.

We well located for the ExCeL indeed as we are the closest hotel from the West Entrance of the exhibition centre, only a tow minute walk away.

In closing, I would like to thank you once again for your very positive review and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Docklands area.

Kind regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

good location on Royal Vivtoria dock,great views & 2 mins walk from DLR makes central London very accesible.Also 2 minutes from cable car ride over Thames .We had a family room ,not huge but comfortable & quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your positive review about your stay at Novotel London ExCeL. It is always very satisfactory to receive a four star comment and I was glad to read you found the location suitable to your needs.

On another positive note, I was happy to read you felt comfortable in our bedroom enabling to have I hope a very relaxing stay.

We hope to see you back to our property very soon.

With best regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel, modernish room, the mini bar fridge was locked so couldn't use even after asking. Breakfast wasn't included as it was very expensive, easier to find a cheaper alternative. But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblybex101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Novotel London ExCeL here on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you had an overall pleasant hotel stay and that you enjoyed our clean, modern room.

I was sorry to see that you could not use the mini bar as it is our standard to unlock it so our guests can use it without having to ask. I already passed on your comment to our Head Housekeeper so she can review this with her team to avoid any repeat in the future.

Should you stay with us in the future, I would advise you to visit our website novotel.com as we do offer packages including breakfast so you don’t have to pay any extra if wish to enjoy our delicious full English buffet breakfast in our Upper Deck restaurant.

We hope to see you back very soon and remain at your service in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

You need a satnav to get there or a cabbie's "knowledge" but underground parking is convenient if a bit expensive (£15). Executive room had excellent lighting, adequate sitting and modern bathroom. And a safe at eye level. Wifi not free which is becoming more and more unusual. Good meal in the restaurant, though not cheap by non-London prices. But all in all a good experience. We would certainly stay again if using City Airport.

Room Tip: Probably not much to choose between them but you might want to watch the planes taking off and landi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We welcomed your four star review with great pleasure. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience online.

I was glad to read you enjoyed staying in our newly refurbished executive room with modern décor and that you had a good overall experience.

Our car park on the ground floor is indeed very convenient for our guests who benefit from a special 50% discount on the rate when staying in our hotel. I can assure you that our rate is in line with car park prices in our local area.

I am delighted to confirm that since today, we have been offering free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel as we understand this is essential for our business and leisure guests.

Once again, many thanks for your positive words. We look forward to welcoming you back when using London City Airport on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Daniel Batista
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#259 of 1,069 in London
1,840 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#480 of 1,069 in London
2,026 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#571 of 1,069 in London
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London ExCeL

Property: Novotel London ExCeL
Address: 7 Western Gateway, London E16 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London ExCeL 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary waterfront hotel located 150 metres from the ExCeL London & ICC (Exhibition Centre)and near the O2 Arena, Canary Wharf, Stratford, London City Airport (LCY) and historic Greenwich. The hotel is ideally located in the capital’s dynamic eastside and close to Westfield Stratford City shopping centre, which is only 10 minutes away. Novotel London ExCeL is a 5 minute walk from Custom House D.L.R. station. All Novation rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and separate shower unit, as well as pivoting desk for working or dining, high speed internet, Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. The Upper Deck Restaurant offers panoramic views in a relaxed environment overlooking Royal Victoria Dock. Open from 6am to 10.00pm the Upper Deck also offers 24-hour room service. Paid car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Excel Hotel London
Accor London Excel
London Novotel
Novotel London ExCeL England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing