We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel London Excel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London ExCeL
Ranked #299 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Novotel London Excel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Close to London City Airport. Close to Canary Wharf and Greenwich. Easy access to light rail. Rooms are a good size. Very good value for money. Not exactly close to London centre. Lifts could be a bit larger as per quite a few Novotel Hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock.

I was delighted to hear that you found the hotel value for money and with easy access to the D.L.R. (Docklands Light Railway).

Since opening in 1987 the D.L.R. has extended to Bank, Beckton, Lewisham, London City Airport and Woolwich Arsenal. Last week, the Stratford International to Canning Town branch line opened. It's certainly a great way to see our great city.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock, London
Email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    995
    308
    86
    39
See reviews for
668
518
130
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for short break and really couldn't ask for more from a 'chain' hotel. Check in (and out) was quick, easy and very friendly. In fact, all the staff were friendly and helpful, even when faced with a very hectic breakfast service.

The room was fine - a typical 'chain' hotel room. Found the WC being separate from the bathroom a bit strange but wasn't a problem. Surprised to have a bath (tub) and shower, both of which were spotless with good water pressure. Would have liked the air con to be a bit more efficient but then we don't usually have to use it so much in UK! Requested a quiet room and that was what we got - you can't plan for the room above being used by people who appear to be using walking boots all evening!!! Was aware of the planes using City airport but they didn't disturb us at all.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fresh produce. Am pleased I included this in my booking as there wasn't anywhere locally to go out for breakfast. It really set us up for a serious day's exploring London!

Would suggest that first time you arrive, you alight the DLR at Custom House and go over the bridge/walkway to the hotel as that's the easiest way to find it. (After then, we walked along to the Royal Victoria station/stop which was more level.)

You can see the O2 from the hotel. Easiest way there is to get hte DLR to Canning Town where you change onto the (southbound) Jubilee line for Greenwich north. Only 2 stops away from the hotel. Loads of restaurants there.

Only mistake I made was not realising that the hotel is out of the city centre but a few miles and this added onto our Oyster (travel) card costs so factor this into your plans. It's a very easy, safe and reliable DLR service but just cost more than I budgeted for - my mistake of course. But didn't detract from a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Plenty of places to eat at Canary Wharf or O2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank northernstarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued feedback.

It’s always pleasing to read that guests enjoyed their stay and our breakfast in the Upper Deck Restaurant on Level 1.

On September 13th, the new Westfield Stratford City shopping centre will open with even more choice for shopping and dining in the local area. The DLR (Docklands Light Railway) will connect to the shopping centre at Stratford International, with direct routes from Custom House & Royal Victoria DLR stations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock
Email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Novotel Excel in september 2010. The hotel was amazing, and very fancy. The room was spotless, great shower and bath, comfy bed, a nice couch with a tv. One night when we were tired we ordered a film for a standard price (about 10 pounds) from their wide selection.

Breakfast each morning was exquisite. They had a huge buffet of cold and warm breakfast dishes. We only wanted some cereal and tea, but for people who want a full on English breakfast, it looked great. We also had dinner there on the first night, which was nice, but expensive, and for a vegetarian not a wide selection.

The only real downside to the hotel was the location. It's located in the Docklands, and you have to take the DLR line from the Tower Bridge station. It cost more to ride this non underground line, and it was out of the way. If we started the day visiting something in North London it would take us a while before we were back at the hotel.

All in all, beautiful hotel (and if you're going to the O2 then it's ideal), but it's located a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragna_Catharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued feedback.

I am delighted to read that you rated the cleanliness and bedroom so highly and enjoyed breakfast in the Upper Deck Restaurant on Level 1.

London is an extraordinary city and our hotel is conveniently located in the capital’s vibrant docklands and accessible to the ExCeL London (Exhibition Centre) & ICC (International Convention Centre), and these venue’s will host seven Olympic events next year including the Boxing, Fencing, Judo, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Weightlifting and Wrestling.

Also nearby is Canary Wharf, Stratford & Olympic Park, The O2 Arena & IndigO2, Tower Bridge, Spitalfields & Brick Lane, Thames River and maritime Greenwich (A World Heritage Site).

Next week, the new Stratford International D.L.R. Line will open connecting Canning Town to Stratford International, adjacent to London Olympic Park and new Westfield Stratford City shopping centre (Opening 13th September 2011).

In summer 2012, the new cable car across the Thames River will open connecting ExCeL with the O2 Arena, with a journey time to 10 minutes for paying customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock
Email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I booked a weekday night with this hotel (over secret hotel at lastminute.com) and tried to change the booking to the Novotel in Heathrow Airport, four days before. Same night, same chain, just one of their hotels in a different location. Turns out changes are not possible!! They made me pay the full price for that night!! On top of all that, the secret hotel price on lastminute.com is the same as the price if you book directly on the hotel's website. No Novotel for me ever again, and no secret hotel!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redcar2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com

I can confirm that the rate you had booked was a non refundable rate, as per lastminute.com terms and conditions and the hotel cancellation policy, both of which are displayed on lastminute.com.

We always have a fully flexible rate available when a non refundable rate is offered, as we want to give the choice to all customers to either book a higher rate that they can cancel up to 2pm on the day of arrival, or to book a cheaper rate which does not offer the same flexibility.

We encourage all guests to read the terms and conditions of the reservations prior to purchase.

We appreciate your circumstances, and in no way doubt the sincerity of your feedback, however our policy has to remain strict if we are to continue to offer competitive prices in the future.

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very pleasant stay. After exploring buzzling London it was very nice to relax in the comfortable room. We stayed 4 nights in a superior twinbedded room. Short walk to the EXCELL DRL station. At the time there were no events at the EXCELL Conference Hall which is situated next to the hotel which made the stay even more pleasant. There are 2 convenient small supermarkets at 50 and 150 meters. Although planes are flying over the hotel during the day on regular basis, the disturbance is minimal (keep the window closed and/or put TV/music on). The lobby/bar is modern en cosy and has nice seats.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock on your recent visit to London.

Your ratings about the sleep quality as well as the hotel in general are very much appreciated. Your kind comments have been shared with the hotel team.

I want to thank you again on behalf of the hotel staff for staying with us and sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com

We trust you will choose to stay with us on another visit to London.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock
Email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had a family trip to London and decided to take advantage of Novotel amazing summer deal. Although the hotel was a little way out of London centre the DLR 5 minute walk away gave us swift access to the city. Breakfast was great with a fabulous selection and we also had dinner in the evening which was impressive also. The staff were attentive and happy to help, and the kids loved the modern surroundings and the play area. Trying to think of a negative but can't find one. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review for our hotel.

As our aim is to provide a high level of service which you expect and deserve from us, we are grateful for your positive comments which I shared with our team. Inspired with this we assure you, our valued guest, that we will continue to deliver exceptional service at all times.

Thank you once more for sharing your comments with us and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock, London
email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for one night as it was ideal for City Airport for an early flight next morning.
Simple efficient check-in process in spacious, calm and airy reception area. Room was a reasonable size (on 3rd floor) overlooking away from the dock area. Smallish but adequate bathroom which would probably feel cramped if you were staying for a week. Adequate tea/coffee making facilities with very well designed area for boiling water and positioning cups - I know that sounds nerdy but how many times does making tea in a hotel room seem like a military exercise ? Large bed with 'memory' style mattress which made it quite warm even with the air-con maxed out. Eventually gave up on the air-con and opened the window (only allowed to open about 4 inches) which then made the night comfortable. Did not take breakfast as no time. You could do a lot worse for £85.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicksid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsManager_9, Operations Manager at Novotel London ExCeL, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Novotel London ExCeL, Royal Victoria Dock. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities and service of the hotel.

Thank you once more for sharing your comments with us and I trust we have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the Novotel London ExCeL, sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Mark Hardy
Operations Manager
Novotel London ExCeL
Royal Victoria Dock
Email: h3656@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#256 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#464 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#560 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London ExCeL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London ExCeL

Property: Novotel London ExCeL
Address: 7 Western Gateway, London E16 1AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#248 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Family Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London ExCeL 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary waterfront hotel located 150 metres from the ExCeL London & ICC (Exhibition Centre)and near the O2 Arena, Canary Wharf, Stratford, London City Airport (LCY) and historic Greenwich. The hotel is ideally located in the capital’s dynamic eastside and close to Westfield Stratford City shopping centre, which is only 10 minutes away. Novotel London ExCeL is a 5 minute walk from Custom House D.L.R. station. All Novation rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and separate shower unit, as well as pivoting desk for working or dining, high speed internet, Wi-Fi access and satellite TV. The Upper Deck Restaurant offers panoramic views in a relaxed environment overlooking Royal Victoria Dock. Open from 6am to 10.00pm the Upper Deck also offers 24-hour room service. Paid car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London ExCeL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Excel Hotel London
Accor London Excel
London Novotel
Novotel London ExCeL England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing