We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money we paid.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Kings Cross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Ranked #589 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value for the money we paid.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked this Travelodge about 3 months in advance so got it for £42 for the night. We were travelling on the Eurostar first thing the following morning, so the location of this hotel is excellent, being just a two minute walk away from St Pancras (and Kings Cross) station.

The room was clean and tidy and what you would normally expect in a Travelodge. Kettle and hairdryer facilities were available, and this Travelodge has a small café/bar on the first floor.

The only things we had a problem with was the somewhat cold reception we received from the man at the front counter when arriving. We were a couple of hours early so knew we were not likely to be able to check in, but asked if we could put our bags in the baggage room as we wanted to get out and explore London. The chap said that the baggage room was totally full, which left our plans to explore out the window as it wasn't practicable to take them with us. He was quite blunt about it and offered no alternative. Just as we were pondering what to do, someone came up to the desk and wanted to collect their two cases from the luggage room. The bags were collected and it was then only upon our own suggestion that perhaps we could now store our bags in the luggage room, now there was space. We had to put the suggestion forward as it wouldn't have been forthcoming from the member of staff. Perhaps he was having a bad day, we all get them I guess. (As it happens, on looking in the baggage room, had all the bags in there have been stacked in some sort of order, it would have fitted half a dozen more!).
Still, the late shift member of staff on duty that day made up for it. He was chatty, friendly and restored our faith.

The only other issue you may have if you book this hotel is the road noise. We were in a room overlooking the front (Grays Inn Road). This is a BUSY road at all times of the day, including right through the night as you would expect next to two main rail stations. Our room did have extra glazing, but the drone of the traffic could be a big problem if you're a light sleeper. There must also be an ambulance station nearby as literally every 20 minutes an ambulance with sirens blaring would pass......including at 2, 3 and 4am in the morning. I gather if you have a room at the back of the hotel, then you are next to the train tracks so face similar problems.

Can't fault it though for £42, but just be warned. There is a Premier Inn just around the corner, but you'll pay double to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roscotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    353
    251
    128
    131
See reviews for
342
330
70
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I booked this knowing it was a basic hotel, but wrongly thought it would be of similar standard to a Premier Inn. For the money, this was a terrible hotel, we paid £70 per night for a double room! Upon arrival, the receptionist barely cracked a smile, gave brief instructions about which floor our room was on whether we wanted breakfast ( glad we chose not to). Our room (332) was on the third floor, the furthest away it could possibly be. The room appeared bare and unwelcoming. The kettle only work after a bit of a jiggle. The bathroom was basic: there were not even any tissues. There were no glasses but two plastic cups were stacked inside each other. It was not clear whether these were new or unused as they did not come in a sealed bag. There was no hair dryer at all - I had to borrow one from the friend I came to visit. Walls were paper- thin and every noise could be heard which meant very little sleep. The door rattled every time anyone else shut theirs and the bed was hard. Can't tell you about the view as the window was set back a little but it just looked dull. The carpet was filthy and had stains on it. there is luggage storage for which you are asked to make a donation - this was to Macmillan so we didn't mind that so much.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AkelaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We expect our customers to receive a warm and friendly welcome and so we are sorry to learn that this was not the case on this occasion AkelaH. It is also regrettable you found the hotel to be noisy, we try to reduce noise in our hotels by having insulated walls and double glazing. We’ve recently finished a refurbishment and put new pocket sprung beds in every room so we’d like to apologise for the discomfort you experienced. We’ve received some fantastic feedback regarding our new beds however we appreciate our customers may have different preferences on the firmness of a mattress. As part of our brand standard we do not provide drinking glasses, face tissues and a hairdryer, however we do provide cups for making tea/coffee and hair dryers can be borrowed from reception. We’d like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before catching the Eurostar. Very good price for so near the station, and London. Staff very helpful, room very nice with good bathroom. Considering it was a Saturday night, noise was minimal. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here with my 2 friends for one night whilst visiting a beauty show at the Excel. We paid £42 for a triple room which worked out at £14 per night - for me this is an amazing price for a London hotel, especially one which is literally a 2 minute walk from kings cross - the area around it isn't great, nothing posh but never found it a problem.

We were in room 204 and we did back onto the trainline, and yes you could hear trains but it didn't disturb my sleep in any way, nor did it disturb the sleep of the people I was with! We had 1 double bed and 2 very comfortable camp beds - perfect! And there was enough room for us all to move around. The bathroom was a bit small but exactly what you expect for a budget hotel, slight smell of drains but nothing unbearable. What always impresses me about Travelodge is their security levels, you have to use your card to get into the part of the building with the rooms which gives me piece of mind.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if I could get it at a good price, so pleased with it! I was so worried beforehand because of the reviews on here but it was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel, in a lovely old building near King's Cross Station, delivers exactly what it promises. The rooms, although small, are well-designed, attractive and comfortable. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Christopher592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in room 313 and it had a train line under the window with trams running past with only ten seconds between each!! It was sooooo noisy we had no sleep at all,before booking we were told there was luggage storage but when we tried to use it we were denied the use of it so we had to sight see trailing our suitcase, the worst part was the staff were quite smug about this and offered us absolutely no resolution

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Kings Cross, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We are sorry to learn you were disturbed by noise outside of the hotel Alison A. Regrettably due to the central location some external noise may be heard, however in an attempt to reduce the noise outside of the hotel we do provide double glazing and insulated walls. Our staff are expected to provide a great service so we are sorry to learn you found them to be unhelpful. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they can remind their staff of the importance of providing a quality service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Friendly staff, clean beds, good location. Room was pretty musty but would stay there again. The location was great as it was so close to kings cross station. Hotels are crazy expensive in the area, so this was a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#871 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#115 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Kings Cross

Property: Travelodge London Central Kings Cross
Address: Willing House 356-364 Gray's Inn Road | Willings House, London WC1X 8BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Kings Cross 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Central Kings Cross England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing