We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #348 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but good value”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a two night stay at the Clarendon midweek and were pleased overall with our stay. The room was small but adequate and clean. Location was excellent for Blackheath and for getting into central London by train. The station is only 5 mins walk from the hotel and there are some excellent restaurants nearby. The breakfast staff were very friendly and the dining room overlooked a walled garden. This is a leafy area of London with Greenwich Park on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back for no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear GuyF
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the local area.
Blackheath and Greenwich are a special place in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    554
    248
    84
    45
See reviews for
413
385
88
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for one night in July. Lovely setting and hotel looks lovely from the outside and a very impressive glass covered reception walkway. Hotel in need of some updating and we were put In a very outdated tiny ground floor room at the very back of the hotel, very hot only able to open the window a couple of inches, no air conditioning but a fan on the wall which did not work. Spoke to reception and they did try and fix it but in the end gave us a very old alternative fan which really did nothing. No parking available on arrival but were advised we could park anywhere in local area for free until following morning at 8am. Breakfast was lovely, great room very friendly staff and tea and toast served at table. Would I rush back?? Probably not but ok for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask not to be at back of hotel or ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clw1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear clw1278
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to inform you that we have now updated the wing you stayed in. I am sorry that the fan in your room was not working, the weather has been hot. Pleased that you enjoyed breakfast, we are just about to bring in a new locally made jam and marmalade from Borough Market.
We have also updated our parking information, and I have attached it below, as there is more parking options once the hotel car park is full.
Hotel Car Park
The hotel has a front and rear car park. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place).

Blackheath Station Car Park (.38Ml)
The hotel also recommends guest to use the large station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours.

Directions to the station car park. (Apcoa)
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park.

Village Parking information
Pond Road (.2ml) – You can park from noon onwards to 11am the following day (Mon-Fri) and all day Saturday & Sunday Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road
When can you park on yellow lines, resident’s bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am
Pay & Display Meters – Monday – Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays – All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church opposite the hotel)
Blackheath Village (Montpelier Vale) South Row – Turn right from the hotel and take first right by Princess of Wales Pub & pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I happened to visit Blackheath on business recently and the Clarendon was the hotel I stayed in. An old hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is also very close to the Greenwich observatory and well worth a visit. Its quite far from the airport.

However an underground station is very close to the station which will take you to the centre of London in fifteen minutes. Breakfast was the only meal I had and it was good.

The rooms facing the main road can turn to be very hot during the afternoon as the sun shines right in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear PRamesh
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is a little quirky and isn't what I would call your bland hotel, it has some character. I am a regular visitor and have only had one issue over the years, which was dealt with professionally.
Breakfast is always great (try some thing off the menu as well as the buffet) and the rooms have improved over the time I have visiting.
Being situated with a few minutes walk of Blackheath Village there is a great selection of restaurants and bars, also easy access to Central London via train. Greenwich and all its attractions also within walking distance, if you are OK with hills.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy if facing the front, but these have the best views over the heath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Steve C
Thank you for your review. Nice to hear from someone who uses us regularly as It is a good indicator over a longer period of time. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast, we always buy locally and use good products. As you say there are more items especially Kippers and Haddock with a poached egg and hollandise sauce. Very pleased that you have seen improvements also, we have had a busy year with a new lift (finished 1/8/14, new boilers (finished 8/8/14) we we are refurbishing all the rooms again, we have almost finished the Regency wing.
Once again thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I wanted a poshy venue near to the O2 that had free parking and a huge breakfast. I needed something a little more personal than the sterile inner city hotels that have lost something along the way regardless of how they upgrade their rooms. The Clarendon was perfect in every way and I cannot rate the hotel highly enough as it delivered all that we wanted- it was a superb experience from the booking of to the booking out.
Get a room overlooking the heath and accept there will be some noise- the views are worth it. It is a short stroll down town to a variety of great shops and eateries (see separate reviews) and a very must must 20 minute wander across the heath and over to parks, squirrels, deer,Greenwich, the Thames etc etc- hello London!
This is the hidden gem hotel for a romantic break away at a very affordable cost. Get your other half into a riverboat rip along the Thames and you'll know what I mean. Very worthwhile.
But the hotel is central to it all. Well done guys you helped us have a truly wonderful weekend.
BUT fix the shower in room 247.
If you do I will be back for another couple of rooms and this time I will bring the kids.

Room Tip: Some noise at the front is outweighed by the location/views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlymouthDavenDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear PlymouthDavenD
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to read that you had a great weekend when staying here for a show at the O2.
Blackheath is such a special place, and I appreciate it that you enjoyed the essence of the hotel and location. I am also pleased you found parking not a issue, we have just updated our parking information and i have added it to my reply.
I am also pleased to inform you that any water issues should be fine now, as our new boiler and pumps have been commissioned today. A busy week for us, with a new accessible lift, new boilers, refruib of the Regency wing rooms and new sash windows in the Georgian part of the hotel. time for a drink I think.
regards

parking info
Clarendon Hotel & Blackheath Village Parking Information

Hotel Car Park
The hotel has a front and rear car park. Car parking space is limited when the hotel is busy. To get to the rear of the hotel, turn right when coming out of the front hotel car park drive 100 meters until you arrive at the Princess of Wales Pub, drive alongside the pub and take the first right (paragon Place).

Blackheath Station Car Park (.38Ml)
The hotel also recommends guest to use the large station car park, this offers good value and has CCTV. You may also park for more than 24 hours.

Directions to the station car park. (Apcoa)
Drive out of the hotel front car park, turn left traveling down Montpelier Vale, then turn right back up Montpelier Vale, until you see the Crown Pub on your left hand side. turn left alongside the pub, drive around 3 corners until you see the car park.

Village Parking information
Pond Road (.2ml) – You can park from noon onwards to 11am the following day (Mon-Fri) and all day Saturday & Sunday Turn right from the hotel and take first right South Row by Princess of Wales Pub & pond. Then take 1st right into Pond Road
When can you park on yellow lines, resident’s bay & parking meters?
Monday to Saturday 7pm-9am
Weekend parking is free from Saturday 7pm-Monday 9am
Pay & Display Meters – Monday – Saturday 9pm-7am (max 2 hours) Charges - 35p-15 minutes = £1.40per hour
Locations of bays – All Saints Drive (road that goes around the church opposite the hotel)
Blackheath Village (Montpelier Vale) South Row – Turn right from the hotel and take first right by Princess of Wales Pub & pond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just a one night Saturday night stay; standard bedroom had good facilities and clean as a whistle ( although what seemed too be a roof fan droned away until midnight - we were on the 3rd floor in modernish block ). Perfectly clean room.
Good breakfast with plenty of choice ( but please provide yoghurt as usually available elsewhere); big restaurant with cheerful welcome
Good value for a London hotel - lovely position.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room and no need to pay more for a "better class" room as available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Ian C
thank you for your review, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sometime the direction of the wind, does catch the air extraction system, which I am sorry about. With regards to breakfast yogurt, we are serving 2 types plain and fruit, but we serve it buffet style., not pots, so guest may add it to cereals or our homemade muesli. We are just sourcing new locally made jams near Borough Market - London Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here the other week before we set off for a cycle from London to Paris. Everything was fine but during the night I awoke a few times and I'm a pretty heavy sleeper. It was people out side and we could hear every word they were saying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Callum R
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you could hear people talking, we service many London to Paris starts, I myself completing it solo and unaided in July and knowing what is needed. I hope you enjoyed the early breakfast and completed the trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#233 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#412 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#234 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing