We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Situation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #366 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Booked this hotel to be near the O2 (to see The Eagles). Couldn't have picked a better location. Bus direct to and from arena (15 minutes and £2.40 each way). Stop literally just across the road. Hotel itself very good. Bit old fashioned looking. Rooms smallish but comfortable. Breakfast very good though restaurant area very busy whilst we were there and some items ran out or had to wait a few minutes to be replenished. Bar area very nice and comfortable. Prices typical hotel, dearer than a pub. Big plus - staff very pleasant, especially receptionists, extremely helpful. Blackheath is a nice little place. Take a 5 minute walk across heath, just opposite hotel, into Royal Greenwich Park. Beautiful, interesting park leading on into Greenwich itself. Also, if you want to get into London but not drive, go to Blackheath station, 5 minute walk from hotel, take train to Charing Cross, only £5 return, and you are right into The Strand, Trafalgar Square, etc. Highly recommend this hotel but a note of caution. Parking is a bit limited so try to arrive about 11 - 12 am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Derek S
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the O2 arena to see the Eagles.
Sorry you had to wait while we replenished breakfast, we like to cook fresh, but alas this may mean a slight delay. thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. I heard a nice Don Henley track on the radio at the weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was a bit shaken when I arrived, unable to connect with another hotel and found this place my mistake. But the amazing staff quickly turned my mood around when the manager even tried to get in touch with the other hotel which is trying to be paid for the whole of my reserved sty there, and not just the first night... and then took the time to basically give us a tour of the area, and points of interrest, and served us tea in the reception area. Clarenson put the lie to the old saw about bad food in England, as their culinary skills were fantastic. We loved our stay there, and if we can get the bad taste of the other place out of our mouths, we loved the UK experience because of Ken, Linda and the whole staff there too.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the main street despite the view. As there's no A/C the noise was a bt of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Stephen
Thank you for your review, and also thank you for your kind works regarding Linda and myself. We are typically passionate about Blackheath, having grown up here and having the pleasure to work in this great part of London. It was lovely to meet you both and hopefully you may look us up, next time you are in Europe. (Lewis)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here as we had a show at the o2, it was easy to get to with the bus stop right in front if the hotel for a 15 minute bus ride. If you book through the hotel you get a free return bus ticket to the o2.

Couldn't get parking outside so parked opposite Blackheath Station for £6 for the afternoon (parking rates until 6.30 only and free on a Sunday so wasn't too bad really) you can just take a left after the hotel and there are steps going down to the car park so only a few minutes walk. The hotel has very few parking spaces.

Reception staff on the saturday afternoon were not overly friendly, though Sunday morning the reception and breakfast staff were great and very helpful. The room was small but fine, bed comfy though we only had one bedside table which we found strange! There was a wedding which was very loud but we didn't get in until after 11 and to be fair the music was off dead on 12.

We thought the breakfast, which is in with your room price was fantastic, huge choice, including choices off buffet and very tasty.

Short walk to Greenwich through the park.

Overall a decent hotel for the price.

Room Tip: We are not sure but maybe worth choosing the room that costs £10 more - maybe a bit bigger??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aej76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear aej76
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the O2, and that you used the great 108 bus service. Sorry about the late Saturday shift staff, and glad we made it up with the early staff and your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Hotel is in a lovely location and the weather was beautiful, I liked Blackheath and we had a nice time. Room was nice with a comfortable bed, Hotel had a function on and was very loud! We also couldn't use the garden because of the Wedding. Restaurant for evening meal was over priced pub food, so many nice places to eat around I'd give it a big miss. Over all ok but wouldn't eat there again at that price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twinkle256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear twinkle256
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and Blackheath. Blackheath has an abundance of good restaurants. Generally we hold our restaurant menu price at £24-26 for 3 courses, which is not to bad for London. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is not a bad looking Hotel, and is based in a lovely setting overlooking the modern Canary Wharf and London skyline.
However, it has woefully inadequate parking facilities at both front and rear of the property, mostly occupied by non-resident guests taking afternoon Tea when we arrived at the earliest 2.00 p.m. check-in time. Also four of the available parking bays at the front were occupied by contractors vans, presumably working at the Hotel.
As most of the surrounding streets are permit only, you could spend most of your time trying to find an expensive metered space some way away. This presents additional problems if you have a disability which impairs mobility as problems with the long walk back could be compounded by the fact that the Hotel has no lifts, and a warren of corridors and staircases on all levels.
All in all, a disappointing arrival was not redeemed by any notable special features to attract a return visit.

Room Tip: I would ask for one on a lower level towards the back of the Hotel to avoid noise of both general tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deanoxaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Deanoxaor
Thank you for your review. You are correct in that parking at the hotel is limited. Other than of street -There is a very large car park with cctv at the station 4-5 min walk. We have 2 disabled bays at the front and I would hope that any disabled person is assisted if these are full.
The hotel lift is currently being improved so that it opens on more floors and is better accessible, this work should be finished 1st August.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Clarendon for afternoon tea for a hen party and we were in a private room (there were about 20 of us).

As someone who likes going for afternoon tea, it was nice but did not blow me away! The food was nice but it felt like we were put into our room and forgotten. Bottles of wine were left on a table so we had to get up and down to get drinks which wasn't very easy if you we're sat along the window.

Finally it was a beautifully hot day but there didn't seem to be any option to go outside.

As I said, nice but ...

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank hayles_tawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Hales_tawney
Thank you for your review of your Afternoon tea, we can always improve on what we do, and your comments will help us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had sparkling afternoon tea at the Clarendon, with family.

One of our small group has a hip problem, there was no available parking, but one member of staff agreed for us to park behind her car, which was very helpful, thank you.

The hotel felt like an old country house feel, with quaint décor. The toilet is down in the basement, it wasn't obvious where the lift was, and we didn't go looking for it. This was a tad difficult.

The tea was wonderful and the staff warm and welcoming. We started with a glass of processco, 2 towers of finger sandwiches, fruit scones, jam, clotted cream and cakes. we were offered coffee and tea, I believe you could have had a range of teas. I would have liked fresh clotted cream rather than little jars, but that's me being pedantic.

linens were spotless and crisp white.

We had a table right by the window, overlooking the garden, which will be lovely when the weather picks up.

The staff were great, welcoming, helpful, polite, friendly but gave you enough space that you didn't feel pestered.

Whilst there was background music, my only criticism (if it could be called that) is that it lacked atmosphere. This may simply have been because there were only a few groups of people having tea. On the other hand if you wanted a quiet hour or so then it is perfect.

Would I go again? Absolutely, in fact I'm considering taking a group of about 30 of our volunteers there later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear celticcfemale
Thank you for your review of your Afternoon tea. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your day and look forward to seeing you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#251 of 1,081 in London
1,982 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
LUMA Concept Hotel Hammersmith London
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#623 of 1,081 in London
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#439 of 1,081 in London
1,260 reviews
London Guest House
#526 of 1,081 in London
246 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#282 of 1,081 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $111 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing