We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After a Long journey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #347 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After a Long journey”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I must say how happy we were to turn up at the hotel after a long 6 hour journey from West Wales, we were greeted by a very happy receptionist and couldn't do enough for us, The room was acceptable and overlooked the Black Heath green which was lovely to see. As we were using this Hotel as a base to take our daughter to an open day in Greenwich Uni, we were very pleased to find out that it was only a good 20 min walk away, Hotel very kindly allowed us to leave our car in their car park until we were finished, this saved us hassle of finding a convenient car park by the uni. We had a grand stay and we would't have to think twice to stay again, fingers crossed that our daughter gets to go to the uni and we will be staying in the hotel more often, A big thank you to Kamelia who dealt with us both in the evening and again in the morning, very cheerful, friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taff665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Taff665
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that after your long journey the hotel provided a good resting stopover. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, I have also thanked Kamilla.
I hope your daughter gets into Greenwich University, it is a great place. We often use the Uni job shop for recruitment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    551
    247
    84
    45
See reviews for
411
381
87
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Although the room I stayed in was a little tired and the maintenance was lacking having the shower curtain falling on my twice due to a broken bracket and not being able to close the curtains properly due to broken hooks, the stay was fine.

Breakfast was a great improvement on my last visit. The food was fresh, tasty and plentiful.

Blackheath is a great place for choice of food and drinks. If you want to venture further afield as I did for the Excel Centre north of the water, this was quick and easy. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel to North Greenwich (The Dome) and then took the cable car to the exhibition centre, arriving nice and relaxed.

Parking is available for guests but it is limited in the extreme and you can't take any liberties with Greenwich Council as they hate private transport with a passion.

The desk staff were very helpful.

All in all a nice stay. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonAddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Devonaddict
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you could see improvements at the hotel, however I am concerned about the 2 curtains issues and would ask you to email me ken@clarendonhotel.com with your details and room number, as I would like to look into this.
The hotel is currently refurbishing it bedrooms with a great new look, this started last month. We are also into the last month (18 month project) of adding new boilers and water pumps for better pressure, and lastly new sash windows are being installed. I presume you were at the Derby game - if so the 3 - 0 lose at Charlton was not good. (I also a season ticket holder) you must say hi next time you are down, as I know most of the overseas supporters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel has a great location overlooking the heath, 2 minutes from Blackheath 'village' and 3 minutes from station. The service is good and the breakfast is excellent. The hotel itself however is a little dated and would benefit from some refurbishment and some work on its interior design. Bathroom was big but dated and the shower was a trickle. Reasonable value for location but expected more in terms of décor etc. for the price. It's not a bad hotel by any means, it must needs a birthday and bringing a little more up to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Windywest
thank you for your review, I am glad the hotel and local area was enjoyable. We are currently updating our 178 bedrooms, a new designed has been finalised and work has started changing the rooms over. We are also in the process of just finishing a new boiler with new pumps . Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Clarendon for one night whilst visiting the O2 for a weekend festival! Was very happy with the service received, location of bus stop to the O2- with free tickets. Staff were friendly, rooms were a little dated but clean and roomy. Morning breakfast was fabulous excellent selection with plenty of tea and coffee to get you started. Parking limited but managed to park without a problem. Will stay again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Cherylw
thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the hotel is very handy for the 02 arena. Also glad breakfast hit the spot and hopefully set you up for your journey home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Last stayed at the Clarendon 15 years ago and to be honest it hasn't changed very much.
I would stay again but the rooms are dated and quite small.
Location is good with limited parking.
Food was fine but you have loads of choice in a Blackheath Village.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear GM157
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights in family room for us and two kids. The room was clean and tidy as we're the bathrooms. No problem with hot water or shower which worked perfectly. Despite some apprehension having read other reviews, we found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast were great, again with helpful staff.
Great location on the Heath. Very close to mainline station, but a lovely walk down through Greenwich park to the DLR and riverboats.
Would certainly think about staying here again if the need arose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BenSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Bensp
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased your enjoyed your 5 night stay with the Clarendon. We are so very lucky to have Blackheath common outside the hotel and Greenwich Park just a 5 minute walk away. Really happy you had time to walk round and enjoy all of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a one night break at a hotel near the O2 Arena, after weeks of searching I came across this gem of a hotel. Only a ten minute bus journey from the O2 in a beautiful town with plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and tranquil bars.
The young dark haired receptionist (young girl) was very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay and the restaurant staff in the morning were fantastic. It was very busy (I know, I am a Hotel Assistant Manager) but they took it all in their stride and it never became obvious to the guests. Especially the lady doing the Maître D.
Breakfast was buffet style but wonderful.....big mushrooms halved, beans, sausage, all types of egg etc etc.....lovely. Coffee was served in a big pot to us, perfect.
Rooms are clean, if not basic...but still a very good standard, with soap and body wash supplied in attractive dispensing units.
Getting there from Scotland.....Train to Kings Cross, Underground to London Bridge, Train to Blackheath, 2 minute walk to hotel.

Good job

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brucelee440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear brucelee440
Thank you for your review. Ie are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we especially appreciate all your comments especially when written from someone in the industry. I am glad you also discovered Blackheath, it is a great place to visit.
Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#232 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#413 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#236 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing