We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O2 stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #352 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“O2 stay!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Clarendon for one night whilst visiting the O2 for a weekend festival! Was very happy with the service received, location of bus stop to the O2- with free tickets. Staff were friendly, rooms were a little dated but clean and roomy. Morning breakfast was fabulous excellent selection with plenty of tea and coffee to get you started. Parking limited but managed to park without a problem. Will stay again

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Cherylw
thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the hotel is very handy for the 02 arena. Also glad breakfast hit the spot and hopefully set you up for your journey home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    579
    260
    91
    48
See reviews for
435
408
94
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Last stayed at the Clarendon 15 years ago and to be honest it hasn't changed very much.
I would stay again but the rooms are dated and quite small.
Location is good with limited parking.
Food was fine but you have loads of choice in a Blackheath Village.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GM157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear GM157
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights in family room for us and two kids. The room was clean and tidy as we're the bathrooms. No problem with hot water or shower which worked perfectly. Despite some apprehension having read other reviews, we found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast were great, again with helpful staff.
Great location on the Heath. Very close to mainline station, but a lovely walk down through Greenwich park to the DLR and riverboats.
Would certainly think about staying here again if the need arose.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BenSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Bensp
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased your enjoyed your 5 night stay with the Clarendon. We are so very lucky to have Blackheath common outside the hotel and Greenwich Park just a 5 minute walk away. Really happy you had time to walk round and enjoy all of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a one night break at a hotel near the O2 Arena, after weeks of searching I came across this gem of a hotel. Only a ten minute bus journey from the O2 in a beautiful town with plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and tranquil bars.
The young dark haired receptionist (young girl) was very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay and the restaurant staff in the morning were fantastic. It was very busy (I know, I am a Hotel Assistant Manager) but they took it all in their stride and it never became obvious to the guests. Especially the lady doing the Maître D.
Breakfast was buffet style but wonderful.....big mushrooms halved, beans, sausage, all types of egg etc etc.....lovely. Coffee was served in a big pot to us, perfect.
Rooms are clean, if not basic...but still a very good standard, with soap and body wash supplied in attractive dispensing units.
Getting there from Scotland.....Train to Kings Cross, Underground to London Bridge, Train to Blackheath, 2 minute walk to hotel.

Good job

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brucelee440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear brucelee440
Thank you for your review. Ie are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we especially appreciate all your comments especially when written from someone in the industry. I am glad you also discovered Blackheath, it is a great place to visit.
Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wonderful location but the lack of a nearby Tube Station could be a problem for some. Blackheath Village has some nice shops and restaurants and a rail station with links into central London. You can walk down to Greenwich through the parkland and the 108 bus will take you to the O2 where you can catch the Emirates cable-car to the Excel exhibition centre

Reception area gets crowded at times but staff were helpful and courteous. Rooms are OK but the décor is dated and sound insulation is poor. Plumbing is noisy, single glazed windows allow heat out and noise in and the sound of doors banging is too loud for comfort at night. Your chance of a good night's sleep is not helped by an uncomfortable bed and poor quality pillows

Breakfast choices are good and the staff attentive around plenty of tables

All in all, reasonable value for London but looking a bit tired and shabby

Room Tip: Ask for a room with double glazed windows, if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Philip N
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Blackheath and the area. Alas South East London, does not have the underground system, something to do with the soil. Blackheath meaning Black earth - not being ideal. But with Blackheath train station (overground) just a 5 minute walk the trains get you into Central London within 20 minutes. I am pleased to inform you we have started a refurbishment programme at the hotel. New Georgian sash windows, and a new room format is being rolled out. We are also changing our boilers, which should be completed in May. And I can also inform you that new pillars have been ordered. having 178 bedrooms, this does not happen overnight, but I can assure you we are making good progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Perfect location for a weekend visiting Greenwich for my husband's birthday. Free parking outside the hotel and lovely walk across the heath to the park & museums. Very kind gesture of a birthday balloon in the hotel room. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Emma C
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Thank you for allowing us to help you enjoy your husbands birthday with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Paid £85 for single room. The room given was horrifying that dirty and smelly green carpet, dirty toilet and shower room, no hot water, room smell like Public toilet. You can here every noise from outside and inside. This hotel was the worst place I ever stayed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Nitec34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Nitec34
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read to your comments and would dearly like to investigate this further. Could you forward me your details please to ken@clarendonhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#411 of 1,067 in London
1,156 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#239 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#250 of 1,067 in London
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. With Blackheath in front of the hotel, we are of course dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing