We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Ranked #353 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pretty basic hotel. 70's style. Don't think you can get a hotel in Zoe one to for much under £100. Friendly staff - but usually missing bar staff.

The single rooms are small and sweltering in this heat and the hotel has very little fans.

Breakfast is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leetaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Leetaylor0
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    503
    229
    83
    42
See reviews for
366
348
79
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for going to see Michael Buble at the O2 Arena at the beginning of July. It was a hotel that had been booked a long time in advance. We found it a little hard to get to from where we were coming into London from, but it was okay when once we got there and then asked about getting back to where we needed to be to get home the next day!
To some the room might we had might be seen as quite pricey, but for a triple room that included breakfast the next day and also included return bus tickets to the O2 Arena AND for a hotel that was in London it was reasonably priced.
The room we had was lovely, and had all the amenities needed.
If you are looking for a hotel for when you are going to the O2 I would recommend this one, but especially if you are looking for a nice hotel outside of The City, but want something for the London attractions this is a lovely hotel.
I would recommend that you look into how to get there before you travel, especially if you are needing the underground like we did! But other than that fantastic hotel and would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thats-So-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Thats-So-Alex
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that the hotel suited you for your stay while visiting the O2 arena, and you enjoyed your stay. Not sure what your route to the hotel was, we are close to Blackheath Railway Station, which is 15-20 minutes by train from (Central London) either - Charring Cross, London Bridge, Waterloo East or Victoria. Transport for London is a good website for traveling through London. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in a quad room last weekend with my girlfriends. We originally booked this as it was close to the O2 stadium. It is only a short walk from the hotel to Blackheath train station and trains run about every ten minutes into Charing Cross, taking about twenty minutes. Blackheath is a lovely suburb with lots of restaurants and coffee shops so you don't need to go into Central London all the time if you don't want. It's also only a couple of stops to Greenwich which has a good craft market on if your there on a Sunday. The staff were very friendly and even though the hotel was full the breakfast service was excellent. Would certainly visit again especially if your at the O2 stadium.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireUKMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Lincolnshireukm
Than you very much for your review, it was nice to read how much you was able to enjoy all the best bits of this area. As you mentioned Central London, Greenwich with it's craft market - saturday & Sunday is also a great day in Greenwich with many worldwide food stalls and Blackheath with it's restaurants and village pubs and night life.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

With all night bus service from outside the door made the evening so much easier - Excellent value for money as got offer on hotel website - lovely room overlooking the heath, excellent breakfast service, décor a little tired in places. I understand that they are addressing the poor water pressure in the shower. This and the confusion around the advertised free bus tickets for the O2 were the only downsides

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the heath for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jame P
thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay when visiting the hotel for the O2. I am pleased to tell you many upgrades are starting with new room deco, new windows and as you mentioned a new boiler. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pretty from the outside and amazing views of Blackheath, that's the high points.

I had a ground floor room as I'm disabled; bath but no shower. Huge sash windows with secondary glazing means no air in the room with no air conditioning - although front desk staff did find me a plug in fan.

The Wi-Fi is a must as Blackheath famously has no cell reception (although the hotel can't help that)!

The bathroom soap etc is attached to the wall, so sitting in the bottom of the bath taking a shower (no disabled grab rails) it was hard to reach the soap.

The staff were kind and helpful, but the hotel amenities are not up to the standards one expects these days.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMrsNatG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Hippichig
thank you for your review, I am sorry that your room was not suitable, I will take all your comments on board and seek improvements. I am pleased to inform you that new sash window work at the front has started. I am pleased the staff were helpful. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

4 of us stayed at the Clarendon Hotel for two nights on the 3rd and 4th July. This is an old fashioned type of hotel but that is one of the things that attracted us to it. Negatives first.... my wife and I stayed on the top floor, the room was OK but the problem was the shower. Think of a watering can and you'll get the idea. Our friends had no such issues on the ground floor, to be honest, we should have reported this to reception! Positives.....staff were excellent, especially those serving at breakfast, very helpful. This was my first trip to London, the four of us were there for the Michael Buble concert at the O2 and Blackheath Village is beautiful, great village, great weather and a few bars and restaurants to try! Also an ideal base for the O2, 15mins on the bus and door to door, the train station is 5 mins away and great for getting to the sights. Will visit again.

Room Tip: If the shower is working, the top floor has a great view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ian204
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you and your friends enjoyed the hotel and the area whilst here for the Buble concert. I am sorry your shower pressure was not 100%, this will be fixed soon as we are currently installing new boilers and pumps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Firstly let me qualify the comments I'm about to make by the fact that I was part of a group, and groups never get the best service in any hotel. That said the Clarendon simply does not seem to be run for the benefit of it's guests. The front desk were always doing something other than looking after the customers stood in front of them, they were having a chat with colleagues, on the phone, or doing paperwork. There is nothing more annoying than being ignored at a reception desk. Other members of staff were equally unhelfpul.

The building is ramshackle, cobbled together out of several properties, so each room may vary in quality but mine seemed to have no soundproofing and very creaking old floorboards on the floor above and outside the room. All this made worse by the fact the bed sheets were so rough I ended sleeping on top of the bed covers rather than in them.

Whilst the location for lovely Blackheath and Greenwich, and the O2 arena is great I would not want to spend more than one night at a time in this hotel if I could possibly avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChelseaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear chelseatraveller
thank you for your review, I am sorry that our reception team was not attentive to your needs. The hotel was originally, Georgian houses for the ship builder of Deptford (Deptford meaning deepford) then it was 3 hotels and now 1 hotel. The front still has a Georgian feel, and floor wooden floorboards, which we should tighten regally. We will certainly speak internally about this. I am glad you enjoyed the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#407 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#224 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Property: The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
Address: 8-16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel overlooks historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park, the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village with its many special shops, cafes and bars to enjoy, the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite with facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar. Parking - the hotel has a front and rear car park, however these do get filled. For alternative parking, there is street parking or the Blackheath Village train station car park, which has CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing