We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Disgusting Dirty Hotel”
Review of The Bentley London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bentley London
Ranked #235 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I am almost at a loss to descibe just how disgusting the level of cleanliness at this hotel is. The accompanying photo's will show you why I am writing such a damning review. Never in all my years of traveling have I had to endure semen stains, snot, pubic hair and carpet stains all in one room! Cleanliness is the key area for any hotel and a failure of this level is simply not acceptable. Management made efforts to appease me by changing rooms, however even the room given to me still had a badly stained headboard, a burnt lampshade and heavy stains on the carpet. This was perhaps an improvement from my first room that had dried snot on the wall, dried semen stains on the valance and pubic hair in the bath! All this for STG250 pounds a night! The Bentley Hotel in Harrington Gardens is filthy and as such I would strongly recommend anyone thinking of staying here to book elsewhere. Management spoke to me on my departure, which oddly enough was at my request a late check out and agreed to refund my costs. Whilst this is a good gesture, it is not the point - checking in to a hotel at this level one expects the very best levels of service and cleanliness. When one is reduced to having to see the stains of previous love making or having to ensure one's own head does not touch a filthy stained headboard, then I am sorry, no amount of management apology is acceptable and the hotel deserves the bad review it is getting.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for The Bentley London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 800 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

Its certainly a 5 Star Hotel in regard of room and location. Some "minus-points", since the room was not available when checked in around lunch time. For a 5 star hotel I found it interesting that the concierge when asked did not want to bring the luggage to the room once it was available. Also the breaksfast service was a bit slow. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Bathrooms are certainly a highlight being very luxurious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlin901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

If you believe it is all about location, than this hotel is perfect for you. Two minutes away from Gloucester Road Tube station with direct subway link to Victoria and LHR, it is easy to get to. The rooms were quite nice and up to the standard one would expect. A poor suprise was the breakfast which was below Hilton standards and certainly far below five star standard. As a side remark: As a HH Diamond I never ever got an upgrade at his property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raweimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The Bentley simply had no personality. The location was fine--set in the heart of Kensington a few blocks from the tube. The room was large enough with a flat screen and usual accessories. However the service was extremely impersonal and only ok. The bright spot was the breakfast room. Its back to the Baglioni for me I am afraid.

The hotel is a Waldorf property but some of the literature in the room said "Hilton" for some reason. Anyway not a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The hotel is in a very quiet location by South Kensington and the staff was extremely nice and welcoming. I arrived a few hours early and they had a room ready for me and also upgraded me to a larger suite because of my Diamond Status. The rooms were very well sized, bathrooms were clean and spacious, and the beds were very soft.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunster86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I agree with the pervious reviewer-the bed is a travestry. Pillows too big for the cases(do they think we would not notice?), bed hard as a rock(almost like sleeping on the floor) and towels frayed. The room decor was lovely and the bathroom gorgeous, but, frankly, at a hotel the bed needs to be inviting. This was not. At a hotel of this caliber, these basic "amenities" should be a given. Will not stay here again unless beds are redone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likeluxury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Having read some of the reviews about The Bentley I was unsure what to expect, but clearly the people who wrote the bad stuff are just obsessed with ultra modern interiors and none of the cute English tradition.

The Bentley takes you back in time somewhat and I have to say I loved my stay! Think British palace and traditional stately home decor and you've got this place down to a tee. The over the top, almost opulant decor and furnishings make this feel like a step back in time. Lots of stately home colours in the bedrooms and a very grand scale. No pokey bedrooms like many city centre hotels.

I stayed during the height of the ash cloud problem, so the place was deserted, with none of the booked customers able to fly in. I get the impression there were a lot of American guests and it's easy to see why they love the place as it really is cute and English!

The lobby area is light and bright and my standard room was huge, with a comfy chair and footstool, ample desk and huge bed! The spa looked relaxing and well cared for and the gym seemed okay, although with no windows and no airconditioning, it's probably better to get a day pass to a local gym such as Fitness First which is right up the street [turn right out of the hotel].

I was booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast package and the food and service in the restaurants was fantastic. In fact I was the only person taking dinner, so had the entire team at my disposal! I thought the food was good and the service great, they explained what was included [everything but the wine] and I had a lovely meal.

The bathroom was also huge and had a seperate shower and jacuzzi tub. Everything was spotlessly clean with plenty of room by the sink and a huge mirror.

I only stayed for one night and did spend a lot of time in my room working and there wasn't any noise or problems. The only thing I would say is that the internet is quite pricey. I don't see how any hotel can charge for this service anymore it's quite an insult!

I booked the rate online at the Bentley website and that seemed to be the cheapest rate available.

If you need a good value, but upmarket hotel with all the trimmings and close to a tube line, then this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportychick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,072 in London
677 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,889 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,072 in London
3,335 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#143 of 1,072 in London
866 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#44 of 1,072 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley London

Address: 27-33 Harrington Gardens, London SW7 4JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in London
#89 Business Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
#182 Romantic Hotel in London
#368 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $271 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bentley London 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley London is located in Central London. Our combination of delightful Deluxe bedrooms & Suites provide guests with a luxurious choice for their residential requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bentley London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bentley Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Bentley London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing