We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but Noisy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #475 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We flew down to London city airport which was a short 10 minute drive to this hotel. £9 in a taxi. The staff were friendly and helpful. They were not English. The room was fine. Your bog standard budget hotel room. The bed was comfy, there was a telly and the window opened to let in air. However when entering the toilet, there was a foul smell coming from the drains. When using the sink in the morning to brush teeth etc, it took a very long time for the water to drain away (the plug was not in). The smell lingered in the toilet throughout our stay. In the evenings, we were woken several times as outside our hotel room there was a fire door and when someone went through this door and let it swing close behind them, which you do, the door made a very loud bang. This went on all through the night so each night we did not get a full nights sleep the 4 nights we stayed here. The wifi was very slow also. The location of the hotel was very good. Close to the DLR which took you into the centre of the city where you could catch connecting tube lines. There was a tesco express across the road from the hotel also which was handy. We had a great time in London. The only thing which let this hotel down was the noisy fire doors. They should invest in some soft closing hinges.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank YoungKC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Young,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL Docklands for your recent stay in London. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your trip but obviously disappointed to read that you encountered issues with noise from a fire door. Please be informed that immediate and corrective action is taken to solve this issue and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do not expect our guests to enounter such issues and we will always be happy to assist with any issues encountered during the stay of our guests.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a hassle free experience and a good night's sleep.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a concert at the O2 Arena and we stayed at the Ibis Hotel. The price was very good as we booked several weeks in advance. The rooms are spacious and clean and we had a pleasant view of the Victoria Docks. The choice at Breakfast is extensive with a very good selection of hot food and cereals or continental style if you prefer. Only a five minute walk from Victoria Park underground station and very handy for the O2 or the Excel Centre. Cannot fault the reception or the layout of the hotel. Happily recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: There is achoice of a view of the O2 or the Victoria Docks. Either is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM0580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL Docklands for your visit to the O2. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the location and thank you for the recommendation.
I am also pleased to read that you took advantage of our early booking offer for your stay.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here on business for one night. Check in was smooth and the room was standard Ibis. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom pod was clean.

The bar menu was pretty expensive but this is London. Free Wifi and computer use was really convenient and the buffet breakfast was brilliant!

Very convenient for ExCel Centre and good service, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Pete,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL Docklands for your recent business trip. I am pleased to read that the ibis product met your expectations and that you enjoyed our service and buffet breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Bolty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert at the O2. You can get the Emirates cable car direct to the O2 & this is literally a 2 min walk from hotel if that. Unfortunately it's not open when concerts finish so we tubed it back. The hotel was clean & comfy, would use again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank wrightlinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for choosing the ibis London ExCeL-Docklands for your visit to the O2. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the amazing views of London from the Cable Car.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked a double and a twin room last December when I bought 4 Robbie Williams tickets for his concert at the 02. (A christmas present for my husband and two adult daughters). Since booking I have read a lot of the reviews and here is our unanimous verdict on the hotel.
We drove from Bournemouth on Saturday morning, it was quite an ordeal driving through London to get to the hotel but we have decided definitely worth it. The car parking was very secure so no worrying about the car overnight, even though it was £16 it was worth it.(You have to get your ticket stamped in the Ibis and pay at the reception of the Novotel)
Check in was very quick, we changed one of our rooms in order to have a view over the Royal Victoria Dock, with no problem at all. The staff were polite and very helpful with directions to 02 and all our other queries during our stay.The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and all you could possibly need for a short stay. The shower was excellent.
We had a fantastic lunch on the veranda of the Novotel next door to the Ibis, what a great view (the lovely weather helped).
Travelled to the 02 on the Emirates cable car which was a new and exciting experience for all of us (cost about £17 for four and takes roughly ten minutes). The return journey we made by taxi, it took about 45 minutes due to the volume of traffic, cost £22. Back at the hotel there was a great atmosphere at the bar area.
Very comfortable bed and no noise. Check out super fast. All agree we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank janvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Janvic,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay at ibis London ExCeL Docklands.
It is always an encouragement to receive such positive feedback and I am pleased to read that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed a hassle free stay.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future for a visit to the O2 or ExCeL.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night the staff were very pleasant the room was as expected for a budget hotel think this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel where the bathroom is in effect a porta loo, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable ,had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good considering it was an all you can eat buffet style. The only thing I found to complain about really was the extortionate cost of the car park and the fact that we were not told at the time of booking and although parking is advertised on the website it did not mention a charge, I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and have never ever been charged for parking let alone £16 for one night.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Juski55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank your feedback following your recent stay at ibis London ExCeL Docklands. I am pleased to read that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed a good night's sleep and our buffet breakfast.
I have taken note of your comments about parking prices - the charges for parking at the adjacent Novotel for residents of ibis is in line with that of other hotels in the area including the public car park and the rates offered is in line with that of other hotels in the area including the public car park by the entrace to ExCeL.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#578 of 1,076 in London
1,529 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#274 of 1,076 in London
2,310 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,076 in London
1,884 reviews
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#355 of 1,076 in London
339 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing