We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #484 of 1,072 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst catching two shows at The O2 in April.

The location of the hotel is really excellent, being only a 3 minute walk to two DLR stations, or to the Emirates Airlines Cable Cars.

My room was spotlessly clean, with a nice comfortable bed, good facilities, & a nice bathroom area. Check-in & check-out were both very quick & efficient, & the staff were very nice & helpful. Beers were also pretty cheap in the hotel bar, which was good!

I will definitely be looking to stay again when visiting London in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmJayTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to share your feedback and compliments to the team. I am happy to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
There are newer reviews for Ibis London Excel Docklands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Easy to reach and perfect location for the O2, (3 min walk along the riverside to the Emirates cable car which takes you straight to the O2). Fantastic view from the room as we were on the Thames side of the hotel as I had requested a 'nice view' when booking. Clean room, comfortable bed, and an odd pod like very clean bathroom! Bar prices great! Didn't have any food at the hotel, however there is a nice little eaterie right opposite.

Room Tip: Ask for the nice view on the river side
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kad1969_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Ibis London Excel- Docklands. I am delighted to hear that we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great location and price, ideal for the o2. Staff were friendly and room was very modern and clean, although noise from other rooms in the morning was annoying, the rooms are not sound proofed. Plane noise could also be heard in the room. We chose not to eat at the hotel as the breakfast selection was basic, so had breakfast at the diner across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in London. I am pleased that the team took good care of you. We hope to welcoming you back very soon again and tasting our new Menu at the Fogg's Restaurant.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

the hotel was perfect for visiting the o2, DLR is a 3 minute walk away, 5 minute walk to emirate cable cars which gave a great view. The hotel room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, the bathroom looked like it belonged on a spaceship - its more of a pod!! I didnt try restuarant so cant comment, easy to get to and plenty of parking...would stay again....great price for £49 reception staff helpful too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BognorSplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am happy to hear that we have met your expectations on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your time to share your experience and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is very good and provide very nice services. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The price per night vary between 69 and 135 pounds per night. I'll recommend booking before arrival there.
The big minus is the lack of free internet in the lobby. The internet price was too expensive, 4.5pounds/h or 9.99 pounds/24h. I'll recommend the pub next door where the wi-fi is free and very good and U may use the 10 pounds for 3 beers. Cheeers !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the docklands
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us and your compliments to the team.
I am happy to confirm that shortly we will be having free internet in our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

For convenience, this hotel couldn't be better. My mother and I were using the hotel go to the O2 to see P!nk and it was ideal for getting to and from the venue. The rooms were just what you'd expect for the price and standard of hotel, basic but very clean and simple. The bathroom was an experience in itself with a shower 'pod'!! I enjoyed it but not great if you are claustrophobic or... On the larger side!

Now for the service.
We were checked in by a young lady with a name along the lines of something like Patryanka. She barely looked at us, didn't smile, was very abrupt and not very informative: the only thing she really told us was the breakfast times (can't remember the start times but it was available until 10). I was disgusted with the check-in being an experienced receptionist myself but luckily the room went some way towards redeeming the hotel.

On return from the concert we had a comfortable and peaceful night's sleep and couldn't hear the trains or anything from our room.

Breakfast. Now that's a whole other story. What a horrible system! Almost the entire hotel were queuing at around 9.30 which is when we got there and the queue was out the door of the breakfast room. The lady checking people's room numbers was trying to clean tables and get the place organised while we were holding up the queue waiting for her so that we could get checked off on the list. A helpful hint for her would be to walk down the queue with the list to get the worst of the line marked off so that she can go and clean without having lots to think about.

The food itself was pleasant but nothing to write about. The kitchen is in the centre of the area where you get your food from so people are constantly saying "excuse me" so that they can replenish the food: although this was done more than enough, it would have been better if they could yet to the other side of the hot plate and serve the food that way, but it was up against a wall.

£11 for one breakfast is also a bit steep by my standards anyway, let alone in such a busy setting.

Check- out was by a nice young man who was more friendly and interested to hear how the concert was once he saw our tee-shirts.

I will no doubt be returning but some of the staff need customer care training and the breakfast bar layout needs revisiting.

Also our visit was over the 27th and 28th April 2013 my phone won't let me select it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaLLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for your feedback. Following your descriptions and observations, it looks as if though you stayed at the ibis Styles ExCeL and not the ibis London ExCeL-Docklands.
Can you please contact me on H3655-GM@accor.com in order for me to ensure that you have feedback on your stay. Many thanks in advance and kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fantastic from the moment we got there! The reception staff were lovely and really helpful. The hotel was spotless throughout especially our room. It was in a great location only 10 mins from the O2 by air line, which is literally seconds away from the hotel or the DLR, about a min away, took 10 mins also to the o2. We had a fantastic view from our room of the O2 arena and the river. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom was brilliant. A really good stay at ibis and we will always stay there now whenever we go to any event at the O2! Would recommend to anyone who wants a nice comfy stay in London in spacious rooms for a great price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Laura Girdauskaite
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#565 of 1,072 in London
1,494 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#277 of 1,072 in London
2,284 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#262 of 1,072 in London
1,865 reviews
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#373 of 1,072 in London
315 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $91 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing