We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #476 of 1,076 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is on the same building as the Novotel with different entrances. This hotel is more basic than the Novotel but still the same a good choice. Location is good. The DLR stations are 5 minutes walk away with connections to central London within less than half an hour. The Emirates cable car to the O2 is also less than 5 minutes walk away. The hotel was very busy but noise was minimum. There are not really many restaurants in the area and the restaurant in the hotel is quite basic. We stayed here for a few nights which was fine. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are fine travelling to and from London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Angus,
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to inform you that we are in our final stages of our bar, restaurant and lobby refurbishment. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience our brand new food and beverage offer with dishes and snacks from around the world. On your next visit, you may want to consider Westfield Shopping Centre in Stratford or the Olymic Park which are only a short ride from the hotel.
Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Spent 5 nights at this hotel a few weeks ago since I had a show at the Excel to attend. First off the hotel is located just a 100 meters away from the entrance to the Excel. Secondly, currently the Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment project which means that there is a very small reception area, no bar or restaurant area and breakfast is served in the adjacent Novotel. With regards to breakfast this was quite good and what I was particularly impressed was that on the first day I asked for an espresso and got it and every day the waitress would come up to me to ask if I want an espresso.
The rooms are on the smallish side and could do with some more storage space however the bed is very comfortable and the addition of a kettle, tea and coffee make a nice additional touch. The bathroom is on the smallish side however still serves its function. Wi-Fi connection is available and at the cost of £20 for a week.
If you are going to London because of a fair at the excel then I would suggest staying here, however if you are going to London for touristic purposes then I would suggest finding somewhere else since the location of this hotel is quite outside from the city centre. It takes almost 40 minutes from here to Picadilly Circus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Trevor,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit with fellow travellers. I appreciate your understanding and cooperation during the refurbishment which is now is in it's final stage. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future in order to experience our brand new public areas. Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, clean, comfortable bed. Weird bathroom cubicle/unit; shower temp was either scolding or freezing. Wifi website unable to accept VISA/Mastercard payment (even on different browsers).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattTMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear MattTMS,
I am delighted to read that the staff looked after you during your stay with us and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future in order for you to experience our refurbished lobby, bar and restaurant. With regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for an event at the Excel Center which is nearby. There were some renovations being made, which meant that the lobby area was tiny (and had no chairs/sofas), and their restaurant was closed. However, breakfast was served in the Novotel which is in the same building, so that was fine. Front desk staff were very polite and friendly.

The room itself was fine: clean, comfortable beds, bathroom where you can turn around without banging your elbows on the walls. More towels would have been nice - I was sharing with a friend and it seemed like the towels were meant for one person only.

Wifi was available but not free to use, but that seems to be normal for London hotels.

A good experience overall. I would stay here again if I was going to an event at the ExCel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flamedash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Flamedash,
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our temporary solution working with the Novotel did not inconvenience you. And I am delighted to read that the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience our brand new public areas. Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here for a trip to the O2, its an ideal location, especially with the new cable car across the river.

There are renovations at the moment, but this seemed to only effect the front desk, bar/restaurant which we weren't planning on using anyway! But we were offered a discount on a meal in a nearby hotel if we wanted.

The rooms are large enough and any noise from renovation work couldnt be heard from my room.

Everything was clean and the room was what you would expect from a budget chain, but i so prefer this brand to some of the others!

Room Tip: Would recommend for a trip to the Excel or to the O2, about 15mins from Central London on the Tube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Sarah L,
I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that the hotel met your expectations. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future in order for you to experience our brand new bar, restaurant and lobby/reception area. Kind regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The reservation website did not advise there was a full refurb of all common areas taking place so it was a building site with minimal access to reception and the lifts. Rooms and corridors also in need of facelift but facilities worked fairly well and service was good in general although impossible to understand some of the reception staff whose English was not up to standard.
Use of car park at Novatel next door very good although ibis said the fee was for 24 hrs when in fact it is valid for whole of the following day. £15 a fair price then.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggaeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I have taken note of your comments and I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future to experience our brand new public areas. With regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is a new buget hotel near to Excel Center with a limited but good service; had dinner in its restaurant and the burguer was excellent as well as the brownie. Really decent room and bathroom, some noise coming from heater.
Recommended to go alone or couple without children as it is 30 minutes from central London.
Breakfast not so good, and lots of young people groups.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapito10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for positive feedback following your stay in December. The hotel bedrooms were recently refurbished including the installation of the new beds for the ibis network. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With regards, Brian Opauka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#578 of 1,076 in London
1,529 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#274 of 1,076 in London
2,310 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#261 of 1,076 in London
1,884 reviews
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#356 of 1,076 in London
339 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $88 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing