We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big let down this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ranked #467 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A big let down this time”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Avoid rooms near lifts and over the side alley by the hotel - So much noise we hardly slept a bit and this room was given out despite the hotel being full. We have stayed here before and not had any issues but smokers making noise outside hotel combined with the lifts made for a horrible stay this time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlandfordBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to read that you encountered difficulties on this stay with regards to noise. As you mentioned in our comments, the hotel was fully booked. We will always do our utmost to change rooms whenever possible, and I apologise for the fact that due to our very high occupancy this was not an option during your stay. We shall follow up on unnessary noise from our guests smoking outside late in the evening. Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback and I do hope that despite this incident we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    825
    438
    125
    91
See reviews for
267
647
155
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinhamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here on Thursday 25th Oct as we was going to the O2 the same night to see John Bishop. Hotel room and breakfast was lovely. Will sure return here in the near future. Thanks a bunch Hotel Ibis :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Vicky227,
Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After lots of internet searching to find a hotel close to the O2 Arena this hotel seemed like a good match as the price was £59 for a room. I wasn't aware you had to cross the water to get to the hotel, we chose the cable car which did provide amazing views over London, sad to say these finished at 8pm, we left the O2 gone 11pm & the queue for the Tube was miles long, we opted for a Taxi & paid £20!! However the hotel was good value, friendly staff & the best breakfast I've had for ages...there was so much choice, it was advertised at £7.50 but if you book in advance it was £5.00 well worth the discount. All I can ask for is a bath & some proper spoons...plastic with hot coffee doesn't work. We would stay with the company again but probably in the City

Room Tip: Listen out for the planes as London City airport is close to the hotel...light sleepers take note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the ibis product and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels in the network in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to The Excel centre, where we were attending a large event over last weekend.We stayed for 3 nights Fri – Sun inc at a total cost of £188 for a twin room which included breakfast.When booking I asked for a quite room which got on the side on the building. We found the beds were very comfortable and I suffer from back problems.
The room was clean and comfortable though smaller than you’d find in a Travelodge. We had a TV and the usual tea & coffee facilities.
The bathroom, was like a space Pod, there was no bath and the whole thing looked like it was pre built and just lowered into place when the building was built, but it did the job and there was plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the shower.
My only criticism was the lack of choice at breakfast, for cooked breakfast only bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled egg and continental only one cold meat and cheese, yogurt, grapefruit segments, no fresh fruit, though there was muffins. Plenty of tea and coffee and but for a £5 buffet I didn’t think it was bad value.

We only encountered a slight problem on Monday morning at breakfast, we went down about 7.30 am and found a seat in the restaurant ok, it was busy and they had run out of cereal bowls, milk and spoons and it took over 10 mins to get the attention of a member of staff to sort this out. There was one poor sole on her own trying to do everything, then one of the coffee machines ran out.
At this point a lot of tourists, decided to come for breakfast all at the same time and people were having problems finding somewhere to sit and the food was running out. Another member of staff had arrived by this time and was clearing tables but no one was checking the coffee machine or the lack of certain foods. They were just totally unprepared for the deluge of people.

On Sunday night as it was raining we decided to eat in the restaurant our bill came to £33 for 1 nachos, 2 chicken fillet burgers, 1 portion of onions rings and sweet corn and a large diet coke which I thought was reasonable for London and the food was good.

Overall, very cleanand the staff friendly. We had an enjoyable stay and found it good value for money and excellent location for the DLR and Excel centre. It ticked all the boxes for what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at ibis London ExCeL-Docklands. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay despite the issue with your breakfast experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention with the reassurance that action will be taken.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay at this "budget" hotel. For the level of star it is,it was excellent. The staff were very courteous and I had no problems even though I didn't have a pin for my credit card. They just checked my credit card and debit card and didn't need to take a deposit or charge from it. Maybe because I had 5 nights paid in advance there,certainly no fuss like one of the earlier reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schafner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff ensured you had a hassle-free stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The positive....it's location. Right next to Excel. I was here on a business trip and stayed for two nights. It was more like a youth hostel. The rooms were tiny. The beds couldn't have been a single.....weren't big enough to have been. No air conditioning.....wasn't turned on in the Winter! Bathroom is a pod....drains stunk. Reception area ok. Breakfast laughable....for a start had to put food on a saucer size plate. Would I stay here again? Never.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that the ibis product did not meet your expecations. Thank you for bringing your observations to my attention. The feedback and comments from our guests is important to us. All room have recently been fitted with new beds. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the issues you encounted with the temperature in your room as well as breakfast.
With regards,
Brian Opauka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend break to London in June 2012, we struggled to find a hotel that was within budget and available as we were booking fairly late.
This ticked all the boxes, nice location with lots of shops close by, a few bars and restaurants and ofcourse great for the DLR with links to the underground.
Staff were very helpful and friendly, our initial room was changed as the key wouldnt work, they have a policy of sorting things out withing 15minutes and this was done very prompt.
Rooms were very clean and had everything you needed, from a tv, tea and coffee making facilities to a hair dryer. Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisexcel, General Manager at Ibis London Excel Docklands, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Laura A,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations during your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With regards,
Brian Opauka, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#567 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#299 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Excel Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Excel Docklands

Property: Ibis London Excel Docklands
Address: 9 Western Gateway | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Green Hotel in London
#300 Family Hotel in London
#327 Romantic Hotel in London
#340 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Excel Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis London Excel-Docklands with views over Royal Victoria Dock is ideally located 1 minute from the ExCeL Exhibition and Convention Centre as well as the Emirates Cable Cars to the O2 Arena. Only 25 minutes from Central London and within a short ride from London City Airport, Canary Wharf, Westfield Stratford shopping centre, the Olympic Park and historic Greenwich. Enjoy our traditional and contemporary dishes and snacks at our welcoming bar and restaurant. Paying parking available.Free WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis London Excel Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor London Excel
Ibis London Excel Docklands England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing