We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Ranked #382 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed just 1 night on October 3rd 2012. Not the best part of town but the hotel was clean, the room spacious. They even provide a choice of pillow firmness. One downside, drop the water softener, you can't tell when you've rinsed off the soap!

Room Tip: Get a taxi here after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Paul F

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 985 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend and I stayed one night whilst in London to watch the Paralympics.
Booking on the website was not possible as the website kept shutting down at the point of payment, so we had to phone to make the booking. However once we got through it was a simple process and the member of staff was polite and helpful.
One excellent facility is that you can park in the secure hotel car park for 24 hours for just £10, which is pretty cheap for parking in London, although the hotel is not the easiest place to drive to from outside London.
Location wise once there is just few minutes walk from Limehouse DLR Station and it is easy to go from there to anywhere in London via transport networks. The immediate vicinity is not exactly inspiring as the hotel is surrounded by modern boring box type buildings and next to a concrete factory.
Check in was simple and quick, and we were given 2 keys to the room on request. The initial female receptionist was polite and helpful - however not long after checking in we returned to reception and asked for a taxi to be booked, the second female receptionist was absolutely incompetent and failed to do this...and despite working in a hotel in London ENGLAND, did not even have a basic grasp of the English language !!
The room (twin) was adequate and very clean, with TV, hairdryer, and tea and coffee making facilities provided. I was also able to obtain extra tea and coffee from reception without extra cost. The window to the room could not be opened - THIS IS A FIRE RISK IN A SECOND FLOOR ROOM - and would breach any LFB fire regulations.
The beds were OK, mine was quite comfortable although my friend found the mattress too soft. The en suite had a good power shower and the actual shower cubicle was quite spacious to stand in. The complimentary products were in larger sized 'Dove shower creme' pump dispensers attached to the wall in a rather 'public toilet soap dispenser' style - something I find very unhygenic - this is NOT GOOD and looks cheap and nasty!
That said the towels were clean, soft and fluffy, and felt nice to use.
Breakfast was included in the price but was a huge disappointment...there was hardly any choice. I was absolutely appalled to find that the only constituents of an English breakfast available were scrambled eggs and sausages.... There was NO BACON, or beans, or mushrooms, or other types of eggs, or anything else one may associate with the full English.... This is pretty abysmal for a London hotel.
As it was we paid a discounted rate for this hotel room....had I paid full price I would have been asking for a partial refund on account of the atrocious breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure windows open before accepting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmonkey1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Travelmonkey1000,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. It is a great pleasure to read you found our parking services, hotel location and comfortable beds commendable. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the hotel staff services, room accommodations and breakfast options served. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location for the excel centre and Olympic park. We stopped 1 night and found the staff very pleasant. The room was nice and comfortable with everything you would expect, we had a family room and found it very spacious. The breakfast very basic, not a lot of choice but great value as it was included in the price of the room. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fongicoombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Fongicoombes

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much.

I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Found a great deal for 5 nights at this hotel and after readin the reviews on here decided this was the hotel for us and what a good choice we made. Only a five minute easy flat walk from the lime house tube station. We dropped off our bags early and was pleased to find that luggage storage was very secure. On our reservation request we request the top floor, a family room and hypo allergenic bedding. When we came back to our room later to find to our detight that we were on the top floor (7th). Had the fa,ily room and bedding as requested. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was large and comfy, the bathroom was bright and a good size. Overall we were very pleased. Maid service was daily which was very nice, breakfast was ok, a little samie, but it was ok. If i had 2 small things that I feel would have made it slightly better in room. Would be a separate toilet light, so if you got up in the night you don't get blinded by the main bathroom lights or wake up your partner, my other room Improvement is to leave more milk cartons in the room,
Finally hope this helps as it made our commuting better, get the dlr to tower and then walk for 2 mins to tower hill tube, this station is not as manic as bank and gets you straight onto the district and circle line. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthapanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear samanthapanton

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for weekend just past, one of the better HI Expresses. All do what they say, however a recent experience in Leeds Armouries provided poor breakfast, expensive bar, staff not so friendly.
However this one put HI Express back up high in my estimation, staff very friendly, good breakfast and bar prices similar to most other HI Expresses.
As mentioned in a previous review it can be hard to get your bearings coming out of the DLR station (maybe the council could add to their lampost signage the hotel - they do in other locations!!).

Rooms have double glazing to help with road noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beer_guzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear beer_guzzler

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Your recommendation for directional hotel signage outside Limehouse DLR is duly noted.

I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Travelling with family to visit the Olympic Park this was a one night no frills pitstop. The room was clean, well maintained and equipped exactly as expected. Location is the key selling point of this hotel with the DLR station being only 5 minutes walk away. We arrived late and left fairly early but our stay was entirely free of hassle. The hotel was apparently full but the friendly and efficient staff had no problems keeping everything running smoothly. The only drawback compared to a premier inn (and even a travelodge) is that the family room was provided with a double bed and a fold out double bed which was neither as comfortable or convenient for our group as the typical premier inn double plus two singles. This isn't a complaint - it is exactly as described on the website - but its worth being aware if booking a family room.

Room Tip: extra bed in a family room is a fold out double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elegant_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Elegant_AI

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel so much.

I will certainly share your comments with the team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

First time I've stayed here and in this part of Canary Whatf area. Arrived late as I drive from other side of London, empty car park attached to hotel do parking no issue. Called a local take-away as recommended by the hotel...food good but minimum order £10, lot of food for one person.
Room clean and tidy, comfortable bed, free wifi voucher and drink token as a platinum member of Priority Club.
Would stay again as the DLR takes you into the main part of Central London very easily.
In summary good value and would use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExLimehouse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear PMACCA

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Butler
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse

Address: 469-475 The Highway, London E1W 3HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#354 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $90 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse hotel, 5 minutes' walk from Limehouse DLR and 5 miles from London-City Airport. The modern Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse lies just outside the City of London and the Congestion Charge zone in the East London district of Limehouse. It's just a short walk to Docklands Light Railway(DLR) links for 20-minute journeys to central London and London-City Airport. The Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse's 4 meeting rooms can be tailored to meetings for up to 20 people. You can hop on the DLR train for 5 minutes to Canary Wharf and Bank stations, and get to exhibitions and conferences at ExCel exhibition centre in just 13 minutes. There's wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Drive just 10 minutes to The O2 arena in Greenwich for live music and entertainment. You can buy a London Travelcard to get to the city's sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing