We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick trip to london to see a show”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #271 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quick trip to london to see a show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

we travelled 1st class to london as 1st was not a lot more than 2nd. taxi from kings cross to hotel . very good reception staff. up to bedroom which was superb. magnificent bathroom. an unusual little dressing room was along a little corridor. we took advantage of cocktail offer one free each. pina colada ,beautiful. by this time (2pm) we set off to piccadilyto see jersey boys. i am hard of hearing so i missed some but my wife enjoyed it. we then had a meal at jamie olivers just beside theatre. back to hotel. reception staff .have you enough, milk, tea, coffee, shampoo etc. nice sleep . ready for breakfast 8am . special offer full english only £5 extra instead of continental. left hotel for kings cross 11am. one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in. Price around £170 for the two of us. damm good value.

Room Tip: was not there long enough to judge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    439
    202
    55
    35
See reviews for
140
733
51
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed in Malmaisons at home in Scotland, and this Mal doesn't disappoint.

It's boutique like most things in London but for £258 for the night without breakfast, the price certainly isn't boutique. But the bedroom is phenomenal and we loved it.

Quite quiet even at the weekend, we slept soundly in comfy luxurious beds. Wonderful shower room although the shower is a bit odd to use.

Food was nice, friendly staff. Great stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bimbo2Baggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

OK hotel which does not stand out in any particular way. Services at the check in were good, and the room was of good quality. While staying there the internet in the rooms never worked which was annoying. Other than that - if you need to find a hotel near Charterhouse Square you might as well stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemming_Meineche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at Malmaison for a last-minute business trip because there were no other hotels available. It was very nice and the staff were great, but I don't think it's really a place for the single traveller. The rooms are obviously geared up for couples on a romantic getaway given the stylings and furnishings. The restuarant was pretty good without being spectacular but was a bit on the pricey side (London for you, I guess).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a fantastic hotel! After doing a lot of research my boyfriend and I were really looking forward to our stay at the Malmaison, it looked great on the website and the reviews were very good. We went with high expectations and it really delivered, in fact it was better than we imagined! The room (204) was stunning, everything in immaculate condition, funky wallpaper, and huge bed, we slept better than in our own home. The rain shower was beautiful and once again the bathroom was immaculate... It was as If we were the first people to stay in that room, it was untouched.
The continental breakfast was lovely, lots of fresh fruit to choose from, good quality cereals and pastries - we ate until our hearts content.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. I can honestly say we did not want to leave and although we only stayed one night we came away feeling so relaxed and refreshed - just what we needed.

I can't see how anyone can fault this hotel, we were so impressed and we will 100% be returning (perhaps as soon as next month for our Anniversary!).

Thank you to all the staff at the Malmaison (including those behind the scenes, especially housekeeping!) you made my birthday very special, see you soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola C, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jess,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon, any excuse!
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a gem. Hidden away. Loved it. Boutique hotel with great atmosphere and amazing customer care. The room was plush luxury with a fab waterfall and rain shower. Well stocked minibar and espresso machine. The bed was comfy and bedding luxurious. The breakfast was fabulously delicious, pity about the tea though. Thanx for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annelien m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola C, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Anneline,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was taken here for a surprise weekend for Valentine’s day back in 2013. The hotel is really cool, funky, and serene at the same time. Our room was completely covered in white muslin, a really romantic feel. Complete with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. We stay here for 1 night. The staff were helpful and the Breakfast was delicious! Location wide it's so close to St. Pauls and the barbican, and with the central line at St Pauls, really easy to get into central London. Bars, pubs etc. around this area seems to be shut over the weekend, I guess this area is mainly surrounded by people who work there in the City, so the weekend is quiet, we found it hard to find a bar to kill some time. Saying that, the hotel is fab. About a year after we went for dinner in the restaurant and it was lovely (we used a taste card - unsure if the restaurant is still listed on there).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreBarker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola C, Manager at Malmaison London, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review following your 2013 Valentines weekend with us. Last summer we went through a complete hotel refurbishment so I do hope you will find another opportunity to come back and stay with us to try the new London Mal.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#189 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#103 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#442 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Property: Malmaison London
Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#196 Family Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing