We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Base for Sightseeing”
Review of Malmaison London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison London
Ranked #225 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in early October, at the end of a two week tour that had started in Budapest, so we arrived kind of road weary. However, we were able to walk all the way to the hotel from the train station where the Chunnel ends with our overnight suitcases. Ditto for being able to walk to the train station to pick up the metro link to Heathrow (which is a huge savings compared to taking a taxi) on our last day. But the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from St Pauls Cathedral where we picked up the Hop-on Hop-off bus for two days. W found our renovated room to be first rate. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and melted some of the road weariness away. The showerhead was of the rainforest design and we found it to be quite soothing. Most importantly we never had any issues with the temperature of the room or the shower water. Front desk staff were quick to answer all our sightseeing related questions and helped set us up with the metro. For those that like a pint of ale, there are several great Pubs nearby to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ravenfans-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here last week for one night. We were aware that refurbishment work was going on, and were prepared for a little disruption. We arrived late and were upgraded to a better room, which was unexpected. The room was well furnished, but we were left wondering whether the refurbishment work was completed. No towel rails in the bathroom, no way of getting the steam out of it without leaving the door open, and no shaving point or mirror, andhe inside of the wardrobe was covered in white dust - we only realised it when we put our clothes on the next day. Breakfast the next day was OK, but we did wonder where they source their eggs. Tasteless and very pale yokes - surely they could get better eggs given what they charge for breakfast?

Room Tip: Wait until the refurbishment work is completed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully, this was a work trip and someone else was paying. At almost 400 pounds a night for a standard room, this hotel was hugely disappointing and I wouldn't want to pay more than 150 pounds a night. The room is poorly laid out (no towel rails, no bedside light switches), the shower was cold on the last morning, the toiletries were absolutely appalling and the fire alarm was faulty and went off three times one night. On the good side, the staff were nice, the breakfast was good and the location was handy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitaljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a review for a stay in May 2011.

I had stumbled across the Malmaison, whilst on a walking tour of 'secret london' a few months ago, and had been instantly been drawn to its white exterior and its position within the pretty Charterhouse square, next to a former mental asylum. I was aware it was a sister to the Hotel Du Vin stable; and i had heard only good things about these so i was looking forward to a nice stay for my birthday. We were taking advantage of a special offer by which one spends £75 in the brasserie and the room is just £42 (including VAT)

We arrived into Moorgate station, which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, with Smithfield meat market right next door. In hindsight we should have got the tube to Barbican station, a mere 3 minute hop.

On entry, we were impressed with the sultry décor, deep purple and black dominating, with evocative artwork adorning the walls, which was in stark contrast to the pretty street scene outside. The check-in was excellent, the unobtrusive small talk seemed genuine.

The lift and corridor continued the sultry look, and things were looking positive - until we opened the doors to our standard room. All the good work so far had been washed away in a moment. The scuffed walls and unloved furniture were unexpected, and the rich colours which greeted us in the lobby were replaced with uninspiring white and in the bathroom, a downright nasty red patterned shower curtain. We started to unpack; we were still getting a great deal of course; A nice meal in my favourite part of London.

Then, the noise started - the noise which was to ultimately save our stay. From the bathroom, behind the walls, came a continuous squealing, the water pipes I presume; which lasted for an hour and became impossible to ignore and started to irritate. I popped down to reception to make them aware; and without hesitation or any interrogation, we were promptly upgraded us to a room on the lower floor. It was handled very well by the staff and from that moment our stay was exceptional. The new room was so much better, large and well designed, and a lovely big bath. The rack rate on the new room seems to be only £25 more - it was worth double our original.

The bar and restaurant were fantastic; attentive and knowledgeable staff, and a colour scheme every bit as dramatic as the hotel lobby. The food was very good, the extensive wine and cocktail lists a pleasure to browse though.

A great stay all in all, and at a great price; but would be advised to pay that little extra for a superior room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnravelledTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been staying in Malmaison hotels across the UK since 1997 and this one (when the refurbishment is finished) will be a feather in their cap.

Our room on the 6th floor was great value for central London and very quiet. Yes, the hotel is being refurbed, and the persistent smell of paint and glue can give you a headache after a while, but this is all transitory and will hopefully be gone by the next time we visit.

It's very well located, just a few minutes from either Barbican or Faringdon tube stations. There are some superb places to eat and drink, again within walking distance if you do want to get away from the paint smell.

If you fancy trying an unusual cocktail, ask for the Black Forest Gateau martini - I first had these at the Leeds Mal and they are superb...but on a 'secret cocktail list', so I'm letting you in on the secret!

We'll definitely use this hotel again when we need somewhere central and good value to stay in London.

Room Tip: Higher is always better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was incredibly confy. Great hidromassage shower. I feelt like in baby cot in that bed! And we couldn't believe that we found great wine and massage oils ... By the way, 5* staff, thank you Marta and Georgina.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nieves9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked the Malmaison as we have stayed here before and also many of the Hotel Du Vin/ Malmaison Hotels across the UK. We are regular travellers and Malmaison fulfills our requirements very nicely. Yes there is some refurbishment taking place but it was unobtrusive and did not in any way detract from our enjoyment of the weekend.

Our daughter was celebrating her 21st and both our rooms were upgraded for free and we were given vouchers for a free cocktail which made her feel quite special. The bedrooms were as usual beautifully appointed, luxurious bed linen and fabulous monsoon showers as well as top spec TV and free wi-fi which is a bone of contention for many guests in other hotels - well done for leading the charge.

Breakfast was fantastic each morning and cooked to order rather than buffet style.

Overall another fabulous stay and we will certainly be back. Shame the Staff couldn't do anything about the rain !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalkanglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#189 of 1,077 in London
902 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#390 of 1,077 in London
705 reviews
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#260 of 1,077 in London
566 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#638 of 1,077 in London
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison London

Address: 18-21 Charterhouse Square, London EC1M 6AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#266 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $154 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison London 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison London Hotel London
Malmaison Hotel London
London Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing