We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Crown Hotel
Ranked #410 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Facilities”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Crown Moran Hotel and we can say that it is a very modern and clean hotel with excellent facilities. The room size is much bigger than many other 4* hotels we have stayed in the past in London and all furniture is modern and comfortable. The reception service is excellent and the breakfast is very tasty. The only consideration is the distance from the center of London. We found easier to use the buses that stop in front of the hotel in our daily trips to city center. The 189 takes you in about 25-30 minutes to Oxford Circus and the 16 takes you in about the same time to Marble Arch. Both buses can take you to Kilburn underground station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEORGEKARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear GEORGEKARAN,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in London and do hope that you consider us for your future visits.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    507
    178
    80
    63
See reviews for
356
448
55
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Crown Moran in June. Lovely spotlessly clean room beautifully furnished. Breakfast excellent with super service from young waiting team. Had a romantic meal in the Pan Asian restaurant. Can't fault

Room Tip: Higher floors best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11JaneD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear 11JaneD11,

It is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially that we were able to help by providing the perfect setting for your romantic meal.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

London hospitality and service was way below other European (popular!)countries at the same price! I knew about it being expensive and all but I didn`t expect a 4 star hotel with an old (worn out) scratched furniture, squized room, towels no longer white but grey, not so clean bathroom and no fridge. Location was horrible, a true melting pot with little dirty Indian, Arabic cheap shops, a smelly and crowded area. It took us up to 50 - 60 minutes by bus to reach civilization every day!

The hotel choice was very important to us and people`s wonderful reviews convinced me.
I can only assume we got a poor room and that the hotel`s got waaay better ones.

Food was ok, but not spectacular. A reasonable choice of products. A good stay.
Wouldn`t return here.

Room Tip: Ours was a non smokers room on the 4th floor, not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinaRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear CorinaRoman,

I am genuinely surprised by your comments and naturally am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. As you mention yourself this is certainly not typical of what the vast majority of our reviewers report, but I do realise that everyone has slightly different expectations and the title of your review sums this up.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you're prepared to compromise on location, this hotel is a find. It's an interesting concept linking a big Victorian pub with a new-build hotel by means of an atrium which accommodates the hotel reception.

Our room was spacious, well fitted out, clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with the hot breakfast cooked to order and a reasonable cold selection as an alternative. A big appetite is needed to do justice to the full Irish.

The hotel doesn't do chilled very well. The air con in our room was ineffective, the real ale in the bar was warm and the white wine served barely chilled. Breakfast items such as fruit juice and yoghurt were served unchilled.


There is nothing much appealing about the area around the hotel unless you like shops and restaurants of every ethnicity except British. However, it is a ten minute walk to the Tube at Kilburn or the London Overground almost next door at Brondesbury. There are frequent buses from outside the Hotel to the stations.

We stayed here to go to Wimbledon and the off-peak fare from Brondesbury to Southfields using an Oyster card was a mere £1.50.

We would certainly stay again as the hotel was much better value than many Central London hotels at £220 for two of us for two nights bed and breakfast. Other reviewers have mentioned cheaper rates for late bookings but we needed the certainty of an advance booking and there were no vacancies when we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Dear LesChesire,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be a good compromise offering better value for money than central London prices. It is particularly nice that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I do apologise that you experienced a few issues with temperature, but am pleased that this did not impact upon the enjoyment of your stay.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suomi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and very silent,you did't heard noting from the outside(well ,my room was at 6th floor).Check in and out was easy and fast.If you book your breakfast advance you'll get it little cheaper( btw breakfast was very good).My bathroom was littlebit wornout (shower)and i did't get my aircondition work but otherwise,excellent.Connections to London city center were very good.There were many bus lines direct from the hotel corner,one via Abbey road and Baker street( handy if you're a The Beatles or Sherlock Holmes fan).Nearest tube line is Jubilee(straight to O2 or Wembley)in Kilburn stations( 5 min. From/to hotel via busses).Lot's of restaurants and small croserys nearby the
hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DukeWSuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear DukeWSuomi,

Thank you for all your kind comments.

I was pleased to read that you found us to be convenient for your stay in London and we hope to see you again when you next visit.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent hotel in the middle of London. Staff were very friendly, the food was good. Our room was very well laid out, nice bathroom and all very clean.
Would return without any hesitation.
The only little gripe would be the uht milk for the coffee horrible stuff !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear nuci1,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It sounds as though you enjoyed everything but the UHT milk.

While for obvious reasons we can't leave fresh milk in the rooms, please feel free to ring reception when you next visit as we will happily deliver a small jug of milk to your room.


Regards

Josh Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights this week; the stay was mostly fine. Rooms average but clean. Nice pool. Location not the best.

The problem we had was with the hotel's handling of your card details and their complete lack of customer service. On arrival the hotel took a card for security. What they did not explain was that they would take a deposit from this card which was around £150 MORE than the total cost of the stay. No word of this!

I found this out at the cash point on day 2 of our stay when my available balance was considerably less than expected.

This itself turned out to be an inconvenience but one we could cope with. However, this was not the end of the problem!

On check-out I questioned the deposit and was greeted with a lot of shrugging, patronising smiles (bordering laughter) and excuses. "This should have been explained" - Well it wasn't. "We haven't taken the money just reserved it" - well if I can't use it it's as good as taken. Very unhelpful young lady.

When I explicitly asked if the difference would return to my balance on check-out I was told "yes". The answer should have been "No, but we are going to take the full amount again!"

So today is the day after I have checked out and my bank balance is currently down OVER DOUBLE the total cost of the stay!!!

Poor communication skills from the staff and/or some outright mistruths have resulted in a number of problems for me. For this reason I would not recommend this hotel and I would definitely not book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick_Moran, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Michael T,

Thank you for your comments.

Although our authorisation policy is explained in writing at our reception desk we always try to verbally explain this to guests as they check in and I sincerely apologise that this did not happen on this occasion.

The alternative for guests not wishing to leaving an authorisation is to take full payment upon check in, which we would have happily done, but of course likewise you would certainly have not had access to these funds then.

Having checked our records I can confirm that we charged you only once and that all outstanding funds were returned to your card upon check out. Any delay in returning this to your account would lie with your bank.

I am genuinely sorry that this breakdown in communication seems to have ruined what would have be a perfectly enjoyable stay for you.


Regards

Josh Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Palm Hotel
#523 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#565 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Hotel Xanadu
#490 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#193 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
The Kings Head Hotel
#631 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Crown Hotel

Property: Clayton Crown Hotel
Address: 142-152 Cricklewood Broadway, London NW2 3ED, England (Formerly Crown Moran Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in Cricklewood North West London is an ideal base for touring some of London’s well known attractions. The hotel is strategically located for speedy access to Marble Arch, Wembley Stadium and Arena, Brent Cross, and M1. Offering spacious guestrooms and suites, conference and leisure facilities.The Crown Moran Hotel offers a wealth of dining options.The stylish and super tasty Panasia Restaurant serves a fusion of contemporary Pan-Asian specialties and with sharing and fixed price menus it is perfect for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. The excitement of fine Pan-Asian cooking in a wonderfully traditional British pub setting. The Crown Lounge and Living Room offer a fantastic array of classic dishes including fish & chips, great steaks and desserts to make your mouth water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Moran London
Hotel Crown Moran
Clayton Crown Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing