We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crown moran.A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Crown Hotel
Ranked #411 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“crown moran.A great experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and what a beautiful experience.The staff were so welcoming to the children.The breakfast was excellent.Thae room was extremely spacious and the bus stopstraight outside the door.We have stayed in lots of other London hotels with no comparison.We will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    507
    178
    80
    63
See reviews for
356
448
55
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the 1st November for two nights staying room only. The hotel is easy enough to find 10 minutes from Kilburn Underground station, you could easily walk or just get a bus from outside the station which would take 5 minutes and drop you right outside the hotel. I personally wouldn't recommend walking through the town to get to the hotel as I found the area quite scary, a lot of strange characters about. Apart from that the area is fine plenty of things to eat if you like takeaways, pubs etc, a couple of curry houses things like that. The hotel was very nice, very well presented, modern with a traditional feel. The front of house staff were fine, smooth check in and were shown to our room, the rooms are spacious and clean with plasma tv, tea and coffee making facilities etc, a few things I was disappointed with we're the fact that we had no complimentary bath robe even though on the superior room description it had said they were included, we had also requested a quiet room. And a quiet room it was not! We were right next to the swimming pool so we could here people swimming and shouting and jumping in and out at all hours. Then on the second night we were right next to the conference hall and there was an event taking place so all that could be heard was banging doors and people shouting until 1am which was very disappointing. The rooms were also very hot, and the air condition did not function very well, just blew the hot air around which also made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. We did not eat at the hotel so I couldn't comment on that. The menu choice looked good and we would have ate there if we have had more time in London. All in all I found my time at the crown Moran pleasant a few complaints but not enough to rate it a 3star. I proberly wouldn't return as I think the hotels location is too far out of central London and I didn't like the feel of the area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spenb1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Room was clean and spacious albeit very basic and, personally, found the bed to be uncomfortable but otherwise no complaints.
Bath is a nightmare to get in/out of if you are not very tall and definitely not geared to people with mobility problems.
Transport links are good and staff friendly and helpful.
All in all to be recommended but overpriced.

Room Tip: arooms facing the main street are noisy so ask for a room facing away from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Crown from the 29th to 31st of October. The hotel is very spacious and our family room was excellent, modern and clean. It is a seamless join between an old Victorian pub and a modern up to date building. The hotel is situated at Cricklewood and I read reviews about it being too far from the city, but transport from outside the hotel is excellent. We found the best route was buy to a day travel pass for zones 1 and 2 (£7), then get on any bus outside the hotel (they arrive every minute or two) take a short trip along the main road to Kilburn Underground Station, then cross the road into the station and access London from there. The buses however do go to all areas of London, we went all the way in to the city on the bus the first day and crossed the famous Abbey Road zebra crossing, passing the Sherlock Homes museum. The swimming pool is much bigger than I expected and free to use, changing rooms are modern and there were lots of clean towels. I have only only slight niggle, breakfast !! Make sure your booking states whether breakfast is included. We were told that our booking didn't include breakfast but once we disagreed a quick chat to reception cleared the matter up, with no argument. Breakfast was a bit chaotic, lots of pots on tables, but the staff were superb, extremely polite, very apologetic and we only had to wait a few minutes for a table to be cleared before we were seated. Service once we were seated was very attentive. I think that the hotel should increase staffing levels over breakfast. The pub is comfortable and served a decent price of beer. We didn't eat at the hotel because on the main road outside there is every type of restaurant imaginable. KFC, McD, BK, Wetherspoons, Costa coffee, and a host of ethnic variations. We walked a few yards down the road and ate in Khana, a small indian restaurant, it's a bit tired but the staff and food were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room overlooking the pool, we had room 46, it overlooks the pool, great if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at the Crown Moran on business for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Lovely big room, plenty of work space, free in-room wifi and nice bathroom. Really nice leisure facilities and all included in the cost of your stay unlike some hotels in London.

The gym is fairly small but has most things you will need and the pool is nice and good for fun or a serious swim. The hotel reception and the room were all very clean and well maintained.

I was room only so didn't eat at the hotel but upon checking in the reception staff do try and sell you breakfast and dinner which I didn't really like. It's £15 per person per day for breakfast - you can get a nice breakfast in a local cafe for half that !

The staff in general were pleasant although my battery was flat in my room safe and this was never sorted despite being reported to them.

The location is about a 20 minute train journey from St Pancreas and is about 5-10 minute walk from Cricklewood station, so it's fairly handy. My issue was with the area, I was stopped and asked for money 3 or 4 times and walking with a laptop you do feel a little uneasy at night so take care and keep your wits about you.

But it's a very nice hotel and one I would probably return to.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are huge, get one of these if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend break and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and spacious and the overall appearance of the hotel was of the highest quality.

The public transport links are excellent with a bus stop outside the hotel and the underground at Kilburn a 3 minute bus ride away.

The staff were helpful and friendly and the Crown pub next door was cosy and sociable.

Only critisism was the chaos that ensued at breakfast times. Hot buffet running out of food and a lack of juice glasses and no available tables for the hotel guests was unacceptable and needs to be addressed.The quality of the breakfast could not be questioned though as it was very tasty.

Really enjoyed our stay though and would recommend it as an excellent base for exploring London.

Room Tip: Probably best to go for a room facing away from the main road which has almost constant traffic on i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorMeldrewFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

In a short 4-days vacation with family we found this hotel to be a good compromise between facilities, price and being near town. Lots of busses going by from/to downtown (around 40 min; buy the Oyster's card for various options and economic fares) or then by tube. The Hotel itself is very clean, a good swimming pool and excellent gym. Excellent service with free wireless in all the Hotel, very kind staff, a nice pub and live music on the week-end. The breakfast was the weak point ;) The buffet was short of food and the waiters try to do their best running from place to place to get the orders…something that could be resolved with a well furnished buffet. They were however impeccable in arranging a huge early breakfast on the day of departing at 6 o'clock for 5 people, even with a very short notice. So, go for this hotel if you want to be near town and still with good and clean conditions in a very nice and quiet hotel. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. And order the taxi to/from the airport by Alan, ask in the reception, much nicer and cheaper than normal taxi (70 vs. 125 £ to Stansted).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamasoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Clayton Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Crown Moran Hotel - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Palm Hotel
#521 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#566 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Hotel Xanadu
#482 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#194 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
The Kings Head Hotel
#633 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Crown Hotel

Property: Clayton Crown Hotel
Address: 142-152 Cricklewood Broadway, London NW2 3ED, England (Formerly Crown Moran Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#360 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in Cricklewood North West London is an ideal base for touring some of London’s well known attractions. The hotel is strategically located for speedy access to Marble Arch, Wembley Stadium and Arena, Brent Cross, and M1. Offering spacious guestrooms and suites, conference and leisure facilities.The Crown Moran Hotel offers a wealth of dining options.The stylish and super tasty Panasia Restaurant serves a fusion of contemporary Pan-Asian specialties and with sharing and fixed price menus it is perfect for those wanting to try a little bit of everything. The excitement of fine Pan-Asian cooking in a wonderfully traditional British pub setting. The Crown Lounge and Living Room offer a fantastic array of classic dishes including fish & chips, great steaks and desserts to make your mouth water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Moran London
Hotel Crown Moran
Clayton Crown Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing