We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Kensington From Which To Explore London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Location in Kensington From Which To Explore London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights (June 29-30) with an EF Tours group. Like the other reviewers found, the hotel is in a quiet neighborhood a little over a block from the Earls Court Tube station, which makes it convenient to most of London. There is a nice little bar in which to have a drink after a long day of traipsing around London. Kensington also provides a nice area in which to get out and stroll -- Harrod's is not very far away. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast our group had was very good. If I were to return as an individual tourist, I'd certainly consider making this a base from which to visit London.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable rooms that were spacious by European standards
  • Disliked — Getting to your room, if it's across the skyway, can be confusing the first few times.
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    1,397
    314
    79
    40
See reviews for
1,574
930
115
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

We went RUNNING from the nearby Derby Hotel and spent two nights here during our post cruise tour of London. In fact we actually slept three times here since the good people at the front desk let us check in at 6am as we fled our dreadful room at the Derby a block away. Thank god as we hadn't had a wink of sleep at that hotel so were thankful to snooze a few hours at the Premier Inn before beginning our touring late that morning.

The hotel is clean and basic, There is no room safe or refrigerator but the place was quiet and the bed very very comfortable.

It's a nice area, with some shops and pubs, a Subway sandwhich joint, and a few fast food restaurants all within a block from the Earls Court Subway station. Very convienient for touring around London.

One thing about this location, there are two areas that you may be housed, in our case it was accross the street from the lobby accessable via a Street sky walk. A bit confusing, but after a few wrong turns we got good at finding our room and our way in and around the hotel. Our room was nice and quiet, we slept very well.

Oh ya, we paid £ 84.00 per night, not cheap, but by London standards for a clean comfy room a relitive bargain.

I'd recommend the Premier Inn Kensington, and there excellent and professional staff.

  • Liked — Convenient location, clean basic room where we got a great sleep. oh ya! professional staff!
  • Disliked — That we didn't book it from the get go and lost a nights sleep at the Derby next door our first night
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights last week - booked at short notice as were unable to stay with friends near Wimbledon as planned. Most decent looking hotels in this price bracket in West London were booked up. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Room, breakfast and service all excellent for the price. Location great for tube out to Wimbledon tennis

  • Liked — Quiet cool room. Heating/air conditioning adjustable.
  • Disliked — Not many towels
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst going to see a day's play at the Queen's tournament. Arrived on a Sunday afternoon and despite a little trouble finding the hotel (due to forgetting to print directions) arrived with not too much trouble.

This hotel is one street away from the Earls Court tube station so easy access to central london. It was about a 20 minute walk to Queens Club which was ok as it was a lovely day.

We had an evening meal in the hotel which was good and not too expensive considering. Didn't eat breakfast but prices seemed reasonable - be aware there are several options in the hotel as opposed to the 1 offered when booking online!

The room was a good size, clean and tidy complete with flat screen tv.

A final positive was the requirement to have a room key to access the lifts - a nice touch of added security!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

We decided to stay at this hotel after seeing great reviews on tripadvisor. We wanted decent accommodation that was good value. We booked & paid for a 3 night stay on the Premier Inn webpage – we also opted for the full ‘all you can eat breakfast’ which was an extra cost but seemed worth it. Paying for the room online was great because it meant we didn’t need to pay for anything when we arrived/left the hotel – the bill had been all taken care of months before we got there!
When we got to the hotel – we LOVED it! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bed was AMAZING – Premier Inn even have a good night sleep guarantee! I can see why – I didn’t even want to leave the bed to sightsee! Bathrooms are a good size, they even have a bath in there for a relaxing soak after a long day. Tea & Coffee are restocked when the rooms are made up and kettles are cleaned regularly. The breakfast – WOW – I would recommend to book the full breakfast as part of your stay – Service was fantastic in the restaurant, with staff always checking that the food was fine etc. And the food – the BEST breakfast I’ve ever eaten! We were in an abundance of cereals, eggs, Heinz baked beans, meats, bread, yoghurt, fruit juices, museli, and even porridge (made to order) plus so much more! We also ate at the same restaurant for dinner a few nights – which was also an exceptional experience. The hotel is within walking distance to Earls Court tube station which we found very handy.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to stay in London – it was reasonably priced, food tasty, staff friendly and helpful and in perfect position. And I must say, we really did have the best night sleep we’ve ever had at that hotel – if only we could take the beds home! I cant wait to stay there again!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sputnik_euro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I stayed here in October 2007 with my mother and sister for 4 nights. We booked directly through the Chain's reservation lines and got an excellent price of 80 Pounds a night for a family room.

The hotel entrance has a 24hr manned reception with a few chairs and no lobby (made no difference to us). There is a small pub which we did not visit. Breakfast is not included in the price but 2 children eat free with a paying adult. They define children to be anyone under 16 so my sister was able to eat free. The breakfast was good quality and varied and you can choose between continental and full. Breakfast room was pleasant and staff were very friendly during all of our visits.

The room we got was situated on the opposite side of the street (the hotel is divided into two buildings on both sides of the road). To get to that part of the hotel you have to cross an over-road walkway. It is impossible to exit or enter the hotel directly from the second building as the doors were locked so it is necessary to use the walkway. This makes your way into and out of the building longer but It does provide a sense of security (as the main entrance is always manned). We didn't mind the bit of walking but the walkway itself was very poorly insulated. Some of the nights during October were quite cold and it was not pleasant to walk through there without a coat on. This was perhaps the only (minor) issue we had during our stay. I read complaints about the train noise in other reviews but we experienced no such problem, you might want to ask for a room on this side.

The room itself was very satisfactory. It was roomy and we had one double bed and an additional sofa/single bed. There was an optional third mattress on the floor which we did not use. Beds were comfortable and sheets were clean. I even liked the purple theme of the "Premier Inn" design. Our window faced directly into the other side of the hotel which meant we had to keep the curtain closed most of the time to avoid staring into other people's rooms. Bathrooms were functional and in good shape. The entire room ,including bathroom, was very clean and well taken care of. Housekeeping did a very good (daily) job as well. If you have children or otherwise need to use the TV, note that there is a very small selection of channels.

Location was even better than we had anticipated. It is a very short walk to the underground and we felt safe walking in the area after dark.

For a very low price (in London terms) we got a well located, very clean and even pleasant room. Definitely a good find which I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Value, Cleanliness, Comfort of room
  • Disliked — Connecting walkway
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

I stayed at the hotel from 16th to 18th June 2008. The hotel was very easy to find, a 5 minute walk, if that from the tube station.

The Hotel:

Check in was a breeze, we arrived before 2pm (the check in time) and they had a room all ready for us so we did not have to wait around. Our room was on the 5th floor, in the main block and I have to say, I wondered where all the bad reviews on this site came from. The room was newly refurbished - or it seemed it - with a huge bed, flat screen tv, seating area, dressing table and a kettle etc.

The bathroom was bigger than mine at home, and was all new with a white suite and the shower was great, high enough for me which is a bonus as i am 6ft tall and in most hotel rooms the shower head only comes to my shoulders, which makes it hard to wash my hair!!

I could not find one thing wrong with our room. There was no fridge but vending machines in reception and I asked at the bar for a bucket of ice, which i got. The room was air conditioned too.

We slept well and were not disturbed by trains or the road, like some people have complained about on this site.

At the end of our trip, we checked out at 12 and the hotel has a luggage room so we could still enjoy the sites without carting our stuff around before our train. They can keep your luggage there untill 8pm.

The Bar and Restaurant:

We did not eat at the restaurant, but we glanced at the menu and the prices did not seem too bad at all. Drinks at the bar were what you would expect for London.

Overall:

The hotel is a fantastic hotel, clean and modern, with friendly staff in a great location. At £95 per night, I have not got anything to complain about at all! I definatley would stay here again!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Address: 11 Knaresborough Place | Kensington, London SW5 0TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#149 Family Hotel in London
#174 Romantic Hotel in London
#209 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Kensington (Earl's Court) is practically made for mini-breaks, with almost every major attraction within easy reach. From dinosaurs to designer names, football stars to incredible shows, there's something to keep everyone happy. Be inspired at the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums or Buckingham Palace. See the Blues in full flow at Chelsea's Stamford Bridge Stadium. Or catch a show at the Royal Albert Hall or the West End. Our friendly team will help you get the most from your stay and provide everything you need to recharge the batteries: spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Kensington Hotel London
Premier Inn Kensington
Premier Travel Inn Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing