We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Queens Hotel
Ranked #933 of 1,063 Hotels in London
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

for 1 or 2 nights i would say this is a very good hotel. clean and tidy, very comfortably beds,
food very nice. staff could not do enough for you always around to help you even at 1am the en-suite was a bit small wash basin very small shower had lots of pressure but you should not let this put you off, as i would stay here again because for the price and what you get the hotel does need modernizing but it is clean

THIS IS A 1 OR 2 NIGHT HOTEL if i was staying for longer i would want the more comforts of home and pay a lot more for it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockinmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    48
    41
    84
See reviews for
45
57
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's not the first time I stay in this hotel. I like the location, not far from the tube stations and bus. Restaurants and food store. The area is quiet. The service is friendly. The rooms are all been refurbished.
But don't ask for a "hello" or a smile when you go to take your breakfast... That's the only thing negative this time. But I will stay again in this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Celine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The staff are nice especially Ms. Anne, Mr. Chris and Ms. Norah and breakfast is not bad. But the problem is the bed sheet I stayed here one week they did not changed it even once, ensuite bathroom they should clean it more, stains around and carpets in the room needs cleaning. Housekeeper needs to do their job better. Location wise is good still Zone 1 to 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Over 3 weeks, I was in and out of London, UK and had booked and pre-paid at the Queens Hotel for 7 days (Oct), 2 days, 3 days (Nov). The staff and the owner are very nice, but this place is pretty hellish and for the price you can find something better in zone 1. What's wrong with it? I almost have to say, "What's right?" My first room was depressing as hell, up a couple of floors (no elevator in this old Victorian b&b which I thought would be 'charming'). The room was tiny, the lighting beyond dim and not working, and there were bed bugs. They couldn't move me right away because they had no free rooms so I slept with the lights on--not fun. Then they moved me to a new and large room with a double bed, window ground level, and it was much better. No bugs. However, the plumbing here is horrible. Three different days, no cold water from the bathroom sink or shower. I had to shower with boiling hot water--what an experience! Another day no water of any temperature in the room so no shower, just a quick wash with bottled water. One night the smoke alarm went off twice in one night. The breakfast was a mass of greasy food (full English) and I cut out most of it quickly, sticking to egg/bacon and the hideous and only White Toast (no other choice, as if we really are in the Victorian era). The basement where the kitchen is (not where my room was--most of the basement rooms are cut off from the kitchen/dining/laundry area--) is permeated with an old-grease smell and feel, all the way up the steps to the lobby. The lobby is the only place you can get wifi, and that is iffy and on a couple of occasions didn't work at all. One day they forgot to make up my room but as I was leaving the next day for good, I didn't care. Half the lights were burnt out in the first room and the second room and in the hallways. Only one outlet to plug in your computer or tablet in the lobby. The conditions were really unpleasant, to put it mildly. BUT, this is a 2 Star hotel and I was trying to save money and a friend told me a mutual friend's family had stayed there for a reunion and liked it. I'm still shaking my head over this. I've read that the hotel is 'close' to the Tufnell Park tube station, and 'far'. It's a walk up a hill, then 4 blocks to the tube, 3 short, 1 long. There is a bus to the tube and from the tube to Anson Rd. The area is pleasant and safe and there are a couple of good restaurants near the tube and take out places, and a short walk to the Kentishtown tube with plenty of restaurants, so the location isn't the problem. This hotel runs on a shoe-string, I think. The owner is a nice fellow, explained to me about international travelers and bed bugs and assured me of a better room (which I got) and offered me a discount, etc. The staff is quite nice, some very quirky, but this is the UK and I expect quirk. The building exterior is lovely, undergoing reno. But it's the interior that needs work. New sinks and showers are great but if there's no water, or no cold water, they are useless. I'd love to see this hotel get up to snuff as it were. They're all trying. They are all nice and pleasant. But this is not a hotel I will ever go to again, or recommend, and it's sad that good people are working with a turkey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on a Saturday, before going to France. The room was perfectly comfortable and clean and in good decor, as was the communal shower room. Not the lap of luxury but I would not hesitate to stay here again. The staff were helpful in giving advice for places to eat and booking taxis for the next day. Breakfast was quick and well cooked.

Room Tip: Used late rooms for this. Wouldn't necessarily pay more than the £60 for two for the night. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicnac2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The reason I am giving this hotel five stars is that we were felt very welcome when we arrived by the staff in reception, in particular the young lady with the shoulder length brown hair and the guy with the glasses who fixed our tv! Okay the decor is tired, not 100% but people seem to forget it's a budget hotel! The place looks like it's getting a face lift. Breakfast was nice and included in the price. I went to this hotel 10 years ago and returned, the owner I recognised from last time but don't think he recognised me but I remember him and his father making us welcome years ago and it felt like home... So strange! Please give it a try, not perfect in decor but perfect service. Thank you!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Porthos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at Queens recently, had a triple bedded rooms which was fine, TV & coffee making facilities. Bathroom was functional, shower, basin & toilet. Breakfast was OK served very quickly. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Paid about £100 for three persons inc breakfast in London, which I think is good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
1.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#663 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Kings Hotel
Five Kings Hotel
#841 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corner House Hotel
Corner House Hotel
#744 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#76 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#529 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 33 Anson Road | Tufnell Park, London N7 0RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queen's Hotel London is set in a beautiful Victorian double fronted building offering all travellers simple, budget accommodation on a quiet residential street, just 5 minutes walk from Tufnell Park Underground Station. Hampstead Heath, a public park with 3 open-air swimming pools, is 1 mile from the hotel and Camden Market is only 1.5 miles away. Regent's Park is an 8-minute taxi drive away. London's central attractions can all be reached within a 15-minute Tube journey. If you are looking for budget accommodation close to the city of London you need to look no further. Please note: Children below 18 years old must be accompanied by an adult. Pets are not allowed in the hotel. Guide dogs are welcome but always required an advance notice for hotel staff. Please on arrival have your photo identification ready and complete the registration form providing your identity card / passport details! Acceptable forms of identification are: passport, driving licence, ID card. Photo identification is required when you pay by debit or credit card. Failure to present the required documentation will result in being refused to stay and a cancellation fee will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing