We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent”
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arran House Hotel
Ranked #358 of 555 London B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff was willing to help with my requests and the breakfast was good. Rooms are small, and bathrooms look like one of those boat cabins (no tiles, just plastic covering), however bathroom was clean. For location you get, the place is decent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BubaMara2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    218
    110
    62
    63
See reviews for
181
122
91
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really? Where are the positive reviews are coming from? I understand that not all rooms might be the same, but the bugs in the breakfast room where plain to see for every guest!

The room I got wasnt clean and neither was the shared bathroom. Yuk!

I only stayed for one night, because after that one night I found some suspicious bites on my body.. Fleas?

The staff wasn't helpful or friendly.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, but really, that doesn't make up for the horrible night you'll have at this plaece

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank felicia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

1.i was bitten by fleassss for 30 times
it's after two days i still uncomfortable
2.water heater was broken for 2 days
whole of guests only have two bathroom to wash
everyone stay in queue for long time
3.breakfast was so simple and not good

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 享岳 劉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Arran House is very well located, right on Gower Street, close to the British Museum and just a short walk away from the city centre. The place is very clean and the staff unfailingly helpful (Rojas, in particular, was nice and even caring). However, be aware that bathrooms are shared, rooms are tiny and hallways can be a little noisy. Breakfast was good, though. The hotel works very well for a budget visit to London (one of the most expensive cities in the world), but if you have some additional pounds to spare, find another hotel on the same street.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room close to the stairs landing. It gets awfully noisy. Request one on one of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol. England.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My mother and I booked the Arran Hotel for a Christmas Shopping trip on a Sunday. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel's close proximity to the Tube and also the very friendly receptionist who took our cases and provided us with tea. We headed out for a long day of shopping and came back pretty tired; we were then shown to our small but clean room. The beds are comfy and the shared bathroom is of a good, clean standard. I crashed out at 10pm as I was so tired. Should have been a great nights sleep- boy was I wrong. I woke up at 230, absolutely boiling hot! The fan wouldn't work unless you had the light on and even then it did little to alleviate the temperature. It was useless opening the window because of the traffic going by every few seconds- sadly, the Arran House is situated on a fairly busy road, and the front rooms are not soundproofed at all. I didn't get back to sleep until 7:15am where I dropped off, despite the traffic, as j was so exhausted. If you are a heavy sleeper-great, if you sleep lightly like me- then avoid at all costs. Lovely little hotel, with friendly staff and in a good location but sadly rooms are overheated and loud.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilshopaholic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Arran house hotel for 3 nights and was happy with my choice of hotel. All the staff were very friendly and it was in a good location as the train/tube was in walking distance. I was on the top floor and even though I had to trek up the stairs it made it worth while when I got into the comfy bed! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candice-hernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

OK fellow travelers, it might not be exactly what you expect, so, bullet points!
- This is in an insanely expensive neighborhood. So it's priced like a high end place (read $300 for a double occupancy room), but is more "mid grade" or "homey." The business hotels in the area are $500 per night for smaller, yes, smaller (but nicer / more upscale) rooms.
- It's in a row of apartment-style hotels that all look the same from the outside. But from the online reviews this is one of the nicer / nicest ones.
- I booked a room for double occupancy (thought a friend might join me) and they gave me a triple / quad room (low season)? For the neighborhood, this triple room was quite large.
- The room, and its plentiful linens, were spotless.
- That bathroom was, well, a minor adventure. It was built into the room itself, and featured an airplane-sized kind of sink / toilet setup, plus a tiny shower, with a low ceiling. The shower was tiny enough and close enough to the toilet that two people probably couldn't use them at the same time. (But one person could quite easily! So maybe it's actually a bonus.)
- One of the receptionist dudes was curt and all business, but the other was more of a people person.
- Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aar0n_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#643 of 1,068 in London
216 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#85 of 1,068 in London
1,745 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#853 of 1,068 in London
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#125 of 1,068 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#534 of 1,068 in London
342 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#556 of 1,068 in London
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Property: Arran House Hotel
Address: 77-79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing