We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arran House Hotel
Ranked #373 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“London Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the BB the last two days of my trip and the service was excellent. I would stay again. It was conveniently located to a mayor area, very safe. Great staff, the price was right, the food was good. Great for a single traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    216
    107
    58
    60
See reviews for
174
121
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Service was friendly and helpful. I felt most welcome. It was difficult to find my way around. Better signing would be a good idea. Breakfast was good.
Nice hot water in the shower, but a small bottle of soap/shampoo would have been much appreciated. (When you travel with hand luggage only, you don't waste room and space in your bag for shampoo)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I first stayed in the Arran back in 2010 when it was a TripAdvisor B&B gem. I had a great week in London and was happy with the price I paid for my room and excellent breakfast.

Unfortunately things are not what they were and I'm afraid a change of ownership seems to have seen a steep increase in prices and a decline in standards. The rooms are much the same but an en-suite single that was £70 per night now costs an incredible £105.

The breakfast room was always too small for the number of guests but the breakfast was good enough to make up for the wait for a table. Not any more. The variety of items on offer has reduced and the quality of the ingredients is lower. The staff pay no regard to empty coffee pots, empty milk jugs or the fact that cooked breakfast items had run out.

On the plus side they now have a member of staff on duty all night but I always felt guilty ringing the bell and waking him up to get let in. The Arran still has a lot going for it but,in my opinion, you can get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiegfriedFarnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice hotel for low budget travelers
Clean, nice breakfast, great location
One of the staff was very nice and helps whenever we asked but the other was less friendly. My room was in the third flour and no one suggested helping with the suitcase.
We used the buses that were across the street to travel all over the city so the transportation is great and there is a tube station in 5 mints walking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aborit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Good location ten mins walk from Euston square tube station. However, the accommodation was disappointing for a short two night stay We had the unlucky room of the basement (opposite kitchen), very little lighting and odd set out walking into the bathroom before two double bed rooms. Sleeping was uncomfortably noisy from a loud fan from the two fans kitchen which you could hear all night which sounded like animals in a cage rattling all night. Breakfast was cold, which consists of buffet style "English breakfast," toast, juice, hot drinks and cereal. There was no door handles on the bedroom doors and bathroom, so someone would have to look you in from the outside bedroom to use the bathroom. The rooms did not look like what they did in the pictures, quite misleading. Unfortunately would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were happy enough to settle for this cramped room in a row of once grand late 18th century terraces, but you'd be disappointed if you expected a genuine ensuite bathroom or a quiet sleep. The traditional buffet breakfast had everything you'd expect and the location near the British Museum and Russell Square was great. But the 4 beds were squeezed into a room made smaller by the ageing mini toilet/shower cubicle (I think they bought one of those the ablutions cubicles made for a boat, wacked it in the corner and called it an ensuite). Ironically the shared bathrooms for rooms without 'ensuite' looked spacious amd clean. Superb bookshop opposite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwith2kidsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Great location, good breakfast, nice and clean. We had a twin room which was very small but fine for a few nights where you are out and about a lot. Shared bathrooms clean.

Very hot in the room during august with ineffective fans supplied. Noisy at the front of the building but not too bad with Windowws shut.

Would stay again due to great location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigH1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#622 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#543 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#756 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#92 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Property: Arran House Hotel
Address: 77-79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing