We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small bathroom”
Review of Arran House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arran House Hotel
Ranked #359 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Vilnius
1 review
“Very small bathroom”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It's not hotell, i would say it's guest house. Room was small but nice, but bathroom was very small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ATomasxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    216
    107
    59
    60
See reviews for
174
121
91
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Friendly staff, small room, shared toilet & shower, good breakfast.
Good value for the center of london I suppose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is one more of thousands of B&B all over London. It is indeed a very expensive city, and you expect more for your money. So from the beginning you can feel dissappointed by the steep stairs (no elevator..), the old carpet and so on. But after spending a day or two you will love the place (very near the British Museum), the breakfast, and most of all the sooooo kind receptionist.
Our room in 3rd floor was comfortable, with a tiny batroom that reminded me a sailboat.
But it was ok, and is good value for the money..... in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

On booking.com it had this listed as a bed and breakfast. This is more like a hostel. The pictures on their web are cute and cozy, but when you go into the shared areas its a dump.

The place needs some badly needed updates and its one step away from a dive motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adarcy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the fourth time staying here.They have changed hands but the overall experience is the same.We went for a ensuite this time but found our best value is the regular rooms(ensuite is the size of an airplane washroom.There are many washrooms available and never had to wait.They offer a great breakfast are friendly and I sleep well.Would I stay here a third time? Would I recommend it yes I would.Good location and cost plus helpful staff.

Room Tip: We are a family of 3 and have stayed in 3 different rooms .You'll want a room on the first two f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very impressed with this hotel which, for the money, suited our purpose as a family of five very well.

We stayed in room 27 which was large enough for us all. There was no WC in the room but we knew this when we booked and the shared bathroom was plenty big enough. From the sound of it ensuite bathrooms offer poor value for money. Breakfast was excellent though we advise to arrive early. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times.

My only criticism would be that noise from the road and fellow residents was sometimes a problem. However I have learned to purchase earplugs before visiting this type of hotel and that was all that was needed. Needless to say the children slept through anything as they were so tired from visiting the sites of the capital.

When booking there was no rival at this price and location for 2 adults & 3 children and I would heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Reverberation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#626 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#538 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#806 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House Hotel

Property: Arran House Hotel
Address: 77-79 Gower Street | Central London, England, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arran House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arran House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran House London
Arran Hotel
Arran House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing