We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A central location easy for city walking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA London Oxford Street
Ranked #12 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A central location easy for city walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hostel backs onto soho(the great rallying cry of lord Wellesley) and is a great boutique venue for walking to the shops, theatres, chinatown and the city. Friendly and accommodating staff who give good advice and on the day I arrived free wifi for 7 days for yha members(bonus) . Clean and efficient except for the toilet on the the level five with no toilet tissue, embarrassment except there was paper tissue for the hand wash basin stretch. Very good value and I apologise for snoring in the dorm first night needed the double room earlier

Neil

Room Tip: Get a booking earlier very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganteng45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    237
    51
    7
    3
See reviews for
83
111
172
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Briz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Location: The central location can't be beat. You will be near everything and things you aren't near are accessible by the near-by tube stations.
Quality: Beds were comfortable, private room was small but not cramped, not too noisy. Above all: clean. Shared bathrooms obvious they were shared but not dirty.
Value: Being London it was expensive, but you could see where your money was going.
Security: swipe-card access and 24-hour reception which you had to pass to get to the rooms.
Overall: if only it had free WiFi - which was expensive - it would be 5 star. This is what all hostels should aspire to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 667A_P667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The YHA Oxford street Hostel is a dream for any backpacker!

When I set out on an almost impromptu one month long solo backpack trip across 7 countries of Europe, all I had was unlimited excitement to see the world and a shoe string budget. London happened to be my first stop in this journey.

My first time in London and my first time in an international youth hostel. They say first experiences are hard to forget.. this was one I would rather not :)

The YHA Oxford street hostel is not one of the highest rated hostels in Europe for nothing I say! The warm and friendly staff members, the stylish and neat rooms/ common area/ kitchen and to top it all the best location in Central London. Located a stones throw away from the uber chic areas of london like Oxford Street, Regent Street, Bond Street, the hostel is an absolute dream in terms of connectivity for any part of London.

The Hostel's kitchen is a dream and is maintained very well. The common area that also doubles up as a meeting place for travelers from around the world and a dining area is again very stylishly done up.

Though internet is not Free like most other hostels i went to in Europe but that's a small negative ;)

I would strongly recommend the YHA Oxford Street Hostel to anyone travelling alone or as a couple...All you need is a young heart and an open mind that is ready to accomodate waking up in a room with strangers on bunk beds ;))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrpanMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto-Vecchio, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Central location, the kitchen is well furnished, rooms and commons are clean.
Staff is nice and always ready to help. The only bad think is that you have to paid for the wifi in rooms... beside that i had a lovely stay at the YHA hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMemoryBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are going to London and can't stay at a luxurious hotel, this is the next best thing,the location is perfect for first time visitors like myself,the staff are the best i've ever seen,even better than hotels,they will guide you to everything you need to know,help out as much as they can,the rooms are clean and organized to take 2 people easily without feeling crowded,bathrooms and showers were always clean and smelled nice,the facilities they offer are quite cool (kitchen,fridge,microwave,...etc) as for the location it is really nice, so close to attractions that you have to see and close to the tube.
Would definitely recommend going there, it was the highlight of my trip

Room Tip: try to find a room on a lower level so that you dont have to drag your bags up the narrow stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have spent a week here at this hostel and found it to be really comfortable. The rooms are clean and look newly renovated. The self-catering kitchen is great. It is close to Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Circus tube stations. Bars and restaurants nearby too (and Starbucks!). Staff at reception are helpful with information about tours and attractions and can sell you discounted tickets. The only downside would have to be most of the rooms being stairs accessible only - so pack light if you don't want to put your back out lugging a suitcase upstairs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Central location and well-kept facilities. Very basic rooms. The value you get is average. If it wouldn't be London, I'd call it simply outrageous. You have to pay separately for everything: towels, breakfast, Wi-Fi. There are nice hotels around which come pretty close to what this YHA charges. If not for the location, I wouldn't come back to this hostel. Oh: don't forget your earplugs!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanWilly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Oxford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Oxford Street

Property: YHA London Oxford Street
Address: 14 Noel Street, London W1F 8GJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the heart of bohemian London. YHA Oxford Street is a modern backpackers hostel offering comfortable yet cheap accommodation in London's West End and offers an eclectic mix of cafes, pubs, cinemas, quirky boutiques and a great alternative nightlife, all within a 5 minute walking distance of the hostel.This is a busy city centre hostel offering a range of 3 and 4 bed dorms, twin bunk or double bed private rooms, all with shared facilities. Breakfast is available daily as well as a fully equipped self catering kitchen. Our cafe/bar offers a range of hot and cold beverages to refresh you after a long day of sightseeing or prepare you for a night out. Families with young children might prefer YHA London Central, YHA St Pancras or YHA St Paul's for a quieter London break. This hostel is not suitable for groups of more than 8 people- see YHA Thameside or YHA St Paul's. We apologise, but due to the building architecture we have no wheelchair accessible facilities at YHA Oxford Street, the lift only goes as far as our 3rd floor reception. Access to rooms on level 4 and 5 is by stairs. Our nearest hostels with full access is YHA London Central or YHA St Pancras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA London Oxford Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Street Youth Hotel London
YHA London Oxford Street England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing