We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Change from ratty hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Ranked #73 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Change from ratty hostels”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've been staying in the cheapest hostels around town I could find, but stayed in St. Christopher's for a few days because it was close to an all night concert I was going to and wanted to be able to walk back. Turned out to be a really nice place. Great staff, free wifi, comfy beds, cheapish food in the bar downstairs, good security, nice location, nice common area and cinema. Huge plus was the cheap laundry facilities, cost about 3 pounds total to do a load, which is a nice change from hand washing my clothes or the expensive laundry around town. Only major issues I had was the lack of any sort of kitchen. A microwave was the only thing available, which is basically suggesting you buy all their food, which gets expensive fast.

Room Tip: They sell 14 bed dorms as 12 bed dorms because "nobody sleeps in those two beds" - the poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    135
    96
    38
    28
See reviews for
7
34
152
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Im not a typical hostel'r. Many years ago I stayed in Y's when I was traveling on the cheap but this was my first hostel experience and it was as I expected. The wifi is a little weak, but I found every public wifi in London to be weak - at least it existed. Clean towels are provided and there is soap and body lotion bottles provided.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebtnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here for a week while i was moving around London (Jan 2009) - recommended by a friend who has stayed at most of the world wide Christopher Inns. I stayed in a dorm right above the bar so it was fun and loud music all night (didnt bother me, you get used to noise when travelling so much). party in the bar every night of the week, super friendly people, clean considering how busy it gets, breakfast is decent too.

Location is great as its only a 5 minute walk to the finance district, 10 min walk to Bourough markets and 15 minute walk to London bridge. There is also a Sainsbury supermarket right acrossthe street.

will definitely stay again if i come across any on my journeys.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at St Christoper's with a female friend, and we both thought it was great !
Right from check-in, the staff were welcoming, friendly & packed full of helpful advice. Even challenged us too shots ! ^___^
The rooms have everything you'd expect/need. That is: a clean, comfy bed to crash in at the end of a long day sightseeing! In the 5 nights we stayed there, we shared with a Romanian tattoo artist, an Iraqi Aussie & another Aussie from WA! (we're both Aussie too!)
Bathroom facilities are basic, but again, have everything you need: plenty of toilets & showers. We never had to wait for either.
St Chris' also has an awesome chillax room with an adjoining cinema room, rooftop bar, plenty of lockers & free wifi.
Buuut the BEST thing 'bout this hostel? BELUSHI'S!!!! The adjoining pub that serves up AWESOME food at redonkulously cheap prices. I suggest you start the day w/ their full English brekky @ £2, and wash it down with a HUGE mocha for £1-something...
In closing, if you're heading to London on a budget, stay here! It's close to everything (Underground Station right outside) it's SAFE (secure lockers in your room to lock your stuff up) and it's FUN!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleShearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great hostel with awesome pub downstairs.Rooms were nice and clean,outdoor noise was present so if you have a light sleep you won't get sleep much,bathrooms are so so.But it's ok place for AWESOME location.Just 50 m from the tube station and 2 bus stops from London bride.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

this was the filthiest hostel we've ever been to. toilets are disgusting & bins overflowing with used sanitary products. staff are awful & mock you when you complain. The manager Patrick followed my wife abusing & verbally assaulting her threatening to evict us for complaining. He was the worst staff member we've ever met, unfit to be manager & its shameful that he's associated with this brand, he treats customers with no respect & abuses them. The hostel does not have a kitchen, the lights do not work, even the toilets & rooms have no lights. no drinking water available. toilets are not cleaned, with faeces on seats, sinks smelt of urine, showers are disgusting. the shower only has boiling hot water that burns ur skin off. breakfast is miserly, food does not get replenished. nothing works. toilets dont flush & are blocked constantly. the manager is the worst thing about this place, even worse than the toilets. AVOID THIS HOSTEL AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: we stayed in a private room with no light. no good rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernlozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

It is a good place to get value for price paid. I was in a room for 14 people, where I and my friend made ​​many friends and we party a lot. It is not the place to be if you want to sleep and relax. Just below the hostel there is a noise bar that you can hear until very late. Beds are ok and clean! Good breakfast, toast, cereal, juices and jams. It does have a funny smell... but it´s not a 5 star hotel. If you want to make friends and get to know London at night, this is the place!

Room Tip: Is a good place for what you are paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Walrus Hostel
#36 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#30 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Village London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Village London Bridge

Property: St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Address: London Bridge 161 Borough High Street | London Bridge, London SE1 1HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Village London Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legendary Hub for independent travellers since 1999, in the middle of historic London. It's BIG, it's fun and it rocks! Enjoy our parties everyday. Consistently voted one of the best hostels in the world. Did you come to PARTY? Are you ready for non-stop, action-packed good times? Then you've come to the right place. St Christopher's at the Village is the party hostel for London's young, fun and hip. Belushi's bar is where it all happens live DJs, karaoke, big screen TVs, cheap drinks, great eats and international parties. What more could any traveller ask for? Throw into the mix a roof terrace and chill out room. Is it any wonder the Village is consistently voted one of the best party hostels in the world? And so you can fit it all in we open the bar until 4am on weekends, and 2am on weekdays - you won't want to sleep with all the fun stuff that's going on in this hostel! Please note that guests under 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians. They cannot share in general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under-18s are not allowed in the bars or pubs. If you do not make this clear and book children into a mixed dorm, your reservation will be cancelled upon arrival and you will not receive a refund. Please note that the maximum stay policy is 14 days A £2 key card deposit will be required upon check in (refundable on check out) Breakfast not included, £3 for unlimited continental buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Christopher's Village London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Village Hotel London
St Christopher's Village London Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing