We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of London Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
London Backpackers
Ranked #177 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Its just great at this hostel!
I'm here for my second time and I think I will come again. The staff is really friendly and you get everything you need for a good prize.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank neo_gucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

Staff was friendly and helpful but the room, bathroom and showers were quite dirty (used earpplugs, condoms, mould and the like) and the rooms were really small and hot.

Beds are cheap but the hostel is quite far away from the city centre so you have to spent more on the tube anyway. Wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peeledgrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Absolutely loved this place, Great bunch of people, really friendly staff and helpful .We stayed for 3 nights and every night something new was going on. Pool comp, movie night poker. def going back. Also one of the best things was it had like a1000 movies to choose from so if you didnt want to go out you could just sit ans watch a movie and use the free internet , thank to every one theu

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

This place rocks, just spent 4 ngihts their during our break, i am an American studying in Paris, the hostel has just had a renovation done, and the bathrooms are better than my house, all new and clean, at night the place really kicks off with some serious drinking in the games lounge which in the basement but very cool decor.

Worth a visit, some camera crew were filming during my stay, so i hope to famous soon.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MaxiDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at London Backpackers for 2 nights. It was very close to the tube station and about a 10-15 minute ride in to London. The surrounding area was fine. We stayed in a 13-bed mixed dorm room which I hoped would only be about half full, but there were 11 people in there and it stunk by the 2nd morning.There were 3 showers and 3 toilets (for women anyway) and a line for the showers in the mornings. The showers also had a self-retracting "on" button, just one (not one hot, one cold, just one!) so the water turned off every 10 seconds unless you held it on with one hand and washed with the other. If you can afford it, I would definitely stay somewhere else. But it is really hard to complain too much given the very cheap price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

If you're on a tight budget, the London Backpackers Hostel will definitely suffice, but if you can afford it, you may want to stay elsewhere.
My husband and I stayed in a private room...which was approximately 6 ft. x 7 ft. (small!) and had no window to the outside (hot in the summer!). The shared
bathroom was decent, although it was difficult to take showers without flashing other people who were in the bathroom.
There was FREE internet, however (if you don't mind waiting in line for it)...and a neat residential neighborhood nearby. For an authentic English dining experience, I recommend the pub down the street; the fish and chips were the best we had in the U.K.!

2  Thank exploretheglobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
14
Reviewed March 30, 2006

stayed at the end of march in a dorm , which i gotta add is HUGE - this place probably has some of the biggest dorms - i have ever seen in a hostel - with high ceilings and - used to some kind of dance studio =
Anyway - nice place - with friendly people - and it has free internet

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
RestUp London
#412 of 956 in London
558 reviews
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#279 of 956 in London
174 reviews
Via Lewisham
#376 of 956 in London
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#60 of 956 in London
2,219 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
PubLove at The Crown
PubLove at The Crown
#179 of 956 in London
251 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 956 in London
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Backpackers

Address: 1st Floor, Queens Parade | Queens Road, Hendon, London NW4 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $13 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of London's Original Hostels catering for backpackers, travelers and student groups. The hostel has a variety of room sizes, fully equipped self catering kitchen and 2 lounges with a pool table, plasmas and over 500 movies to choose from. We have no curfew - are accessible 24 hours. Free BreakfastFree Wi-fiFree Lockers Free Bed Linen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your London Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Backpackers Hotel London
London Backpackers England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing