We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
Ranked #526 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 5 nights. To tell the truth, it is overpriced. I have booked a twin private ensuite room few months in advance, paid too much but I am not complaining because all I wanted was a good location and my own bathroom which I got. But to be honest, hostel is not that clean and there is no lift. Our room was on top (4th) floor and it was a bit annoying. Also, the rooms are tiny. There was a bunk bed, wash basin was in the same room as the bed, and the bathroom was separated. It was so tiny, 2 m2 max! Also, the maid came every day. She/he didn't touch our stuff, they just cleaned the bathroom and took the trash out, what I appreciated. All our stuff was untouched, nopthing was stolen or missing, and we even left the window open while we were out.
But at least it was clean, and you get used to it, after all - if you're going to book this one, don't do it if you want luxury. If you want a place to sleep and have a shower, I say go for it.
As for the staff, I found all of them nice and willing to help. I read here that they were rude and unhelpful, but I saw most of them and they were okay.
The internet is free only for one hour, but works only if you have your own device to connect from. Otherwise, it is one pound per hour. The computers are a bit slow but you'll manage.

I peaked into the other rooms and showers, rooms are cramped and showers seemed dirty but I can't tell for sure. The kitchen is so - so, I haven't used it but it's nothing special.
Haven't tried their breakfast either so can't tell either.

All in all - it was solid, better than I expected while reading the reviews on here.
People, if you want luxury, book a hotel. If you're on a budget, book a hostel, that's pretty much it.

I also loved the neighbourhood! It is close to everything! Hyde park is beautiful, there are 2 undeground stations nearby, within 3 minutes walking distance. There are lots of souvenir shops, there is Sainsbury's nearby, and some pubs.

To sum it up, I loved it all! The city, the people, even the hostel wasn't bad!

Room Tip: Oh, the rooms have no A/C. There was no noise in the evening, I slept like a baby. The bed was comfo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 637 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

You can find lot of young people from everywhere. Area is pretty but expansive like this youth hostel. Room of 4 or 6 people is really good but around 24£ per night. I meet people which have room of 14 or 20 people and they says that it's was terrible. If you want a cheaper room you can find other hostel near Bayswater.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMalleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hostel changed!!
After 5 years where I had stayed more than a week, I went last february with my friends ...
A dormitory for 20 people (10 base) with a window ridiculous ... bunk beds on 3 floors ... noisy, breakfast ... I'll say nothing about it and even more the bathroom !!! (my friens didn't ve a shower for 2 days).
But it's sad because the area is very nice! But don't go there !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stambouliotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with a friend for the Olympics.
So, it is a hostel, so it is cheap, but is dirty, noise (normal for a Hostel, ok) and - sorry to say - unclimatised for the summer. I have sweat a lot during the night !
The breakfast is very poor, with just bread, butter, jam, flakes, coffee and milk. Also the kitchen soundes a little dirty.
Wi fi didn't work for me and my friend.
But let's be honest: the location is fine, and the building is huge. So there's room to improve the service, the quality and the satisfaction of the guests...
Well, in my opinion it's hard to find the REAL Hostel enviroment at Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel.
It is cold, in terms of service. I mean, sounds that the point is only to run the business, not make guests really happy.

Room Tip: Avoid the 16 people room, if you are not prepared for that !!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Appeared clean and tidy although I did check in drunk and blurry eyed at 3am.

Great that I could check in at that time as it meant I could spend my time watching the Olympics at Hyde Park on the large screen.

Friendly feel to the place. Nice staff and a real bargain.

Location close to Hyde Park is good. Near to Bayswater Tube although I walked everywhere as I wanted to experience as much as I could.

Would stay here again for the price - amazing value. Bunks with curtains is a good idea for privacy and to keep the light out when people were up earlier than me!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend with a friend in the 6 bed female ensuite dorm and it was great value for money. The room was clean, the bathroom was a little small but spotless. Privacy was maintained by curtains around the bunks. For your own comfort I'd recommend bringing a sleeping bag but the sheets were spotless. It was also very hot in the room with no air con, but you can't have everything. The staff are really friendly and helpful, also as they are often very stressed if you a little kind to them they bend over backwards to help you. The atmosphere is great and the location is perfect for exploring London and 2 minutes from a tube and supermarkets if you want to cook in the hostel.
While some of the interior is a little shabby, you get what you pay for and I would definitely come back again and recommend it to others if you don't mind roughing it :)

Room Tip: Choose an ensuite, the facilities are much better than the communal bathrooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I spent 5 days in London and had the best days of my life. The nights, however, were just terrible, once i stayed in a bedroom with another 17 people, very hot in the summer, noisy and all the bad things you can imagine for a Hostel. The location is also not THAT good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
RestUp London
#472 of 896 in London
530 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#63 of 896 in London
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#151 of 896 in London
290 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#524 of 896 in London
112 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel

Address: 48-50 Inverness Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $14 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 165 yrd from Bayswater Underground Station and Hyde Park, Smart Hyde Park Inn offers budget dormitories with free WiFi access throughout. There is a spacious shared kitchen and 24-hour front desk. Set in a grand period property, the large dormitories have elegant decor and original features. There are plenty of shared bathroom facilities, and guests can use a hairdryer and ironing facilities. Smart Hyde Park features a common room with comfortable seating, computers and a flat-screen TV. There is also a modern kitchen with an oven, refrigerator and microwave, and continental breakfasts are served daily. Smart Hyde Park Inn is a 20-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. Lively Soho is a 40-minute walk from the building, and the famous Leicester Square is a 10-minute Tube ride away. Westminster is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping, Theater and Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hyde Park Hotel London
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing