We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”
Review of 1 Lexham Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1 Lexham Gardens
Ranked #903 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The outside of the hotel and lobby area look nice. However, once you pay for your stay and get past these areas it becomes horrific! The hallway smelled and had bits of rubbish on the floors. It would not be a good place to stay if you had respiratory problems. Our twin room had black marks all over the walls. It looked like someone had gone for a run on the walls. The bathroom door would not fully close. During the night we were woken up by what sounded like domestic violence in the room next to ours. We phoned down to reception several times, however, no one answered. We did not feel safe leaving our room. In the morning we raised our concerns with the manager. He was rude and racially abusive towards us. He clearly had a problem with white people. We were quite surprised by this as we had been so polite to him. We felt so unsafe that we decided to forego our second night at this hotel and booked elsewhere. This is the worst hotel and customer service experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 607 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a couple for 12 nights in October. Our double standard room was on the first floor and we had a nice balcony and view. The room was super tiny, lik this whole hotel, only two people can fit in the elevator, and if you carry luggage forget about it. The room was rather clean, except some strange marks on the carpet. The bathroom was so tiny, if you sit on the bathroom your legs and arms will bump into the tiny sink next to you. The shower is a tiny tiny cube and no hot water was available after 1 AM. The WI-FI signal was poor and hardly worked, only if you go downstairs to the lobby it worked properly. The location was ok, 5-7 minutes walk to the tube station, and a very nice Sainsbury's store next to the hotel. When leaving you have to pay 1 pound per bag for luggage storage, which is held in the reception by the sofa. If you have a hand bag they count it as a bag as well and you have to pay for it! The receptionist always seem to be busy with stuff that is not related to their work, like watching movies, listening to music. No goodbye or greeting were said to us unless we triggered the conversation.
Overall, i wouldn't stay in this hotel again, definitely not for 12 nights, a short term stay is ok i guess.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evil_Yogurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a fabulous location, 10 minutes (if that) walk from Gloucester Road Underground, just off Cromwell Road. The room I was in made the most of very little space and I would have been very happy with it had it not been for the lack of soundproofing. I stayed for 2 nights in a basement room (number 007, believe it or not). On the first night, I was woken by the sound of the rain splashing down in to huge puddles outside (the single glazed window kept very little noise out). The second night it was shouting from inside the hotel that woke me.
I am not a light sleeper and wou d suggest that this hotel would merit a much higher mark if they would only apply a little soundproofing.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnem41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked this hotel after doing some research and it seemed to be ok, and it was in Kensington, it can't be that bad.

Oh, how wrong was I...

We arrived at just after noon, to be greeted by what I thought to be the receptionist on her mobile phone. After she finished her conversation, it turned out she was not the receptionist, but her friend. We waited 10 minutes for the receptionist to arrive, during which time, no attempt was made to contact her, but I did notice the shocking state of the decor of the lobby area.

When she finally did arrive, we asked to check in and the response was epic, quote "No, it's not two o'clock". Wow...

I asked if there was somewhere we could leave our luggage and was pointed, literally, no words involved, to a corner of the lobby!

Feeling sure the service would live up to this high standard for the rest of the stay, we left the bags and went to find alternative accomodation. Literally just around the corner from this hole is a Premier Inn, we walked in told them out storey and within 5 mins had a new booking for the very reasonable price of £87. We walked back around the corner and my fears about Lexham were confirmed, we walked in off the street, picked up two bags and left without any question what so ever!

DO NOT STAY HERE. If you need a hotel in this area try the Premier Inn on Knaresborough Place, a vastly superior hotel for very little extra.

Room Tip: Don't book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have spent two nights here and the so called "standard single room" I was given, was terrible. The room was in the basement, to begin with. Not only there were no windows where I could see outside, but there was a terrible smell of humidity as well. I immediately rejected the room but according to the receptionist, she could have made a change only if I acted within two minutes of me seeing the room.
Aside from this incident, in all fairness, the hotel is located 5-6 minutes walk to Glouchester subway station, which is about 1/2 hr subway ride to the center. There are a few restaurants, markets and convenient stotes nearby.
Whoever is considering staying at this hotel, please make sure that you do not make your decision base on the exterior view or that at least you will not be staying in one of the basement rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbaransel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lexham garden hotel is conveniently located near the Gloucester road and Earl's court tube station, the bus station is also nearby, #74 bus heads toward central london. There's a sainsbury just around the corner which is open until midnight which is really helpful for buying snacks and whatnot. It's also easy to get to the hotel from Heathrow since the picadilly line stops at Earls court.

Hotel: The hotel is very clean with spacious lobby for a 2 star hotel. The family room was very very spacious but the bathroom was on the small side. You can't properly change clothes inside because you'll keep bumping against something. Simple toiletries we're provided but we're simply just too small. The floors of the corridors creaked when you walked on it since the building is an old Victorian house, so do mind your step during late hours, we found that people in a hurry made the creaking sound so loud. There is no air conditioning in the room so you have to open the window, but i suggest that you request for a room not facing the street because if you have a street view and open the window for air, the noise from outside can get loud.

Breakfast: It was okay but we would have liked to have more variety. It was the same thing everyday.

Overall: I would stay here again, but preferably not in the summer months. =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having read some poor reviews I expected the worst, however inside the hotel is very clean and pleasantly decorated. The hotel is 5 mins from Gloucester road station and close to many shops and restaurants including a large Sainsburys. The staff were polite but not overly friendly. The room was comfortable and warm and as I was up on the third floor I wasnt troubled by noise from the road. The bathroom was very small, the sink was tiny and you had to step over the toilet to reach it. There was a problem getting hot water from the shower, and if you sat on the toilet your knees were against the shower door! The size of the sink made it impossible to fill the kettle so I had to fill it with a mug. The wi fi signal was adequate but did fluctuate, the TV was wall mounted and worked. For the price I paid it was acceptable and for the location, I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegoChesterCreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#843 of 1,076 in London
740 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#658 of 1,076 in London
327 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#732 of 1,076 in London
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#933 of 1,076 in London
336 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#790 of 1,076 in London
656 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Lexham Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Lexham Gardens

Address: 1 Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #903 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $72 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1 Lexham Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1 Lexham Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Lexham Gardens London, England
1 Lexham Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing