We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveler rating
616
642
296
78
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
642
296
78
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaritime museumcutty sarkgreenwich parkroyal observatorytravelzoo dealnaval collegethames clipperqueens housevisiting greenwichlocal attractionsthere is no air conditioningdocklands light railwayexcellent locationdlr stationcentral londonbuffet breakfasteasy access
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Booked a weekend stay through Superbreak which include an evening meal on the first night.Did have reservations having read the reviews but rest assured they are not to be believed. Yes this is a corporate hotel but does not feel like it. From reception staff to the room service they are all friendly and helpful.
The breakfasts are good with a high standard of ingredients and the buffet is constantly replenished and not overloaded in the first place so you do not get 'rubber eggs'.
The evening meal was of a surprisingly high standard and we eat out a lot! So do not put off because elsewhere in Greenwich apart from pub food and typical chains is a desert. If you are at all discerning you will not do better.
Room clean, serviced well every day and comfortable bed.
Would stay here again as it is a good base for visiting central London without paying through the nose.Also could not be closer to all the attractions of Greenwich eg Cutty Sark and National Maritme Museum

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmith117, General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear John
Thank you for your review,and also your time it took to complete and your comments

I did smile when I read it,as we have the same sentiments.The staff work hard for me and in an industry that really isn't the best rewarding .I have trained and nurchered some fantastic people who manage to fit work,family and life and always smile. They are a credit to us and this industry

People reviews are personal,and are how the writer feels at that time at writing,and so pleased that you sought to see through them.The property does need some money spending on it,but Safety,cleanliness and trained staff are more important and sure you will agree . When someone comments , and that I am able to make our work life easier,and the guests stay more enjoyable we thank those people ,as recently occurred with a promotion we run when some give us a great idea about changing it

On your next visit to Greenwich I would like you to stay with my compliments and be a mystery guest,as long as you feed me back the experience and where improvements can be made

Thank you John,we look forward to welcoming you back

Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

On arrival the welcome was not terribly warm but we all have bad days I suppose. This was our second visit to this hotel so we weren’t going to be put off by this. However, when we got to our room it was a little disappointing, quite small with very suspect carpets. It was very stained and appeared to be covered in something powdery.

The bathroom had seen better days but we weren’t to be deterred as the location of this hotel is fantastic for our needs.

On the way out there was a change of staff on reception, so, I explained to him about more family joining us the next day, including my 87 year old mother so he assured me he would accommodate them in 2 of their larger rooms on our corridor. He was so lovely. Sure enough, the two twin rooms he assigned to the rest of the family were beautiful, unlike ours.....you win some you lose some!

Breakfast is a buffet which is very nice although if you have to make your own toast a couple of more toasters would help the wait.

We’ll be back next year. Xxx

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Came for 2nd business visit
Both times the staff especially the senior staff could not do enough to make sure our needs were met.
We were running a course for 12 people. Anything we needed they provided
The rooms are a bit basic but clean and beds very comfortable
The food was good, healthy choices available.
Would use for business again - even though it feels like a long way out of London.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Katherine756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmith117, General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Katherine
Thank you for your recent review

I am especially pleased that the team looked after you,and believe that we provide Value for money if not in central London.

There are a number of ways to get to us,and sometimes we need reminding.The DLR ,Underground,The River Transport,The London Buses and the Greenwich mainline station connection to London Bridge-Currently suspended for work on LB Station,but re opening early next year.You can also use our carpark for a small fee

We really do look forward to welcoming you back,and please do ask to speak to me,and I will try to show you an easier route from where you are travelling from

Kevin Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Have stayed here on more than one occasion when visiting London for leisure purposes, including rugby matches at Twickenham and the comedy clubs. the welcome is warm, the breakfast superb and the rooms clean and comfortable. The service is good too. We were running late to get back to eat in the restaurant on our return from Twickenham on one occasion but just wanted to get back and relax after a long day so were pleasantly surprised when we were able to order food over the phone which was waiting for us in our room when we arrived. Clearly this wasn't normal service and just shows how far the staff will go to try to make your stay comfortable. We're booked in to stay again in November, in 4 weeks time!!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank N/A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmith117, General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your recent review
I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay,and the team were able to look after you

From the information given,I cannot decipher your name,so do contact me personally prior to your stay ,to thank you on kevin.smith@devere.com

The Team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back

Kevin Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Very attractive hotel in a beautiful old building near the park in Greenwich. A short walk from the DLR.

Friendly check-in and staff generally during my stay.

Big room with a big comfortable bed. The bathroom showed the age of the hotel slightly.

Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinsmith117, General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear Mark
Thank you so much for the review and the time it has taken to submit

I really do appreciate your feedback,and about the friendly staff.Oh to often we have to respond to peoples own personal thoughts,and some are very personal.

You are absolutely correct with the bathroom,and only last week we submitted information regarding this to our Head Office regarding this and this gives us further justification that the works need to be completed

Thank you so much it was our pleasure,and look forward to welcoming you in the future

Kevin Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews