We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good staff - a pleasure to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #400 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just finished five nights at the hotel for a conference at ExCel and the hotel really provided a great location and proximity to the conference. The staff were, without exception, polite, efficient and helpful. Not a sulk or a neutral look all week - just smiling happy folks who really would help in any way. You'll see that my reviews are not of the gushing type, but the stff here are worth mentioning. Even if the breakfast maitre'd is a bit cheery for an early morning, I'd have him any day over the usual grunting types you get at British hotels.

Bar was good and a great place to relax, food was always well prepared and breakfast was fine. The only reason I wouldn't give it fice stars is that the floor in the bathroom actually needs ripping out completely and retiling. There are photos already of the patchwork repairs - sort that out and it would have been a 100% for a British hotel in London

The location was perfect - 400 yards from the Cutty Sark station and the short walk took us past multiple restaurants and bars.

No hesitation to use the place again if I needed to be at the East of London.

Room Tip: Face into the courtyard for silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina_and_Graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary comments regarding the team here at Devonport House, it is great for them to hear their efforts being recognised by our guests as it only motivates us to strive even harder.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed here before and absolutely loved it. As we were visiting London again we decided to stay here.

We stayed here for one night Saturday August 10th and had two rooms. We were in rooms 223 and 225 which to be honest didn't have a great view but we were not here for that. The rooms were of a very good size and were perfect for us.

Whilst we were there we were informed that there is a wedding taking place so the restaurant would be closed but they gave us other options for ordering food which was good. We decided to have room service which arrived promptly by a helpful waitress. The food itself was very good and was still very hot which was a bonus.They even bought our ice cream after our mains meal so that it wouldn't melt.

We were visiting places in Greenwich/London so this was really used a base, so we were out for most of the evening.

The breakfast the next morning was very good. There was plenty of choice, hot food, cereals, pastries etc. The food was topped up when it got low and friendly staff.

To be honest I can't think of one bad thing to stay about the place. The bedrooms were of a good size, great breakfast, coffee on tap, free wifi and computers to use, fantastic room service/food very friendly staff.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely return if in the area.

Thank you for such a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms 223/225 didn't have a great view because of a large tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review it is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Your comments regarding Food and Beverage service are particularly pleasing as this is an area of the operation we have been focussed on improving recently so it is great to see the teams efforts bearign fruit!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport House for another great stay soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spacious neat rooms. Amazing services. I spent a week here and enjoyed it to the max.
The area is quiet. Friendly staff. Good food.
The hotel is far from center of London, but 3 minutes walk to tube station.

Room Tip: Take a room with windows on the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and i am pleased that you had such an enjoyable week here with us. It was a pleasure hosting your group for the week and i am pleased to see that Chefs efforts in creating authentic Arabic menu's for you were recognised, he and his Brigade will be very happy to hear that!

I hope to see you back at Devonport House when you are next visiting the UK!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for over a week and it was the best hotel booking I have had in London. Great staff - attentive without being intrusive; good location; good value; good rooms. Glorious architecture with high ceilings. We will definitely be back

The only negatives would be:

i) along with most UK hotels, no aircon. They did provide a fan though, which did the trick in a hot British summer
ii) The layout of the floors made maneuvering with luggage a bit tricky- lots of heavy fire doors

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very complimentary review, it is great to hear you had such a good stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you back at Devonport House in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. First impressions were. very friendly staff - we arrived early intending to leave our bags and go into central London. but our room was ready so we were able to check in - an added bonus. The hotel is a very beautiful building particularly from the front. The public rooms have a touch of 'stately home' feel about them. The room it self was fine, but I would say that in order to maintain the 4 stars the place could do with decoration. The bathroom showed some signs of neglect (grouting, loose shower rail - nothing major, just needs a bit of work.Certainly wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Air conditioning would be a bonus too - the room was very warm in the London heat, but this wasn't a huge problem.
The breakfast was extremely good. Buffet style, which I infinitely prefer.Excellent choice of hot and cold food, and all very fresh and high quality. On the 2nd day of our stay, it became very busy and things got a bit hectic for a while, but otherwise excellent. For us the location was perfect as we wanted to explore Greenwich, but it is still very easy to get into central London. The easiest, quickest and most pleasant way was by Thames Clipper, which was ideal for us as we wanted to be at the embankment. Obviously not so good for other parts of the city, but it worked for us. Overall, highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again. Spruce it up a bit and I'd give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgehog344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have recently undertaken a review of our breakfast offering so positive feedabck is great to hear. Thank you for pointing out the slight issues in your bedroom, our Maintenance team have addressed them so in future there will be no repeat.

I look forward to welcomign you back to Devonport House again soon.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I booked a room only stay at the hotel. Fantastic location great for the Cutty Sark, local amenities and parking in this busy and vibrant area of south London. Our friend was getting married and had the reception at the hotel as well. Staff polite, friendly and helpful. We found the room comfortable and had a good nights rest. Our room overlooked the graveyard so we had no trouble from the neighbours :-) on the whole would recommend also hand for travel near the DLR station as well. Nice job Devonport House!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Teacher_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am glad you had a good nights rest and our 'permanent guests' did not cause you any disturbance! I am pleased you enjoyed the wedding, it certainly was a great day.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Close to O2, City Airport, royal observatory, Cutty Sark, Naval College , fastferry, and loads more you could not ask for a better location.
That said, driving there on a Friday afternoon would not be recommended, and as with all inner city hotels parking bays are too small and I collected a dent in my door as a result!
Nice and obliging reception and bar staff, but we did not spend much time in the hotel as we were in middle of a heat wave. No air con leads me to mention a poor nights sleep. A fan was forthcoming however, so the staff did what they could. Rooms ok, and big for a central London location.
Soooo close to Greenwich Market, and all other aforementioned locations, we had a fast and furious weekend. If this is what you seek- great place to be!
However, whilst other half was shopping and I was enjoying a break over a beer, a tourist from Berlin offered a weary observation that a week in London, needs a week recovery when you get home......hear hear!

Room Tip: Great base!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandySwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review i am pleased to hear that you found the location so convenient and the team here helpful and obliging.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again soon now that it is a little cooler!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#429 of 1,076 in London
1,213 reviews
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#453 of 1,076 in London
2,664 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#268 of 1,076 in London
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,076 in London
1,460 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#261 of 1,076 in London
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $116 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 99 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
De Vere Devonport House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing