We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay if your going to the O2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #400 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay if your going to the O2”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about the hotel clean , friendly , nice bar in the evening but breakfast was a bit weird as the service was not great & our room was very hot at night as we weren't able to open a window !!
On the whole I liked this hotel & would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review and i am sorry to hear that our breakfast service was not up to our usual high standards as demonstrated by the many other positive reviews we have recieved. I hope to wleocme you back to Devonport House again soon so that we can demonstrate the great service that both our guests expect and we expect of ourselves.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    501
    241
    61
    29
See reviews for
195
692
40
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Other reviewers have mentioned the hotel's great location, central to Greenwich and close to the clippers and DLR. Greenwich is worth exploring, especially getting away from the Cutty Sark area which, not surprisingly, is very busy.
(If you fancy a walk, try catching the DLR to Heron Quays or Canary Wharf, walk down to the river and walk towards central London to Tower Bridge, along the Thames Walk. About 3.5 miles It follows the river for much of the walk and offers great views in either direction and you walk through less visited places. End up wih a meal and drink in Katherine's dock)
The staff also deserve credit. They were helpful at all times and sorted out small niggles promptly (eg. the milk catons ran out and they supplied us with a jug of fresh milk twice).
The staff also supplied us with a fan and that was the only real downside for us: the room was non air conditioned, the window opened an inch and it was very stuffy and warm. We had to keep the fan on all the time we were in there, including all night. Even then my wife had trouble sleeping.
The hotel itself is well maintained and very clean. The breakfast were of a high standard and the usual self-serve buffet.
We would certainly stay again, but try for an airier room if they exist.

Room Tip: Would not recommend 118 or that area only because of the stuffiness. Otherwise very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areanynamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and i am pleased that you had such a good stay with us, your comments regardign the team here are particularly pleasing to hear.

I look forward to seeing you again at Devonport House when the weather has cooled down a little!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A mixed review for this hotel as had both good & bad points

Location wise, this was perfect - good distance from Central London but close enough to get to by Train/Thames Clipper (the latter being a perfect choice as got to see the sights in comfort). Situated right by Greenwich Park, the Royal Observatory, etc you need at least a couple of extra days to explore what Greenwich has to offer in it's own right.

Room wise, a bit disappointing. We booked a family room, but ended up with a double room with a metal bed added in to create the additional sleeping space. Whilst this wasn't so bad, the fact that the room faced on to a central area meant that there was some significant noise. The lack of air conditioning resulted in a need to have the windows open and, given the weather, the noise was to be expected in the early evening but not when it started again at 4am and continued for over an hour - perhaps consideration could be given by the hotel as to where they place families as this was a real let down for us.

We had breakfast both days, Friday morning was nice and quite but this morning was so busy that it made getting breakfast difficult. That being said, the breakfast was fantastic - good choice, freshly made with the bonus of a waffle station this morning (but, due to positioning, did add to the difficulties getting food this morning)

We had room service - as with breakfast, was lovely and good value for money so some parts of the stay were really good but the room significantly let the experience down for us. The staff were really friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Would request not to have a room that faced on to the courtyard area if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30MMM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and m,y apologies that certain aspects of your stay were not to the standard you expected. Our family rooms are advertised as a double or a twin room with the facility to put an extra, fold up bed into for children with a reccomended maximum age of 11, these are provided on a complimentary basis. It is a shame to hear that some of our guests were not considerate of others in terms of the noise they were making late into the night, when such instances do occur our nights team do deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible so that guests are not affected, we ourselves did certainly not expect guests to be making noise in the courtyard at 4am. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast even though it was a little busy on your second day.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our travel agent had ensured that we were booked into a quiet twin bedded room for several nights. We were therefore very disappointed to receive room 114, which has a single chair (in front of the desk). Getting in and out of the bed there was a one-leg wide space between the corner of the bed and the very sharp corner of the plinth.
When we complained that the room was not suitable for two people, the very helpful staff showed us three alternative spacious rooms. Room 218 is large and has two easy chairs in addition to the chair for the desk.
During our stay, I wanted a printout when using the computers that are available for guests, only to find that the ink cartridge was missing from the printer. Even before I had time to ask a member of staff for help, the Manager was apologising for the lack of print facilities, and she immediately ensured that I received the printout.
There was one of those niggling problems with the plumbing in the bathroom. When we reported this to reception, the maintenance man quickly came to the room and fixed the problem.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The weather was hot. As this is a listed building, there are restrictions about the types of windows permitted and air conditioning is limited. When you find out how - the upper half of the sash windows can be lowered to give a lot of ventilation.

Room Tip: There are big differences in the size of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback and i am pleased that the team here were able to rectify the issues you had is a timely and helpful manner. Of course i would much rather the issues did nto occur in the first place so my apologies that this was not so!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport Hosue again soon, hopefully for a niggle free stay this time!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times. We like how peaceful it is with all the beauty and history of Greenwich in easy walking distance. Travel by clipper and you can be in central London in 30minutes.
Rooms are very comfortable although starting to look a little tired. Staf were very helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are excellent. Loads of choice and really good quality. We had dinner at the hotel on our second night and thoroughly enjoyed a really tender, beautifully cooked sirloin steak with black pepper sauce.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faeriequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding our breakfast are particularly pleasing as we have recently made some changes to our offering and there is nothing better to receive than the endorsement of our guests!

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is right next to the National Maritime Museum so you're staying on a World Heritage Site. The rooms are clean and bright and the free wifi worked well. There's a garden in front of the hotel and you should ask staff about the 'dead parrot' sculpture. You can't have the windows open at the front because of the traffic noise which is generally OK but is clearly on a route for emergency services so I did hear sirens a few times during the night. But location, location, location - it really can't be beaten. Breakfast is a fine array and staff were generally were nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AboutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, i quite agree that our location simply cant be beaten!

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport Hosue again soon!

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Ideally suited to Greenwich park, the maritime museum and Cutty Sark, Royal observatory etc. Ample parking at very reasonable rates and very easily organised with reception staff who were friendly and efficient. Room size was good, clean and with all usual facilities. Breakfast was very nice, good selection and pleasant surroundings. The 'officers mess' bar served delicious food which far exceeded our expectations and once again staff were friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay again, our only slight complaint would be that check out on the Monday morning was very early.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Devonport House, your complimentary comments regarding our bar food are great to hear and i have passed them on to our Chef's. For future reference we can of course offer a late checkout if required.

Kind Regards
Will
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#419 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Greenwich
Innkeeper's Lodge London Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Property: De Vere Devonport House
Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Business Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#312 Romantic Hotel in London
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 94 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
De Vere Devonport House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing