We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for exploring historic Greenwich and very convenient for O2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Devonport House
Ranked #380 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We only stayed for one night as we went to a concert at the O2. The location is ideal. We got to Greenwich on the DLR and it was only a short walk to the hotel, which is right on the edge of Greenwich Park. We went to the O2 in the evening on the Thames Clipper which was great and really convenient. Our room was on the 4th floor and we had a really good nights sleep; none of the disturbances described by other reviewers. We didn't eat in the hotel because there are so many places to eat in Greenwich which are a bit more intimate than the hotel restaurant. The only slightly negative comment we made was that some parts of the interior were a bit shabby probably because the hotel has so many visitors! Greenwich Town Center is worth a look especially the markets, great for a browsing.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep ask for a room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireChicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased to hear that you had such a great stay at Devonport House. You will be pleased to hear that we are having new curtains fitted in certain areas of the building next week, carpets in three weeks time with hopefully more areas to follow!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport House again soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great if you are working at Canary Wharf or visiting the attractions of historic Greenwich. The hotel is comfortable and good value although the supply of bathroom toiletries was a little stingy. Be aware there is no air conditioning and that in the summer the rooms can get very warm.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review and I am glad you enjoyed our stay with us at Devonport House. I have passed on our comments regarding toiletries to the Head Housekeeper to ensure there is always plentiful supply and whilst we do not have air conditioning we do have fans that can be provided upon request.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just back from 2 night stay primarily to go to an O2 event. The position is great, just outside the park at Greenwich, near Cutty Sark, Greenwich Observatory and Maritime Museum. If going to O2 take the Thames Clipper. It's one stop and if you are going to a concert buy your return ticket at Greenwich - there will be a boat back 20 minutes after the end of the concert and they do wait for you, regardless of the time. It is also easy to get to central London by DLR or river. As far as the hotel is concerned I would score it between average and good. There is nothing wrong with it apart from too much Chris Evans at breakfast - he is even broadcast into the toilets - stop it! The breakfast is good - they even do fried bread - it is £7.50 if booked the night before. The room we had was small and the bathroom design a bit odd - it was impossible to reach the controls from outside the bath itself or when sitting down. A bit of touching up of paintwork in the room would be good and the carpets in the corridors have seen better days. Did not try the restaurant or bar. The staff were all very friendly but not terribly well-informed about local things like museum opening times. So, in summary, average hotel in great position. Nothing that would stop me using it again if going to the O2.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Devonport House and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the location so convenient. I have taken your feedback on board regarding the teams knowledge of the local area which in general is very good but with several new team members having joined us we have recently carried out training with them and the rest of the team regarding the attractions in the local area and their opening times etc.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A great location for exploring Greenwich, the O2 and surrounding areas. The hotel was generally clean, tidy and well maintained in the bedrooms and public areas, although the bathroom was rather tired and in need of some tlc or an upgrade. The bed was very comfortable, as was the room temperature and the room slightly larger than the usual London double room. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room faced over the car parking area away from the main road, so was very quiet at night (these might be the odd numbered rooms) and would ask for that location again. Compared to numerous other stays in London, this hotel and its staff ranked very favourably and I would recommend a stay when in the area.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms appear to be at the front of the hotel, overlooking the car parking area, but without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResRepMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that we ranked favourably amongst the many hotels in London you have visited. You will be pleased to hear that we are currently nearing the completion of a programme of works in our bathrooms to give them a freshen up.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again in the not to distant future!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for six nights during a recent conference. Staff were lovely and went above and beyond to make my stay a comfortable one!

Fortunately, upon check in, I requested a room far from the elevator & on a higher floor (room 412) so I wasn't disturbed by any noises except for the VERY loud slamming doors of adjacent rooms. I don't understand why hotels insist on having doors that slam so hard that they wake all guests. Aside from that, the room was small but fairly well appointed with a simple desk, chair, small armoire, night stand, mini ironing board, window seat (where I placed my open luggage) and a disproportionately large bathroom. Bed was firm but I found it to be VERY comfortable with a selection of pillow choices. No washcloths offered so bring your own. Bathroom amenities are very basic so bring shampoo/conditioner/lotion, etc.

I was traveling alone. Had I been sharing this room with another guest, it would have been a tight squeeze as my room was on the small side.

As posted in other reviews, there is no A/C in the rooms nor a fan so I imagine it can get quite stuffy in hot weather. The weather was cool when I was there so fortunately it was a non issue but I would have been very unhappy had it been warmer as it could have become quite noisy (if the window had to be left open) AND claustrophobic with no fan. I'm not sure why ceiling fans aren't installed to at least circulate the air. My window was not easy to open and close as it needed some slight repairs.

The Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was excellent. I was able to download a movie and Skype without any delays or interference. It is offered free along with tea/coffee and cookies. There is no exercise room in the hotel nor any bellhops to assist with luggage. The hotel does have a parking lot on site.

This hotel is about a 10 - 12 minute walk to the train station where you can get to just about anywhere. Example: Two stops (10 minutes) to London Bridge station.

It's not located near the "heart of London" but certainly an affordable option if you don't mind a short commute each day into the city.

Room Tip: Room 212 was larger than most with two windows. Room 412 was quiet with a large bathroom but smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of Devonport House, it is great to hear that the team here were so friendly and helpful and you had such a good stay. Unfortunately as part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site we are quite heavily restricted in terms of altering the facade of the building with makes air con installation a challenge, however we do have a large stock of fans which are happily provided upon request.

Thank you once again for our review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport House again soon for another great stay!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel intending to attend the Rod Stewart concert at the O2 but it was cancelled due to him having a virus. However, we still made the most of Greenwich by visiting the maritime museum and the observatory. The hotel entrance could take some finding which is opposite the Greenwich Tavern. The staff were friendly and it's central location for Greenwich was perfect. A Lovely room tastefully decorated and bright. The guest areas were in keeping with the historic aspects of the beautiful building. It was quiet and very secure, the key card to your room was also needed to operate the lift and entry to the floor via the stairwell. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome in the early morning. The walls throughout the hotel were tastefully decorated with lovely historic navel pictures. If you are looking to stay in an authentic historic ex navel location right next to the National Maritime Museum then this is what I would definitely recommend. Other advantages include secure car parking at £5 per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens, they are amazing. Second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarleneBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, i am really pleased that you had a great stay and managed to sample some of the delights of the local area thanks to Mr Stewart! I have passed on your kind comments to the team here and look forward to welcoming you back to Devonport House for Rod Stewart's next concert!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff were very friendly. The building was impressive. Room was a reasonable size, bed comfortable. All very clean.
We chose to eat in the hotel restaurant the food was OK. Unfortunately the hotel bar and restaurant had no beers. The only choice was several lagers or Guinness.
Fortunately Greenwich is well served by good pubs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anaverageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will S, Deputy General Manager at De Vere Devonport House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. My apologies that we had run out of draught Boddington's the night you stayed, the bar was however well stocked with bottled London Pride and also London Pale Ale from our great local brewery, Meantime.

I hope to welcome you back to Devonport House again soon.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#255 of 1,077 in London
1,975 reviews
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#445 of 1,077 in London
1,254 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Greenwich
Travelodge London Greenwich High Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Devonport House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Devonport House

Address: King William Walk | Greenwich, London SE10 9JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#248 Business Hotel in London
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $106 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Devonport House 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the World Heritage Site in Greenwich and steeped in naval history, De Vere Devonport House offers you the perfect way to enjoy the London buzz, without the bustle.Bedrooms: 99 en-suite, complimentary WiFi, flat screen TVs with Sky Channels, DDI Telephones, hair dryer, tea and coffee tray, iron & ironing board, full length mirror, laptop safe and desk space. Meeting & Syndicate Rooms: 14 meeting rooms & 9 syndicate rooms with main rooms offering natural daylight and a maximum capacity of 120 Food & Drink: Restaurant & bar, internet cafe, and a selection of hot drinks available off the coffee menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Vere Devonport House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonport House Hotel London
Devonport Hotel London
De Vere Devonport House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing