We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #537 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The first night the aircondition started leaking right on our bed,
The second night the shower head broke and wet all the bathroom,
The third night mice joined us in our room,
The fourth night we left!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank srit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    163
    53
    21
    12
See reviews for
99
94
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just back from a Friday/Saturday weekend break in London to watch Mama Mia (would recommend) Stayed at the Staunton Hotel which was brilliant. Don't understand some of the recent reviews about the hotel. Take it from me I am very fussy about where I stay and this hotel was great. We stayed in Room 303 on the 3rd floor and was a triple room. There is no lift but we just got on with it. The reception staff were great and very helpful. The room was spotless, warm but once we used the air conditioning it was fine and that did help. Shower was great. The mini bar was well stocked but we didn't use it since we had bought our own alcohol. Sheets were clean, no holes and the mattress was very comfortable. When we went down for breakfast we had to wait but that only took around 5 minutes because the dining room is small but once seated breakfast was lovely (and I don't usually do full English breakfast). Would recommend this hotel, however if you struggle to walk up stairs this is not the hotel for you unless you get the first floor. Even left our suitcases when we went out shopping on the Saturday since we were catching the train back at 6pm. Looking at going back again in the next 3 months

Room Tip: We booked the triple room (303) since there were 3 of us but its on the 3rd floor and there is no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SadeTaurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Grubby hotel
Scruffy staff
1st room given on ground floor smelt of sewage
Next room on 3rd floor, no lift, no assistance with luggage
Room badly decorated, mattress ancient, holes in sheets, room very hot - could not sleep air conditioning ineffective
Bathroom - well really shower room - poor decor but shower worked which was quite amazing given everything else
Paid way too much for this at £189

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank respiratorytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
410 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was ideally located for my business at London University and for central London sights. My single room was small, with too much furniture, so the chair had to be moved to access the wardrobe. It was clean, reasonably comfortable and all the necessities were provided. There was reasonable soundproofing with the secondary glazing. A few small niggles- e.g out of date milk on the beverage tray on two occasions, and a shower knob that was impossible to turn when wet. The free wifi also kept disappearing. Cooked breakfast was available and the staff were friendly. Not spacious or luxurious, but a reasonable standard of hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Needed just a one night stay in London and wanted to be near Euston Station and this came up on a search. I am always concerned when I haven't the time to check a property online before going but needn't have worried with this one.

Aside from the perfect location, the receptionist was a genuinely lovely member of staff and so helpful, the room was clean, well decorated and came with an ample bathroom that was clean, spacious and equipped with nice toiletries. The minibar (didn't use) was well-stocked.

Little negative would be the breakfast; found the eggs to be 'cheap'(overly yellow coloured and flat which indicates factory-farmed and poor standard). My sister had the full English breakfast and said it was mediocre. The selection of cereals, juices and yoghurts was ok.

For a well-placed hotel, at a price of £80 approx. (last minute deal) I would definately stay again and recommend the Staunton. Best bit was the staff service.

Room Tip: The street alongside the hotel has a couple of nice restaurants, pubs and a co-operative supermarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinalouiseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A small room on the third floor (no lift). Decent - clean and reasonably well-equipped but minute. Would have been OK but for the fact that it was impossible to take a shower (no bath) - the hot water was scalding and it was impossible to reduce the temperature. Called reception and the girl did offer to come up and look at it but as I was naked at the time I declined her kind offer. Other guests had the same problem so it was not just my room. Pity as, otherwise, this is a decent hotel though even in London I think £160 a night is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigel222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Staunton is in the middle of Bloomsbury, few steps away from Russel Square and 5 minutes walk from Brithish Museum and Charing Cross/Oxford St. Hotel is OK however does not deserve 4+ for some reasons: no common areas (just a small reception), single rooms are tremendously small, bathroom accessoires are old and it takes time to select the desired water temperature in the shower, breakfast is OK but the room where it's offered is ugly and small (if crowded it would be really a mess!). Not really very close to any tube station but several train/tube stations are within 8-10 minutes walk. I love this part of London therefore I'd consider it again, but only in double room and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merengue70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Merengue70,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your constructive feedback which is ever so important for us in order to improve the service we provide.
First of all we would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay at Staunton Hotel and also to thank you for some of the positive comments, however there are a few points that we would like to comment on.
Our room’s sizes are reasonable taking in consideration that the hotel was a Georgian house in the past. We are also confident that the cosy room size is an excellent compromise for our friendly and personal service and the great central location. Regarding the common spaces, we do have a lounge room with comfortable chairs, sofas and TV. Our reception area is also designed for our guest to relax if they feel tired after a long day.
We are offering Free English and Continental Breakfast included in the price and consider this to be a plus. Our breakfast staff is professional and efficient, and even if it gets busy during morning times, they will always do their best to satisfy our guests.
Like you said, Staunton Hotel is situated in the middle of Bloomsbury, not far from all the major London attractions: Covent Garden, British Museum, Oxford Street and West End are all within a short walking distance. Two tube stations – Tottenham Court Road and Goodge Street are 5 minutes walking from us and we regret that you consider this being not close.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss these issues further.

We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards
Renia Karageorgis
Manager
Staunton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#541 of 1,067 in London
767 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#536 of 1,067 in London
338 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#635 of 1,067 in London
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#402 of 1,067 in London
956 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,067 in London
1,731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#832 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing