We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near center”
Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #553 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This nice Hotel near the center, British Museum and Oxford Street are very near and the tube station Goodge Street at 3 minutes.
People is very kind and the service very good. We will certainly go there next time we'll go to London City.
The breakfast is excellent and we miss it :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Maurizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here with us. We are very spoiled with our location so close to the shops, theatres and British museum.

We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Renia Karageorgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Staunton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 353 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Staunton Hotel and would not plan a return visit. The room was a good size, clean and the decor was pleasant but that was the only positive. The first night we had nothing but scalding hot water from our hand basin and shower and this problem returned intermittently throughout our three night stay. The shower was erratic and would change temperature constantly from cold to hot and this experience was not very pleasant. The staff provided minimal customer service when seeking help at night for this problem and there certainly was little desire to assist and really no explanation given. In fact I think they have heard the identical complaint so many times before and know it cannot be fixed. The staff member was watching tv on the computer very loudly and seemed a little annoyed to be interrupted. The breakfast was an interesting experience and it took 3 mornings before a staff member actually greeted us with a smile and "good morning". The breakfast staff worked hard and were efficient but I think again the standard of customer service could be improved. My cooked English breakfast was substandard, the bacon tasted strange, so I would recommend cereal and toast. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and when a heavy vehicle passed it wasn't so much the noise that was a problem but rather the reverberation/vibration of the sound so sleep was constantly disturbed.The hotel was well located for our needs but much could be done to improve the customer experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuperSal-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standards of the hotel and please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously, in order to strive to achieve the high standards that we set here.

Kind Regards,

Renia Karageorgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

great location, great manager, nice and clean rooms, value for money not great but not too bad; but...plumbing and heating not always at the top (cold water sometimes hot, etc...); the main issue is the reception staff, especially on Sunday: I arrived on a Sunday evening in December and the person at the reception desk shouted at me "what do you want?"; last Sunday, no one at reception when leaving at 7.15 in the morning: I called several times the hotel, no response; the clerk arrived ten minutes later with no apologies and lying, telling I should have called, etc...If this pattern continues, even though I love his hotel and come several times per year, I will have to find another hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopold17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reniak, Manager at Staunton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the standards of the hotel and please rest assured that your feedback is taken very seriously, in order to strive to achieve the high standards that we set here. I do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again at Staunton Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Renia Karageorgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I felt it was a bit overpriced for value, however I don't stay in London often, so maybe was good value. Location was good: across the stree from British museum and within walking distance of theaters.


  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely hotel, very handy to the tube and shopping areas. Good value for a twin room with breakfast. Room was a decent size, comfy bed and nice bathroom with soft towels. There was some traffic noise but it is central London and I didn't need my trusty ear plugs to sleep well. Breakfast was very good but the coffee was the only disappointing thing in my whole stay. Reception staff were helpful and very pleasant. I'd fully recommend this hotel and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 34busymum34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Superb value, comfortable, friendly staff, good breakfast. Within 15 mins walk of Royal Opera, Covent garden, Oxford St etc. Double glazing keeps it uiet, although carrying my and The Duchess bags up the rather steep stairs definitely made me puff! (No lift).
Highly recommended, I'd go again.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher, rear rooms if you want quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Bloomsbury. Lots of shops, restaurants around. Many bus routes and subway station nearby.
Gower street is a noisy street, but windows work fine. Hotel is a officially a 3*, but I would say almost a 4* in London standards. Rooms are spacious, comfortable. Breakfast is fine.
Very good value for the price, especially if you do not like huge hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbik0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#543 of 1,072 in London
789 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#535 of 1,072 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#634 of 1,072 in London
225 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#430 of 1,072 in London
998 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #553 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $164 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing