We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware. Your bill is debited from your account the day before checkout.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Staunton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staunton Hotel
Ranked #542 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware. Your bill is debited from your account the day before checkout.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The bill for our three rooms was debited from our account the day BEFORE we checked out. We had not been advised that this was their usual procedure, it had not been agreed on beforehand, no reason was given as to why this had been done and the proprietor was nowhere to be seen to explain his actions. A sneaky thing to do and not the way to encourage clients to return.

We will not be going there again

Room Tip: This guest house charges hotel prices. Superior rooms moderately comfortable but standard rooms very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allanahShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reniak, Owner at Staunton Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
As the owner of the Staunton hotel I have found it hard to believe that a guest has left a bad review on Tripadvisor about us at The Staunton Hotel in regards to payment. The reservation was made for 3 rooms, 2 of the rooms for 1 night and the other room for 3 nights. The rooms should have been charged on check in but for some reason there was an oversight to that matter. When the 2 rooms who had stayed for the 1 night had checked out, the hotel was told that the room staying for 3 nights would settle the account. On that basis the credit card which was given to secure the 3 rooms was charged. The hotel did nothing wrong in this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    162
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
97
94
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We couldn't have asked for more from this hotel. A beautiful London townhouse perfectly placed for tourists with museums and zone one attractions within walking distance. It's not five star but it's not five star money either. Booked through a last minute website for £99 for a premium double room with breakfast and feel that we got fantastic value for money. The room was great, roomy and clean with air con, a powerful shower and a large, comfy bed. Breakfast was fine, full English or continental with eggs to order and friendly service. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, our premium double room was just right for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a small boutique style hotel in a great location. About a 15 minute walk to Trafalgar Square and steps from the British Museum. My mom and I stayed here for one night. Our room was on the top floor (3rd). We'd flown internationally and had to carry 50 pound suitcases up a narrow winding staircase (60 stairs). We had two twin beds and there was barely enough room to open two suitcases. The floors in our room were soooo sloped it made us nervous. The air conditioning was making strange noises all night. The people behind us came home late and we could hear them for an hour or so through the wall. Breakfast was served down in the basement in a very cramped little room - the food was delicious. This was not a hotel we would rebook. It may be best suited for someone looking for older boutique style accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMissO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very good location, clean but the rooms are very small...at least for the single rooms. I have been at this hotel 3 times. I did not try the little breakfast because i like to go out so I can not comment on that. The price is a little bit high for the quality of the room. The very good point of that hotel is the location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank soleilmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a smaller hotel that I think was converted from an old large home. My first impression of the hotel was how nice the staff at the hotel was and second was what an amazing location for the cost.

This hotel is within walking distance of The British Museum, Euston Train Station, Kings Cross Train Station and two Metro lines. There is a mall just a couple of blocks away full of restaurants, coffee shops and two grocery stores also!

The room we got was perfect for two of us with two twins. It has a fridge inside and a desk and a big enough bathroom and for ME best of all was space in between the twin beds. So often in EU the twins are so close it may as well be a queen bed.

Breakfast is included daily and is pretty good!

Be advised -- there is no elevator in the hotel so if you're unable to do steps this may not be the place for you.

When it was time for us to leave the staff helped us figure out the best way to get to the train station in regard to the olympic traffic and were so amazingly nice!!

I stayed here because it was so close to the Euston Train Station where I could catch a train to Watford Station to go to the Harry Potter/Warner Brothers tour in Leavesden. It was ideal!

Room Tip: No elevator - so make sure you're up to climbing stairs if you want a high floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very helpful staff helped us with info on transport and any thing we needed to know.
Friendly staff nothing was to much trouble.
We had concerns about stairs and no lift but staff were quick to get our luggage to our room.
Breakfast good value.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#527 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#545 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#628 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#377 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#756 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#90 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton Hotel

Property: Staunton Hotel
Address: 13-15 Gower Street, London WC1E 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staunton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staunton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staunton Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing