We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic with a few quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leigham Court Hotel
Ranked #538 of 1,089 Hotels in London
norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic with a few quirks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Room was excellent very clean and modern
However dining room in need of update staff need a uniform although they were very friendly
this hotel will be very good when the refurbishment is complete
carpark proved very handy and secure

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    118
    63
    18
    10
See reviews for
79
78
22
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed one night June 16th 2013. Room was clean and basic, large fan in room, which was great given the room was down from the ground level and was extremely hot and stuffy without it.
Hotel is in need of refurbishment, is dated, but there is works going on, so looks like it is in the process of some upgrades.
Convenient location, right by Streatham Hill station, so easy to get into central London Area itself isn't the nicest. Breakfast area needs upgrading, very chaotic, long tables, service not very good, but actual food was ok.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here during the July 'heat wave' and missed air conditioning, although an electric fan on the wall provided some relief. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room, it was spotless. The bathroom was a good size with a nice shower. The main problem I found was that the soundproofing between rooms was not great. I could hear people talking and hairdryers in use really clearly. I wasn't too keen on the breakfast, especially the orange juice which was very sour and cheap. Streatham itself isn't the nicest area in London but does have good transport links to central areas. Overall, if you're on a tight budget this is a good, basic option.

Room Tip: Rear rooms quieter as away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum_4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I find this hotel a tough one to review. Despite some quirks, I enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel is located 5 minutes walk from Streatham Hill Train Station, which makes it a good base for commuting to Wimbledon and also a pretty handy trip to the city centre.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The lady on reception went out of her way to explain the transport options to us and to make us feel at home.

The room was basic and comfortable. Shampoo not provided, soap was.

Breakfast was a bit unusual. My travelling companion described it as being akin to what she imagined during the war, the morning after a night in the air-raid bunkers, the women "doing their bit" while waiting for the men to return home safely. Long tables laid out in rows. English breakfast or bust - eggs only served fried. And not a milk-jug to be seen. All that said, the staff were very friendly and upbeat.

I found the neighbourhood pleasant enough, although we did see a lot of police cars, and a few people we met said "oh, you're staying in Streatham" in a tone which suggested surprise and concern.

So, I would recommend this place overall. The addition of scrambled egg to the breakfast menu and the occasional milk-jug would be nice though!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Leigham Court Hotel during June for 6 and 4 nights respectively. The rooms on both occasions were spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and extremely quiet. The staff were always friendly, especially Provin and Imerson on reception and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was substantial, consisting of a full English as well as yoghurt, cereals, cold meat, cheese, toast and jams. Just a couple of constructive comments - a soap dish or shelf in the shower would have been useful. Breakfast is served between 7-9 am - perhaps it could be served later on a Sunday as few people seem to want breakfast at 7 am and all rush down around 8.30/8.45 and it is difficult for the staff to cope especially when the hotel is full. Overall, however, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Leigham Court Hotel to anyone looking for a well priced hotel which is within easy access of all the main transport links into central London. Also to mention that we booked direct with the hotel via email and got a better rate than the ones I'd seen on other on line sites.

Room Tip: Book direct and request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times over the years whenever working in the area. Stayed one night this week and was very pleasantly surprised to see the amount of refurbishment work going on - it doesn't get in the way and didn't spoil the stay and it is great to see the investment that is being made in the hotel.

Breakfast was very adequate - I know it is a bit like a canteen but it's efficient, clean and the food is tasty. Who want's formal all the time?

My only gripe is a bit of a pet hate which is the bedspread on top of the sheet that, it appears to me, is not changed between guests! Who uses bedspreads nowadays? Everyone is going over to duvets with covers that are changed between guests now, the days of having a bedspread that is not changed between guests (correct me if I am wrong?) are surely numbered?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Returned to visit this establishment again following a number of previous visits.The hotel is still undergoing refurbishment so do not be put off by scaffolding which is necessary.The work is to a very high standard making this former London home of Lord and Lady Leigham a pleasant place to stay.The rooms are clean and well fitted with modern TV,shower and good quality comfortable beds .The staff are extremely obliging and friendly and the price is good.Central London is only a short ride on the train or bus and there are many good restaurants and watering holes a just short walk away along with the usual local convenience supermarkets .Breakfast is cooked freshly for patrons by very pleasant staff who have been with the hotel for a good while.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe suite are quieter and look out on a lawned area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roverboy66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
White Lodge Hotel
#419 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#592 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada London Finchley
#641 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#558 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leigham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leigham Court Hotel

Property: Leigham Court Hotel
Address: 18 Leigham Court Road | Streatham, London SW16 2PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leigham Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leigham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leigham Court London
Hotel Leigham Court
Leigham Court Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing